We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but flawed construction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Ranked #49 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I don't often hand out Average reviews, but the combination of the price paid ($500 a night) and the lack of simple necessities in this hotel have prompted my summary.

We chose this hotel based on the location, combined with my Accor Hotels membership.

We arrived by hire car, and as there's no parking outside the hotel, we used the public underground car park opposite. We then had to drag our bags from the pedestrian exit of the car park, across the road and up the bumpy, uneven sidewalk to the hotel. The two staff at check-in seemed too engrossed in assisting the two business suited gentlemen in front of us to even acknowledge our presence for three minutes, even though we were the only two other humans in the small reception area.

When we eventually checked in we were informed of the car parking fees ($40 with one exit daily) through the hotel. We also found that the hotel has no elevator, just a flight of beautiful, yet creaky as-new stairs. Luggage would be transported to our floor via a dumb-waiter that the staff said they don't use most of the time due to the noise.

The rooms are fine, with a view of the Opera House (until cruise liners dock at the Overseas Passenger Terminal). What I do find annoying in hotels, is a phone with no Directory. This should be standard so that the guest doesn't have to resort to walking back down the stairs to ask the reception what their number is, or the Laundry service for that matter.

On the plus side, laundry was delivered as promised.

At check out, I resorted to carrying the luggage down the narrow stairs myself as the one staff member on overnights was busy.

I won't be returning.

p.s. A week later, and still no Accor points either.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshMainka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay JoshMainka.

I do apologise that on this occasion we did not live up to our reputation. The arrival is such an important part of a guests stay. It was disappointing for me to read that we were not able to assist you with your luggage, further more our team were not more prompt in assisting you to check-in and check-out.

I was pleased to read that you were able to take in the views of the Opera House in between the cruise liners pulling in to our spectacular harbour.

JoshMainka, if you would like to contact me directly I would like to assist you in receiving your Le Club loyalty points. I do apologise again for this inconvenience and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

818 - 824 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Beautifully restored old building, lovely features throughout. Excellent location for the Harbour Bridge, Circular Quay, The Rocks Historical area, CBD. Scarlett restaurant on premises was excellent. Bathroom on the tiny side but serviceable. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn3505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thanks for passing on your feedback Jenn3505!

Was great to see you were able to enjoy the sites and attractions close to the hotel! Really pleased to hear that you were able to find time to enjoy a relaxing meal in our restaurant, it really is such a lovely spot!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Debbiencraig
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We came to Sydney and chose The Rocks as the location to go. Sydney was mad this week end.
All places were booked. We had no choice. What a great result !!!! Hotel had a New York feel about it. Staff were very accommodating. The position was amazing. Close to The Argyle, George Street and Circular Quay train station. Rooms were simple but pleasant. There are three floors and you need to realise that you will need to walk up the stairs. no big deal !!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Some things are just meant to be Gian B! I’m glad you found us and that you had such a great stay.

We are a bit of a cool hidden gem down here at The Harbour Rocks Hotel. That small flight of stairs needs to be thought of as the only exercise you need to do for the day! The rest to be made up of eating and drinking!

Thanks again for taking the time review your stay!

Kind regards,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Staff very helpful, Well equipped room, good restaurant and very central for Circular Bay and all the ferries.
Only meal we had was dinner on first evening.
Only criticisms
1) no info on telephone or in folder (said phone reception/restaurant without giving numbers) as to number or line button for reception, restaurants etc.
2) Nothing in folder re times of meals
3) no lift but staff very keen to help with bags
Would certainly choose to stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thanks for your review Peter C! I’m so glad our staff had an impact on your stay, exactly the impression we wanted to make on you. Great to hear you enjoyed your meal down at Scarlett’s, it’s a great little restaurant.

I’ll be sure to follow up with our engineering team in regards to the info on our guest telephones; I hope this didn’t cause you too many frustrations and I do apologise if it did. Appreciate you highlighting the lack of information in regards to opening times of our restaurants; I understand this would certainly help you during your stay.

Thanks again for your review.

Kind regards,

Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

As we all know business travel is not always fun. Staying here is fun because the staff are so friendly and you feel more 'at home'. All the facilities of the 'big' hotels however as there are not 200+ rooms the staff have time to 'take time" and look after you.
Close to all you need in Sydney and far enough away to be quiet. Who also would not enjoy a morning walk around the Rocks, Circular Quay, the Opera house etc to start the day

Highly recommend it

Room Tip: They are all good - unique in there own way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thanks so much for highly recommending us Peter S! It's really pleasing to hear that our hotel works in so well with your needs.

I appreciate the time you have taken to review your recent stay. I’ll be sure to pass this feedback on to our team!

We look forward to having you staying with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

this was our second time at the harbour rocks and it is still a wonderful place to stay. this is a small BOUTIQUE hotel with a lot of charm. the rooms are truly spotless with comfortable beds and equipped with everything you need and the breakfasts will not disappoint you then there is the staff they are there for you and make you feel like a long lost friend

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

You are our long lost friend Tony M! Such a great review, thanks very much, we do appreciate it.

I’m glad to hear your second stay was as good as the first! We look forward to catching up with you again soon!

Take care,

Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
1,324 reviews
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#42 of 179 in Sydney
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#47 of 179 in Sydney
935 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Address: 34-52 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#37 Family Hotel in Sydney
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £143 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing