We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Ranked #48 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have stayed in many Sydney hotels over the years and if you want to be near The Rocks you can't beat this one. You literally step out, turn right, walk a few paces and your at the markets. Three of us shared a room - 2 double beds - they don't seem to cater for singles sharing. Room was huge - bathroom massive. One suggestion for the bathroom - put up some hooks for the towels and a table to put your toiletries on!!! Hotel was quiet in the evenings and threw the night however we did experience some early morning loud noise outside the room both days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thanks for your review Jasb10! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us!

I appreciate your suggestion of a few more hooks in the bathrooms. I’ll be sure to have our maintenance team address this.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Thierry_Beijing
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 April 2014

No one I spoke to from or in Sydney seemed to have heard of this hotel. Hard to understand why but a good reason to stay there. It's location has to be ideal for all the main activities. Furthermore the service and the quality of the rooms and service is also excellent. My very spacious room was just by reception and I thought it would be noisy. Didn't hear a thing. It was fitted out for less abled folk and although I'm no expert in these matters it seemed to do the job it was designed for well. Reception readily looked after my luggage whilst I did the bridge walk, opera house etc. They also had a shower available to freshen up before heading for the airport and the long flight.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJandMrsCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Such a wonderful review ‘CJandMrsCJ, thank you very much. I’m so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us!

In the scheme of things we are a relatively new hotel down in the rocks. A full refurbishment was completed in 2012, transforming us in to the hotel we are today. With reviews like yours I’m sure more people will know about us before long!

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a very nice hotel but I am not a fan of boutique hotels as I prefer functionality over looks. However it is very attractive. It is converted from an old building in the rocks area of Sydney and is well positioned for getting around and especially for ferries and also close to the bridge and opera house. The staff were helpful and friendly but the rooms were small and the decor of the hotel was predominantly dark which was a bit depressing.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thanks very much for your review ‘Bob b’. Hopefully we may have tempted you to try a boutique hotel again in the future!

I’m pleased to hear you found our location to be well positioned for your needs, we are in such a great little spot down here. I will be sure to pass on the positive comments relating to our staff on to our team, thank you. We have a range of rooms sizes throughout the property that have more space and different views, don’t hesitate to enquire about these should you look to stay with us again!

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great, some great history if you take the time to look and read, perfectly located we walked everywhere and had quick access to trains and buses. Room was great, cleaned every day staff are friendly and helpful. Bed was comfy, bathroom and shower ok (shower water pressure low and thats my only grizzle but it was still ok) overall a great stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Shane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hi ‘Shane N’, thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us!

I’m so glad to hear you had a great stay! It was really pleasing to read that the location worked in well with your needs. Thanks for highlighting the water pressure, I will be sure to have our engineering team take a look at this.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Happy Easter

Sincerely,

Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Comfortable, modern with a very attentive and helpful staff. A very knowledgeable sommelier and perfect location in the Rocks section near to ferries, Opera House and commercial district. We will return again and again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kwaaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thanks very much for such a wonderful review ‘kwaak’! It is really appreciated. I’m so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that means we will be seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in room 314 which is a good size with occasional views of the Opera House when cruise ships are not at the international shipping terminal. If you are tired of the tradional hotel chains where the windows don't open and they all look the same then this is worth a visit. The hotel is quirky and interesting with a good restaurant and nice bar. The location at the Rocks is fabulous and is within easy reach of the Circular Quay ferries, the Opera House and the botanical gardens. If you are interested in walking over the bridge the office is just 5 minutes away. A good value hotel which we will use again.

Room Tip: We had heard that some rooms are on the small size so we asked for a good size room with a view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Such a wonderful review ‘david a’ Thanks very much for taking the time to post your comments.

I’m really pleased to hear that our hotel was so suitable to your needs.It was great to hear you say you found us quirky and interesting!

Thanks again for your review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#42 of 179 in Sydney
2,420 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
927 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Address: 34-52 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#37 Family Hotel in Sydney
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £116 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing