We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A kind of nostalgia in a busy world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Ranked #41 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A kind of nostalgia in a busy world”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I had an overnight stay at this hotel - chosen deliberately - the rooms, the staff, the service was impeccable and friendly. So I can not understand some negative remarks of guests about this nice place - Well, as I walked through the halls at night I was set back to the time when this house still served as a warehouse. Hustle and bustle, workers communicate with each other and thereby sharpen the heavy sacks of grain on the ground - from outside the sound of the hooves of the horses and the heavy wooden wheels on the streets - Structurally has been left much in the old style, which very much impressed me. The rooms were clean and cozy. The situation is as unique because you are close to George Street, the quai and the famous Opera house.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hello ‘Esther G', I really enjoyed reading your review!! You actually took me back to the day!

Thanks so much for taking the time to express how our hotel impacted on you. The Rocks really is such a beautiful part of Sydney, I’m glad we were able to add to it with the experience you had staying with us.

We hope that means we will be seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Dylan Cole
General Manager
Harbour Rocks Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    429
    138
    51
    27
See reviews for
138
703
62
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed at the Harbour Rocks with my family over Easter weekend. The hotel is very comfortable, stylish and the staff are very nice and accommodating. I don't think you can beat it for location if you only have a few days in Sydney like we did -- it's a stone's throw from Circular Quay and is in the heart of The Rocks area. We had only breakfast at the hotel, which was fantastic. Would definitely stay again when we return to Sydney and would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thanks very much for reviewing your recent stay with us ‘Liz A’ – it was such a pleasing one to read.

I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the time you spent with us. So good to read that you loved the breaky and that you will be staying with us again!

Also appreciate that you have said that you will be recommending us! Thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Superb location to Sydney Harbour Bridge. Easy walk into shopping precinct. Very close to Circular Quay if wanting to take a ferry. Very close to train station and therefore easy to get about. Clean hotel with friendly staff who were very happy to help with any question I had. Boutique hotel comes to mind with cute foyer. Restaurant served lovely meals and there is a nice bar or outside courtyard to unwind.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajdooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi ‘ajdooly’! Thanks for your review. It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate you taking the time to share it with others!

Fantastic to hear that you were able to make use of the wonderful location the hotel is positioned in! Also pleasing to read your comments in relation to our staff! They will be really happy to read this.Thank you.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Perfectly located hotel for the Rock area. Rooms are very quiet and staff helpful and friendly. The room we had was a little small, but nicely appointed. There was no view from our room, I am not sure about the view from other rooms - we were on the ground floor. Reasonably priced for the (expensive) Sydney market.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thanks for sharing your review ‘Peter C’! Really pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have stayed in many Sydney hotels over the years and if you want to be near The Rocks you can't beat this one. You literally step out, turn right, walk a few paces and your at the markets. Three of us shared a room - 2 double beds - they don't seem to cater for singles sharing. Room was huge - bathroom massive. One suggestion for the bathroom - put up some hooks for the towels and a table to put your toiletries on!!! Hotel was quiet in the evenings and threw the night however we did experience some early morning loud noise outside the room both days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thanks for your review Jasb10! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us!

I appreciate your suggestion of a few more hooks in the bathrooms. I’ll be sure to have our maintenance team address this.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

No one I spoke to from or in Sydney seemed to have heard of this hotel. Hard to understand why but a good reason to stay there. It's location has to be ideal for all the main activities. Furthermore the service and the quality of the rooms and service is also excellent. My very spacious room was just by reception and I thought it would be noisy. Didn't hear a thing. It was fitted out for less abled folk and although I'm no expert in these matters it seemed to do the job it was designed for well. Reception readily looked after my luggage whilst I did the bridge walk, opera house etc. They also had a shower available to freshen up before heading for the airport and the long flight.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJandMrsCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Such a wonderful review ‘CJandMrsCJ, thank you very much. I’m so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us!

In the scheme of things we are a relatively new hotel down in the rocks. A full refurbishment was completed in 2012, transforming us in to the hotel we are today. With reviews like yours I’m sure more people will know about us before long!

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 178 in Sydney
2,343 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#38 of 178 in Sydney
903 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Property: Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Address: 34-52 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#37 Family Hotel in Sydney
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing