We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Ranked #43 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely modern boutique hotel”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed here in May and it was a lovely experience. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was adequate for the money. Loved Eric's bar and the library area. Food in Scarlett;s restaurant was very good. Great breakfast and Eric's porridge was pretty awesome. Especially as he is the resident ghost! Excellent location in The Rocks, Harbour Bridge & Sydney Opera House few minutes walk, as is Circular Quays and the ferries. Recommend it if you want a small, friendly run hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor was great as I had a small view of the Opera House. But be aware there are no lifts in thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juneh21 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Juneh21! Thanks so much. Loved reading your review! Glad you were able to take in Eric’s bar and the library area, always such a nice little spot, particularly in winter! Great to hear you enjoyed your meals down in Scarlett Restaurant too, its such a popular restaurant!
Thanks very much for taking the time to write your review and further more in recommending us.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    435
    141
    51
    27
See reviews for
141
709
63
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our first ever visit to Australia and we are so happy that we chose the Harbour Rocks Hotel in fantastic Sydney for a week in April. My wife and I arrived very early Saturday morning after a flight from Singapore. We wondered if we would have to wait for our room to be ready. We needn't have worried. The room WAS ready and our cases were quickly carried to our room on the first floor at the back. Our initial impressions of the hotel were very favourable, especially the friendly professionalism of the staff at reception. And that is the main thing we want to mention about this hotel. The staff just could NOT be more helpful to us. The reception/bar staff, the restaurant waiters and waitresses and the cleaning staff were SO happy to help in any way possible. We would like to mention Emma in particular (and not just because she is a converted Brit!). We had many questions about our stay in Sydney but Emma was always ready to help and to stop for a chat if she had time!

The only issue we had, which we mentioned at the time related to the lack of clothes hanging space in the room. We were on a 4 week trip round Oz so we had a fair amount of stuff with us. Most of our clothes had to remain in the cases for the week. Not ideal however this problem in no way spoilt our stay.

We took advantage of the special offer for Breakfast and we enjoyed an excellent start to each day and the happy hour in the bar was very welcome at the end of another busy day in Sydney! The location of the hotel is another huge plus point. The Rocks area is truly great, especially at the weekend when the market is in full flow.

Our sincere thanks go to ALL the staff for making our stay so enjoyable and memorable. We are already planning our next visit to Sydney and we know where we will be staying - The Harbour Rocks Hotel!

Room Tip: Get a room at the back on a high floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoringBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi GoringBill, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! It was really nice to see how much you enjoyed your time with us. Exactly what we set out to achieve! I’ll be sure that your sincere thank you goes out to all of the team!!
I’m really pleased that your first stay in Australia was made with some time spent with us.
We hope that means we might be welcoming you back in the future!
Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley Vale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Harbour Rocks hotel for 1 night.
Hotel location is great for checking out the harbour bridge etc.
walk to Circular Quay station was quick and easy.
Upon check in the hotel does hold a $100 deposit on your credit/debit card, which we found a little much due to the fact we were using our debit card and didn't have a heap of cash left in there. we weren't informed of this at check in, they just did it, but they should let everyone know before checking in. We had just checked out of a 5 star hotel that only charged a $50 holding deposit, so thought it was a bit much.
We had booked on the Accor site and when checked in, the computer system charged us more than the price we had on our reservation email.
That said, Dylan the general manager was extremely helpful and had it sorted out for us.
Staff were helpful and friendly. Great overnighter hotel.
Housekeeping possibly could pay a little more attention to the little things, for example, there was milk in the fridge open from the previous guests, towels were hung dreadfully messy we were suspicious they were left from previous guest too after finding the opened milk, the mini bar hadnt been restocked, few hairs in the bathroom and no rubbish bag in the bin in the bathroom, someone is going to be cleaning the inside of the bin now.
All in all, we had a relaxing sleep, and our room provided a great base for exploring Circular Quay etc. Hotel has history about it, which was lovely. Outdoor terrace area was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaeM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Great to meet with you in your recent stay Shae M1! Thanks for reviewing your stay on tripadvisor.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely boutique hotel in a great location just a few minutes walk to spectacular views of the Opera House. I arrived at 6:30am after a 24 hour flight and they were able to put me in a room straight away. The room was nice - there was an issue with the shower door which the fixed promptly.

My only complaint is that the internet did not work in my room and I had to go to the lobby for connection. I let the staff know on several occasions and they had various replies. Since I am paying for the internet (their is an extra charge) I would expect to be able to use it in my room. If everything else was not so lovely, I would give the hotel a 3 for the problems with the internet. Really easy to fix and it would go a long way.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Fortheus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay Fortheus N! I’m really sorry to hear you were having trouble with your internet during your stay, I can appreciate this would have taken away from the overall comfort of your stay. I’ll be sure to follow up on this.

I’m pleased to hear we were able get you straight in to your room after your long flight! I’m sure this was music to your ears!

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stay two nights in the Harbour Rocks Hotel in May 2014 and it was fantastic.
We arrived early and they let us straight into our suite, which was fantastic.....The staff that greeted us treated us like "old friends", very friendly and they couldn't do enough for us....
The location of the hotel was just perfect too, close to the Rocks nightlife and street markets and surprisingly quiet!!
We chose the hotel because of it's size, we really enjoyed the "boutique" style of accommodation and would highly recommend the Harbour Rocks Hotel to everyone!!
The only criticism was the size of the bathroom... a little too small for my 6'4" husband!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good sized bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We love getting 5 stars! Thank you very much recognising us Roz R. It really was such a nice review. I’m very happy to hear we were able to make your visit so enjoyable.

I hope this means we will be welcoming you back in the future!

Thanks again Roz.

Sincerely
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#42 of 179 in Sydney
2,383 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#39 of 179 in Sydney
914 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Property: Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Address: 34-52 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#37 Family Hotel in Sydney
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing