We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Ranked #40 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
“Boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Boutique hotel in the heart of the rocks. Stylish, with eclectic design choices and without the hustle bustle of a big chain hotel. A stones throw from the harbour bridge and the rocks markets. Perfect for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Hi Megan,

Thanks so much for this wonderful review. I’m really pleased to hear that you loved our little boutique hotel! We hope this means we will be seeing you again soon?

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    413
    128
    51
    27
See reviews for
134
678
60
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Level Contributor
688 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is in fantastic location and the building itself has lots of character. The rooms were okay, the layout is a little awkward although we did have a little bit of a view from our room. The bathroom is clumsy and the vanity/basin area is tiny and really doesn't work and a real lack of amenities. The food in the basement area was good at any time of the day and the smoothies were spot on. The hotel has no lifts although not a huge deal. Would I stay again?

Room Tip: Try to get view out to Opera House and Water if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thesmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thanks for your review ‘thesmdm’ – It was great to read that you found our location to be fantastic and that you also found our hotel to have a lot of character! Given the historic age of the building and the fact that no single room is the same we have a lot to work with.

Great to hear you enjoyed the smoothies!

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Harbour Rocks hotel is in a top location for tourists -in the Rocks area but close to Circular Quay. Very friendly staff and impressive renovation of very old character buildings. Good restaurant to complete the package.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your review ‘PaulBrisbane’

It was really pleasing to read that you enjoyed your time with us at the Harbour Rocks Hotel.
Was great to see you were able to find time to enjoy a meal in at Scarlett Restaurant! I’ll be sure to pass your great feedback about our staff on to the team.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel just recently to visit Sydney's fabulous Vivid Festival and the Biennale. The hotel is conveniently located just around the corner from Circular Quay. We loved the shower best of all which made up for the very small bathroom. Our Queen room though was spacious, the beds very comfortable, and the décor appropriate to this historic building. Its solid walls ensured a good night's sleep as noises from the street could not be heard. We had some excellent meals too, but make sure you get to the restaurant before 8pm as there is none after 8pm. There is free Wi-Fi, but fast Wi-Fi needs to be paid for. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, including carrying our bags upstairs as there is no lift. We enjoyed the ambience of this small boutique hotel, and would certainly stay there again. It is a welcome change from big brassy hotels that lack personality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coco308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thanks for your review Coco308.

I appreciate the time you have taken to highlight our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caves Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We recently stayed at Harbour Rocks hotel on a family trip to see Vivid festival. It was one of the few hotels in the CBD that could accommodate a family without the need for 2 rooms. It is a small boutique hotel and the building had lots of history. It was the perfect location for Vivid. There is lots of fab places to eat within a very short distance. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay. Our room was beautiful and easily accommodated a family of 4. The free wifi was pretty poor, but hey not a big deal in the scheme of things.The bar and cafe were nice.
Would definitely stay there again and would recommend to all, especially overseas visitors.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. You are in the heart of the city, some street noise to be expected!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thanks very much for your review!

It was great to read that you and your famliy enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

A very good location if you are a first time visitor to Sydney and not have much time to explore the city. You are next to the harbour to see the main highlights of the city and walking distance to beautiful Queen Victoria Building for some beautiful architecture and retail therapy.
Comfy bed, decent bathroom. Good restaurant and very nice terrace bar. Most of the staff was very helpful and friendly.
The only problem is the noise insulation. It is a small historic building, but I wish they addressed this issue. If your bathroom is located to the back of the building, you will hear conversation from the restaurant at the back alley until they are closed. I do not know how the other rooms at the front were. Also you do hear all bathroom activity next door - a bit too loud.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZDA-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#44 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#34 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Property: Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Address: 34-52 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#37 Family Hotel in Sydney
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelbag, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing