We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Ranked #40 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    423
    136
    51
    27
See reviews for
138
692
62
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We took 3 rooms here on the Mother's Day weekend as we also had a family wedding in the area, and all I can say is that this place is the perfect location to launch any Sydney holiday from. Being an M gallery hotel, I was anticipating the accommodation to be very expensive. But although it is a little on the higher end of our limits, its more than makes up for it in its appointments and location. A cosy bar at the reception makes for a nice relaxing entry into the historic property. Being a building under the National Trust, this does mean some unfortunate modern conveniences ( no lift ) had to be forgone. But the hotel was wonderful, staff were perfect, nothing more to say! But make sure you have breakfast in the restaurant. Superb!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Such a wonderful review Dennis S.

Thanks so much for taking the time to pass on your experience. I’m really pleased to hear you enjoyed what we have to offer. We put a lot of effort in to getting it right, It’s a nice reward when someone lets us know we did!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Boutique hotel in the heart of the rocks. Stylish, with eclectic design choices and without the hustle bustle of a big chain hotel. A stones throw from the harbour bridge and the rocks markets. Perfect for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Hi Megan,

Thanks so much for this wonderful review. I’m really pleased to hear that you loved our little boutique hotel! We hope this means we will be seeing you again soon?

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
749 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is in fantastic location and the building itself has lots of character. The rooms were okay, the layout is a little awkward although we did have a little bit of a view from our room. The bathroom is clumsy and the vanity/basin area is tiny and really doesn't work and a real lack of amenities. The food in the basement area was good at any time of the day and the smoothies were spot on. The hotel has no lifts although not a huge deal. Would I stay again?

Room Tip: Try to get view out to Opera House and Water if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thanks for your review ‘thesmdm’ – It was great to read that you found our location to be fantastic and that you also found our hotel to have a lot of character! Given the historic age of the building and the fact that no single room is the same we have a lot to work with.

Great to hear you enjoyed the smoothies!

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Harbour Rocks hotel is in a top location for tourists -in the Rocks area but close to Circular Quay. Very friendly staff and impressive renovation of very old character buildings. Good restaurant to complete the package.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your review ‘PaulBrisbane’

It was really pleasing to read that you enjoyed your time with us at the Harbour Rocks Hotel.
Was great to see you were able to find time to enjoy a meal in at Scarlett Restaurant! I’ll be sure to pass your great feedback about our staff on to the team.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel just recently to visit Sydney's fabulous Vivid Festival and the Biennale. The hotel is conveniently located just around the corner from Circular Quay. We loved the shower best of all which made up for the very small bathroom. Our Queen room though was spacious, the beds very comfortable, and the décor appropriate to this historic building. Its solid walls ensured a good night's sleep as noises from the street could not be heard. We had some excellent meals too, but make sure you get to the restaurant before 8pm as there is none after 8pm. There is free Wi-Fi, but fast Wi-Fi needs to be paid for. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, including carrying our bags upstairs as there is no lift. We enjoyed the ambience of this small boutique hotel, and would certainly stay there again. It is a welcome change from big brassy hotels that lack personality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coco308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thanks for your review Coco308.

I appreciate the time you have taken to highlight our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#41 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#37 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Property: Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Address: 34-52 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#37 Family Hotel in Sydney
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Travelbag, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing