We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to relax and unwind” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Ranked #40 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great place to relax and unwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

From the time we checked in until the time we checked out, we loved the hotel.

We were fortunate to be upgraded and had a lovely room, spotlessly clean and it was kept that way during the six nights we were there.

We were in Sydney to attend a conference so after a long day it was lovely to relax in the bar with a glass of wine The wine list is small but a wide choice of varieties is available.

Most nights we ate in the restaurant. The food was wonderful the staff attentive and friendly

We had the most comfortable bed and enjoyed the best night sleep we have had whilst staying in a hotel.

The fitness centre was small but had enough equipment to do a reasonable workout. We used it once but as the weather was so lovely we decided that a walk each morning was the better option as the Opera house, Harbour Bridge and the city centre are really close by and very accessible.

We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the second or third floor, they are away from the restaurant, fitness cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndam135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us Lyndam135. Thanks for taking the time to share your review! It’s great to know you will be staying with us again.

We look forward to taking care of you on your next stay!

Kind regards,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    414
    128
    51
    27
See reviews for
134
678
60
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

My daughter (21) and I stayed here just last week for one night and absolutely loved it. Location is A+ if you like to be very near the Opera house, botanical gardens, harbour bridge (we walked over the bridge at sunset to Luna Park and back on the ferry, trains (just 17mins to Airport on the train), contemporary art gallery and you are staying right smack in the middle of the rocks weekend markets. Of course there are plenty of hotels that share this convenience, but we loved the homely comfort of the heritage ambience here and the staff were super friendly and accommodating to any request we had.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks for the 5 stars OhopeBeach! We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks very much for sharing your review with others.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel looks lovely from the outside and equally lovely inside.
It retains the original brick walls of the old hospital stores and lends itself to what I expected of a " boutique " hotel.
We were warmly welcomed and greeted from the start even before check in and just in time for "Happy Hour". Lucky us!
We ate at "Scarlett's" the in-house restaurant which is small but charming.
Most importantly the food was excellent. Very tasty indeed! and reasonably priced.
The room was spacious, uncluttered and clean. Quite noisy on the Sat night through to early Sun morning but didn't expect anything different given the location. Sun evening, Mon morning, much, much quieter.
We loved being in the centre of The Rocks and would stay there again at the drop of a hat. Loads of places to see and visit, each having some kind of uniqueness to them.
All the staff we met were helpful, smiled and looked genuinely happy to work there.
Paul (asst. manger) was extremely helpful as was the general manager.
Thank you for giving myself and overseas visitor a memorable visit to "The Rocks" sydney.
Loved, loved, loved !

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kathrynb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review kathrynb71!

I’m really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It was great to see that you were able to get down to Scarlett Restaurant and enjoy a meal with us, It really is such a lovely little restaurant. Great to see you were able to find time to enjoy a few drinks at Eric’s bar too, even better that you made it during ‘Happy Hour’!

We loved loved loved having you stay with us!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackheath, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Some recent reviewers received upgrades and were happy with their stay at HRH. I received what I could only describe as a "downgrade", being allocated room 105 behind the bookcases in the bar, adjacent to the bar toilets and above the restaurant and cobblestone street.. The bar is open 24/7 - a positive, unless you are in room 105 or 106. If you are wanting to take the chance don't book online or through Accor, deal direct with the hotel and don't accept room 105 or 106. 105 is also a disabled room, and the facilities are purpose built for those needs, but for able bodied people the bathroom is definitely a hazard as water goes everywhere. BTW if you are wheelchair bound you will get room 105 0r 106, do not stay at this hotel you can do much better for less money.

Noise from the bar continued until the early hours of the morning until I complained - the first time I have EVER had to complain when staying in a hotel. To the credit of the staff the noise stopped about 15 minutes after. The noise of bins being dragged up the cobblestone road outside I would normally ignore, however it prevented sleep between the bar noise and the early morning breakfast sittings. To the credit of the staff I was offered a late checkout and complimentary breakfast, an appreciated offer but I just wanted to escape home for some sleep.

In looking at other reviews my comments reflect those of "Shereebie" just 3 weeks ago, we are both long term Accor members. Read, learn and ACT! Rooms 105 and 106 should not be offered to any guests until substantial soundproofing is carried out.

From my point of view if I wanted a 2 star room I would have booked in a 2 star hotel at 2 star prices.
Looking from a management perspective if you provide a loyal guest with a sub-standard room then you don't expect him to be happy or to want to return. Message received.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 105 or 106.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tokyorobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Tokyorobes, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At The Harbour Rocks Hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns.

We appreciate you sharing your recent stay, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Tokyorobes, should you wish to discuss your stay in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thanks again for your review.

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Okay, must preface this by saying we got an upgrade. No. Rather, we got THE upgrade - to the Harbour View Suite. And sweet it was. There before you lies Sydney - a glass of wine and delicious cheese on your very own, private deck - gaze out across the heritage of The Rocks to the Bridge; the Contemporary Gallery to arguably one of the world's greatest icons - the Sydney Opera House. As far as opportunities go to truly immerse yourself in a city, then the Harbour Rocks Hotel is your gateway. Don't get me wrong, The Rocks is tourist central and the shopping leaves a great deal to be desired, unless of course tacky ugg boots happen to be your thing. But this is hotel is a stunning secret in low key, high service travel. Nothing is a problem, everything is easy and the barman just happens to knock out the best Old Fashioned I've enjoyed in a very long time.

Big views come at with a big price tag and if a considerable splash out is not on the cards, Studio Suites and Heritage Deluxe Rooms don't disappoint - but don't really bother with the Heritage Rooms - these can be noisy and with non-opening windows, rather airless.

Room Tip: Go high and ask for rooms with a view to the Opera House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salbal2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Such a great review Salbal225!

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience. It really was great to read. We’re glad to hear you were able to enjoy the spectacular views from the Harbour View Suite with a nice glass of wine and a cheese platter. Even better to hear that you were able to back that up with an old fashioned down at our lobby bar! I’m glad our team were able have a positive impact on you during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back again soon Salbal!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

have just spent 4 nights at the HRH and could not have had a better time. Service, facilities, location were first rate. Scarlett restaurant located within the HRH was our best meal in Sydney, despite dining at; the pony , Ananas and a German restaurant in the rocks, all of which were good, but Scarlett pipped them.




  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squashgodfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
And we think you rock ‘squashgodfather’! Thanks very much for taking the time to give your 5 star review on your most recent stay with us. We really do appreciate it.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#44 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#34 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Property: Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Address: 34-52 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#37 Family Hotel in Sydney
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Travelbag so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing