We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly great small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Ranked #50 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We loved the character of the building and it's quirkiness. The staff are amazing! Service levels in the hotel were the best we have experienced. The restaurant provided a consistently high standard of food and also excellent friendly service. We loved the location and the ease to get into the city which is just a short walk.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 866Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Wow, thank you so much for the 5 stars 866Robert! Such wonderful feedback to receive. Our team will be very proud to see this.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope this means we will be seeing you again in the future!

Thanks again.

Kind regards,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

On arrival at around 10.30am we were pleased to be told our room was available earlier than the check in 2pm. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is quirky and it was nice to get a feel for the design that has gone into it's construction. Room was clean and small but this was expected given a boutique hotel. The minibar/waters/snacks/etc hadn't been replenished from the previous guests but wasn't a big issue. Beds are very comfy. The shower was amazing... the only problem is the lack of ventilation within the rooms/bathrooms and after showers the whole room is like a sauna. Windows do not open and so we had to leave the main bedroom door open and get ready and out before passing out!!! The plumbing can be very loud and I think there was a timber floor above our bedroom which was annoying. On the day we were leaving the staff were great in letting us store bags and offering transport to airport. Location wise you can't get better!
Overall there are a few issues with the hotel and may be down to the historic build. Warmth and Vent in bedrooms was the main thing. Cannot fault staff whatsoever as were very accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosscomcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Hi rosscomcguire,

Thank you for your review. It was great to read that we were able to get you your room earlier than expected! I appreciate your comments in regards to our team members, they are always pleased to see when they have had a positive impact on a guests stay. Thank you for highlighting the areas that we fell short, it certainly helps in assisting us better our ways for the future.

We hope to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Harbour Rocks recently not really knowing too much about it. The Hotel is very funky - a combination of old world charm (sandstone walls) with a modern twist. Loved the dark walls and carpets. Our room (#120) was situated off the ground floor and was surprisingly light and airy despite the dark décor. It was fairly roomy - the bathroom a little small but very clean and it had a fantastic shower. There is a gorgeous little private courtyard that overlooks the Nurses Walk where you can sip a few cocktails on some comfortable lounges and outdoor heaters. The staff were amazing, so warm and helpful. We'd like to pay particular thanks to Paul the On-site Manager who went out of his way to ensure our stay was memorable. The restaurant menu was great and reasonably priced given the calibre of the hotel. You can't beat the location with the Rocks Markets but a few feet away and you are surrounded by cafes, pubs and trendy bars - and a stones throw away from Circular Quay. We loved this boutique Hotel and would go back in a heartbeat. Thanks again Paul for ensuring we had a wonderful stay :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in a basic room I think which was off the ground floor - room number 120 was spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Morris792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Hi Morris792,

We love it that you loved our funky little hotel. It's great that you were able to find sometime to sit out on the courtyard. It's such a great spot to relax and unwind, particularly with a nice glass of wine! Thank you for highlighting our staff, in particular Paul. I'll be sure that he know's you passed on this positive feedback.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Loved the hotel and the location - I was disappointed after booking through Booking.com to find the total amount for our stay was charged to my credit card immediately - I was extremely upset as I made several bookings on behalf of a number of friends, understanding that it would be charged to my credit card if we were a no show!! To have a large amount of money taken from my account almost two months prior, with no advice or confirmation that this had occurred until I saw my credit card statement was pretty disappointing, and certainly took the edge off our pending stay. There was no confirmation from the hotel that this had occurred, yet other hotels overseas I have dealt seem to manage to send through a welcoming email or confirmation of my booking, and DO NOT take any funds from my Credit Card until after I have checked in.
It was a total shock on receiving my credit card statement to find a considerable amount of money had been debited, with no advice from the hotel, despite also having ticked the box stating that I intended to use another (Australian) credit card.
Not only did I incur interest on my c/c , I also got hit with international conversion fees as well when I had funds from the friends I was coordinating the booking for, sitting in an Australian bank for that very purpose. Staff did try to placate me with a bottle of wine on arrival, but it still left a bitter taste.-

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the Bridge but you may need to stand on your toes in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tootsberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, Front Office Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
HRH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Sandstone hotel in historic Rocks area of Sydney. Convenient location, within walking distance of Opera House, ferry terminals on Sydney Harbour, Overseas Cruise Terminal, Botanic gardens, train stations, as well as many of Sydney's top restaurants.
Some rooms on the upper levels have views of the harbour and Opera house and rooms are tastefully decorated with modern facilities.
The lobby and restaurant area of the hotel includes interesting decor relevant to the hotels history.
There is also a very good restaurant open for breakfast , lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper levels have views, but there is no lift which may affect some people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Hi Lesley H, thanks for your review. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad to see that you were able to find some time to visit our restaurant also, it's a real hidden gem!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Room Tip: Rooftop and upper levels is a must, anything on the bottom floor is crap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels
Thank Dr. U
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Enjoyed 3days hear,very close to water fronte and shopping.great food would recommend it to anyone we stayed there with friends who also enjoyed there stay.if you want to be near all major attractions like bridge and opera house

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jenken67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Hi jenken67 - thanks so much for the 5 star review. We really do appreciate you highlighting this in a review!

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon!

Sincerely,

Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#44 of 181 in Sydney
2,468 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#24 of 181 in Sydney
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#48 of 181 in Sydney
939 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Address: 34-52 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £137 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing