We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Sydney World Square
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cambridge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,946)
Filter reviews
1,946 results
Traveller rating
250
739
635
211
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
739
635
211
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdarling harbourpitt staccor membermuseum stationcoles supermarketshort stayhotel is in a great locationpublic transportgeorge streethyde parkopera housechinatownirontrainblindscafesrocks
Filter
Updating list...
771 - 776 of 1,946 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

First, I would be writing a scathing and tremendously negative review were it not for Animesh, who singlehandedly redeemed the experience. Sorry this review goes on a bit.

POSITIVES: (1) Central location with easy access to the train (2 stops from Circular Quay), walking distance to Darling Harbour, Paddy's market, Chinatown, etc. (2) Animesh, friendly, courteous, and very helpful. He kindly helped remedy a number of issues below, including complimentary storage of our luggage for a couple of hours and relocating our room from the first floor, where there was no usable WiFi signal, to a higher floor where the WiFi signal was strong enough to be usable. He was wonderfully helpful in other ways, but these two things redeemed the entire hotel stay. (3) Reasonably clean rooms, and nice business center where there are computers with internet usage without charge.

NEGATIVES: (1) NO Free WiFi. Kayak page was misleading. There is a $20+ charge per day, so if you need WiFi on your device (I needed to VPN to work on specific software for instance). (2) GEORGE. He is one of the staff at the reception desk, and he was unfriendly, disinterested, and not at all hospitable--which is the name of the business, hospitality, right? We arrived on an early flight and asked if an early check-in might be possible, he recited the policy that check-in time is 2pm. When we asked if it's possible a room might be available any earlier than 2pm, he basically said he had no idea but we could wait. When we asked if we could leave our luggage at the hotel while we explored and return at check-in time, he told us we could pay $7 per storage locker!

We opted to drag our luggage to have coffee at a nearby cafe with WiFi to wait a bit. We later discovered that many guests are invited to leave their luggage in a closed side room/hallway complimentarily--pretty much everyone else at reception offers this to their guests. Someone who understands anything about hospitality would know that it's quite basic for a hotel to offer to store luggage complimentarily for a few hours for guests checking in and out from the hotel, and not to nickel and dime customers and tell them to pay $7 for a storage locker.

George was also unhelpful when we asked if they had any plug adaptors to borrow--he said no and claimed to put us on a "waiting list," which doesn't even exist--when I later asked another person at reception for the same thing, she looked through a drawer and offered one to me without referring to any imaginary list.

Overall, there are a few positives, but had George been the only one we encountered, I would have given a rating of 1 (or zero) out of 5 based on customer service. Animesh and his other coworkers provided good solid service, and Animesh in particular also went the extra mile in hospitality when he learned about how we were told to pay for storage lockers, etc, which lifted my review to 4 of 5, almost strictly in appreciation for their efforts to remedy and for central location.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank stangawizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel.
Please note we have free internet on level 2 in the business centre, using the Hotel PC’s.

I am sorry we were not able you give you an early check-in. Our check-in time is at 2.00pm.The staff will try to allocate or move rooms around to accommodate our guest; unfortunately we were unable to assist you.

I was disappointed to read your comments in regards to George as he often receives most favorable comments from our guests and return guests. I have spoken to him and he is also disappointed to read your comments.

We do hope you will return and thank you for your review, if I can further assist you please let me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel is in a good location, about 15 minutes walk to Sydney Harbor bridge. The hotel itself is basic but very clean and comfortable. We had a major problem when we arrived at Sydney Airport; no-one had any luggage!!! We were without our cases for 3 days and if it wasn't for Casper, the Duty Manager, we probably wound not have had our cases back to go on our cruise. Casper got on to the airline and as only a good Manager can, got Qantas to VIP courier them to us within the hour, which happened. We could not thank her enough, I hope her superiors read this review as she is a tremendous asset to the hotel group. All the staff were very helpful, with local knowledge and information. If I visit Sydney again I would not hesitate to stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Wow great review.

Casper is a huge asset to our company and we are very proud to have her on our team.
She loves a challenge and looking after our guest at all times.

Thank you for your kind words, we hope you had a fantastic cruise.

In fact Casper leaves next week on her cruise. 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The location you cant falter, its opposite world square, about 10 minutes walk to Pitt St Mall, 10-15 to darling harbour
The room is small but comfortable. This maybe sound strange but the shower works without any issues. IVe been to too many places where your constantly adjusting the water temperature but not this place

The issue is that you can hear bangs from next door,doors closing,people talking outside your room, people yelling from down the street.

The other thing is car park, it costs $50 overnight which is expensive when you compare other hotels charge $34 for the same car park bay

For myself i would be back but only if it was cheap

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My partner and I booked a double room, for a Saturday evening.

We called three times in advanced to ask, and double check if we were able to check in earlier then the specified check in time. Staff were very lovely and said for the same price of $279 they could check us in earlier. They contacted us the next day stating that they only had a room with two single beds and not a queen available. As my partner and I were attending something important over the weekend we agreed to make the change.

THEN

We checked into our room, there was no bond needed, and staff confirmed all details, prices, etc, but said we just have to pay once our stay was over.
The next morning we went to check out, and the Manager told us it would be $379.
We were told three times our room was $279.
He asked us which staff member had told us it was $279, and just like most people we don't write down or remember names.
After a long dispute, telling us if we didn't pay this amount he would call the police, asking my partner to leave the building because she was being quite blunt about the situation, and showing us an invoice which showed us no cost of the room, AT ALL. We then were basically forced to pay a total of $379.. Not only that, but we missed our bus interstate home because the manager took a very long time to try and sort something out..which obviously worked, in his favour.

So beware when you book a room here, and make sure you are emailed an itinery including all pieces, etc. You do not want to get ripped off like we have today!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSP363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking my call in regards to your stay.

The matter has been resolved and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had an enjoyable 2-night stay at Ibis World Square. Positives - efficient check-in and knowledgeable staff; neat and tidy room; hotel is centrally located and provides easy access to Town Hall and Museum stations; World Square shopping centre across the road; room was cleaned daily. Negatives - hotel is close to a lot of bars and clubs so at night (particularly Friday and Saturday) you can hear the noise from downstairs; you could hear the cleaners in the hallway and in neighbouring rooms early in the morning; bathroom is a bit small. But for the price it was a reasonable stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor to minimise the noise heard from downstairs at night
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansjlarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Hi,

The team and I are very happy you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you again, for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews