We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Sydney World Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Sydney World Square
Ranked #87 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Really good location within walking distant to the main shops and cafés a free bus no 555 runs along to quay and back that is 2 blocks away from the hotel . Darling harbour is near by every Saturday night there is fireworks from 8 o clock . Hotel really good and clean and welcoming staff .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley25114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your review, our location is fantastic and walking distance to all the main attractions.

We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    674
    595
    186
    104
See reviews for
268
547
309
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights 20th my family. My travel agent booked for us a queen size bed but however we asked for a twin room upon check in and the reception was happy to oblige. Location of the hotek is fantastic and many Asian restaurants around. No problem for looking for food.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SusanW2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWorldSquare_GM, General Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your review, please keep an eye open for all our fantastic specials coming up.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
224 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked early via Expedia and we got a room with 2 Double beds for about $105. Everything was as expected. No frills and simple. Spacious room, Comfortable Beds with great comforters, a mini ref, coffee pot, LCD TV, air conditioning (but was not used as we came around winter), Clean and usable bathroom. The free popcorn they pop fresh in the small reception area was a nice touch.
It was at an excellent location. Very close walk to the Train station (Museum Station and Central Station), close jump off point to walk the tourist areas : starting from Hyde park, Anzac Museum, Sydney Tower, St Mary's Cathedral, The Barracks museum, Botanical Garden, the Opera House, the Circular Quay, The Rocks, etc. It was across a mall with a good selection of practical eating places.
I ended up in a room without glass enclosures for the shower, which I found out the other rooms had. The bathroom I ended up in had the shower floor at the same level as the rest of the bathroom with only a curtain dividing the shower area. That would mean the water running to the rest of the bathroom when showering. A challenge especially if you have kids. An additional rack or table would also be good to give the user somewhere to put clothes on top off. Otherwise the bathroom was clean and very acceptable. (I attached a picture of our shower area)
Few tips. The 2nd Floor is the location of The business center (have a few desktop computers you may use for free), the breakfast area, & the Gym. If these places are places you would visit, floor 2 is a good place to be. Higher floors give you only a slight advantage when it comes to views, as the buildings around are mostly taller.
The Filipina at the front desk was also particularly helpful. All in all, a recommendable hotel. A mid priced good economical hotel with a very good location.

Room Tip: Floor 2 was were the Gym, free computer terminals, breakfast area was
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRavelBug232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi,

Thank you for the review, the team and I have enjoyed reading your comments.

We are so happy you had such a great visit, Sydney is so beautiful at this time of year.

The team and I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudgee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

on arrival to the ibis we were greeted by two staff at reception one offered to take our baggage and then gave my two children a money box to colour in. check in was quick and easy. The room was clean and roomy. I would have no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kelly-jo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi,

It is always a joy to see young children checking into the Hotel.

We hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novo Hamburgo, RS
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very well localized, the hotel is fine for a short stay in Sydney. You are very close to the George Street and near the Central train station. There are good restaurants around, like in China Town for instance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

At the reception asked to give a bank card to hold the money for the stay. Wondered if I may to to give some cash in advance and pay the final sum in cash while checking out since have a debit card and it takes up to 1 month to hold the money.

Recived very rude "No' from MICHELLE, hotel general manager. After that paid all the sum by bank card and asked to exclude Surcharge (1.5% of the sum) from the invoice since need to pass it to may company's accountants. Recived very rude "No' from MICHELLE, hotel general manager again.

After that asked to provide a form to write a feedback about a hotel. Michelle did not give me any paper, but assured that everything I asked about will be done. AWFUL SERVICE.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artem_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi,

I wish to sincerely apologize to you, if my communication was perceived in a negative way.

Please let me know if I can assist you in anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#95 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#51 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sydney World Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney World Square

Property: Ibis Sydney World Square
Address: 382 - 384 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney World Square 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Sydney World Square is in the heart of the Sydney CBD, within easy walking distance of Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay, Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre and Chinatown. The hotel features 166 rooms and is conveniently close to the Sydney Light Rail and Central Station. The hotel completed a refurbishment program in 2010, which has seen the hotel's lobby completely updated and all 166 rooms over 17 floors re carpeted and replaced with new comfortable and modern furniture. The ibis Sydney World Square hotel in Sydney's CBD offers Standard and Deluxe room type, ideal for both corporate and leisure travelers in Sydney! From the solo traveler needing a comfortable queen sized bed for a night, to large two king sized bed rooms for the family holiday or a group of friends wanting to share. All hotel rooms are clean, wonderfully comfortable and have the convenience of a private en-suite bathroom with shower, flat screen TV, direct dial IDD / STD, tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, high-speed broadband internet access, in-house movies and fluffy towels with hair shampoos & hair conditioners placed nicely on the bed awaits you in your room. Guests staying at the Ibis Sydney World Square can also take advantage of the extensive hotel facilities including the 24 hour Reception, tour desk and on-site self-service laundry and dry cleaning services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Ibis Sydney World Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor World Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing