We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the budget traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Sydney World Square
Ranked #93 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,856)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Sydney World Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 1,856 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

The deluxe room has great sized beds, but poorly made. Not too bad on noise but unusual bathroom layout with wet floor shower that didn't drain and pooled under basin and toilet. The elevators were unreliable and the cards needed checking almost every time they were to be used in the lift. Changed rooms on Saturday night to a standard and the bathroom was much better however the street noise was unbelievable.
I do not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katemcknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your review, we are located in the heart of the city, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

If I can further assist you please let me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The experience on my second visit to this property was disappointing because it was obvious the hotel was trying hard to save costs.

They turned off the ability of the heat-pump to produce cold air, because it was winter. Well Sydney during my visit was sweltering under 20 degrees weather, and the room was stifling hot. After a couple of visit from the front desk they managed to get the heat-pump to stop pumping hot air into the room, however there was still no A/C.

They re-deployed half-used toilet paper rolls, which looked really ridiculous and petty.

Breakfast and gym were good, although the gym was quite small and can only house two people before becoming claustrophobic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the higher floor and facing Pitt St.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 318touring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you felt we are cutting our costs, be please rest assured we are not. I will follow up with housekeeping to why we let you down in services.

If I can further assist you ,please let me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is a true surprise packet. Yes the rooms are small but the room is very clean the beds are good,the location is great and the staff were very helpfull. I picked this hotel because of the price i will certinaly stay again for an overnight stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Allistra
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I and mum booked the hotel when we traveled to Sydney. We had a fantastic stay with ibis. great location which is close to everything! The room is clean. Staff are very kind and friendly with good services!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

hi,

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Where do I start! We had an ACCOR giftcard to use, which I couldn't apply in an online booking, I had to call the Accor call centre in either India or the Philippines. The charge was $441 minus the $200 card leaving $241. My debit card was charged $682 leaving $29 in my account. I called to dispute and finally after 2 phone calls to 4 different people, I was told the refund was already issued so there was nothing they could do and I would just have to wait. There were no courtesy calls and I wonder if they were just hoping I wouldn't notice. 50 hours and three calls to my bank later, the $441 was released back into my account. When I called, the manager even gave me the name of the staff member who had made the mistake and told me to talk to him. Seemed to me a bit like throwing a lamb to a lion, apparently there's no honour among thieves.
Upon arrival, reception was helpful but stale, lacking tact, patience, bedside manner and niceties. They seemed to be irritated and inconvenienced by my asking them to cooperate with the bank to correct THEIR error.
As for the room, the sink tap wobbled and the shower constantly lost heat... It would go from scalding to lukewarm three times within a 10 minute shower.
The room was clean and simple, on par with my expectations for an Ibis. The bed was too soft and air con temps are controlled by reception, not by room. Wifi, breakfast and parking are all too expensive. When you compare this with the calibre of other $210/night serviced apartments, this Ibis does little to compare. I'm assuming that pricing here is determined by location, because it's definitely not based on quality, customer service or value. The location is nearly this Ibis' only redeeming property.
All in all: Ideal for a one time stay, to use up a voucher or for a last minute stop over but keep looking, there is definately better value out there!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you had problems with your Accor Gift Card and it was not valid on arrival.

If I can further assist you please let me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#111 of 178 in Sydney
373 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#73 of 178 in Sydney
3,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,463 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sydney World Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney World Square

Address: 382 - 384 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £92 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney World Square 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Sydney World Square is in the heart of the Sydney CBD, within easy walking distance of Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay, Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre and Chinatown. The hotel features 166 rooms and is conveniently close to the Sydney Light Rail and Central Station. The hotel has been recently refreshed with new bedding, carpet, in room amenities and upgraded dining facilities. The ibis Sydney World Square hotel in Sydney's CBD offers Standard and Deluxe room type, ideal for both corporate and leisure travelers in Sydney! From the solo traveler needing a comfortable queen sized bed for a night, to large two king sized bed rooms for the family holiday or a group of friends wanting to share. All hotel rooms are clean, wonderfully comfortable and have the convenience of a private en-suite bathroom with shower, new smart TVs, direct dial IDD / STD, tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, high-speed broadband internet access, in-house movies and fluffy towels. Guests staying at the Ibis Sydney World Square can also take advantage of the extensive hotel facilities including the 24 hour Reception, tour desk and on-site self-service laundry and dry cleaning services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Sydney World Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor World Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing