We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Sydney World Square
Ranked #92 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awful experience”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Ibis Sydney World Square recently and was disappointed with our experience. The carpet in the room feels dirty and the hotel didn't provide slippers. The air con unit very dusty and making vibrating noise which resulted in neither of us had any sleep. The housekeeper in the morning was very loud. We can hear banging noise and loud vacuuming noise from the next room. The front office staffs were giving bad vibe as they were not friendly at all. The key cards constantly stopped working. But the worst is the level of hygiene in the bathroom especially the towels. The towel had a rotten smell and caused our body to be smelly. We ended up check-out 1 day early because we didn't feel comfortable at all. We understand Ibis is a budget hotel but surely they can't be this awful. The only good thing is the location of the hotel but everything else is very awful.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Miss H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi,

It is always disapointing to read a review, which could have been turned around during your stay.

As a 3.5 star hotel we do not have slippers in the room, however on request we do have them avaliable for our guest. Please always ask for assistance as we are hear to ensure you have a great stay and will want to return.

We hope you will give us another opportunity again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    701
    606
    199
    105
See reviews for
286
556
317
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed here for three nights during early May. I was out of the hotel most of the time and never really enjoyed the facilities (except the gym) but it was comfy. The service at reception was also very good - although I wished they had told me earlier about the deposit I had to pay. I was only carrying a very limited amount of cash but the nice lady at reception told me I could pay it later, which I did.

The hotel is situated near Asian shops and restaurants - which offer pretty decent food - and is also a short walk away from Darling Harbour. It's also possible to do a bit of shopping around the area. And the Museum/Central train station isn't far as well.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel. Wish I could've stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YiLianLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#106 of 179 in Sydney
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#72 of 179 in Sydney
3,036 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sydney World Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney World Square

Property: Ibis Sydney World Square
Address: 382 - 384 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney World Square 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Sydney World Square is in the heart of the Sydney CBD, within easy walking distance of Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay, Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre and Chinatown. The hotel features 166 rooms and is conveniently close to the Sydney Light Rail and Central Station. The hotel has been recently refreshed with new bedding, carpet, in room amenities and upgraded dining facilities. The ibis Sydney World Square hotel in Sydney's CBD offers Standard and Deluxe room type, ideal for both corporate and leisure travelers in Sydney! From the solo traveler needing a comfortable queen sized bed for a night, to large two king sized bed rooms for the family holiday or a group of friends wanting to share. All hotel rooms are clean, wonderfully comfortable and have the convenience of a private en-suite bathroom with shower, new smart TVs, direct dial IDD / STD, tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, high-speed broadband internet access, in-house movies and fluffy towels. Guests staying at the Ibis Sydney World Square can also take advantage of the extensive hotel facilities including the 24 hour Reception, tour desk and on-site self-service laundry and dry cleaning services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Sydney World Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor World Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing