We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Ranked #91 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I spent ten days there recently. Very convenient location, close to Convention Centre, shopping mall and vast entertainment area around the harbour. Don't miss visiting the good ship Endeavour ( replica ) that brought Captain Cook to these shores. The hotel itself is very basic. Small rooms, most with a nice view of the harbour and city centre skyline. Free WiFi is patchy, better access against subscription. Rooms quite clean though. Slow check-in but better check-out. Breakfast ( mediocre ) not included in room rate but cheaper if one registers for it . ( 15 AUD instead of 20 ). Staff cordial but not particularly friendly. Room rate very expensive even though IBIS is lower down in the ACCOR chain. But everything in Sydney is incredibly expensive. I would stay there again but only for the location.
Ahmed Attia

Room Tip: the higher the better, harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amade0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,271 - 1,277 of 2,576 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013.

Rooms were typical Ibis - clean, comfortable, and our room had a great view over Darling Harbour. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the local area.
Position next to the shopping centre and nearby to many restaurants and bars made the hotel very convenient.

Check in and check out were friendly and efficient, and was on our way within minutes of coming to reception.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hommar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Service

The service was friendly and polite. I was quickly checked in for my one-night stay here, without too much fuss or bother. Check-out was similarly smooth.

Room

Our room (no 922) gave new meaning to the term “no frills”. More like a shipping container than a room; it was square and neat with space only for a queen-sized bed with two 2x2 bedside shelves, a small, hard bench, a table and chair flush up against the wall, a TV squeezed into a strange angle, a tiny cupboard, micro fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. No place even for a dustbin, that’s in the bathroom. No lock-up safe and no drawers, only two small shelves in what passes for the cupboard. The lighting was poor, making it impossible to read comfortably after dark. So that’s it. That’s your room. Luckily we were only staying for one night or I would have ended up with a serious bout of claustrophobia. But it did have a magnificent view of Darling Harbour and the city beyond that. It was clean and well stocked with provisions, but much too small and basic for my liking. The bed was too soft; probably worn down by age.

Bathroom

Not much bigger than an airline toilet, with a tiny shower cubicle, two mirrors and a few shelves for storage. It was clean and functional but cramped, with two towels each per person.

Location

The hotel calls itself the “Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour”, but that’s a misnomer because the hotel is in Murray Street, Pyrmont. Direct access from Darling Harbour is only via the Harbourside Shopping Centre; from where you’ll need to get the lift to level three (or a series of escalators if you don’t like lifts), walk across the foot bridge and then through the car park. It took me ages to find it that way. I got completely lost until I spotted a sign that said “Ibis Hotel Lifts”, so I followed that, which took me to a locked security door beyond which were the lifts. I had to buzz the receptionist to let me in, took the lift up one level and finally arrived at the check-in desk. What a mission. An easier way would have been to walk right out of Darling Harbour, passed the Maritime Museum, and round the corner into Murray Street, from where it’s only a few metres up the road. So really this hotel should be called the Ibis Pyrmont, not the Ibis Darling Harbour. Ok, having got that off my chest and got my bearings (and I’m a Sydney local), I guess I could say that it is a decent location. It’s about a 15-20 minute walk to Town Hall Station via Darling Harbour and Bathurst Street (just bear in mind that it’s a hilly walk going towards the city, easier if coming from the city). The light rail is close by and that can take you to various attractions such as Paddy’s Markets and the Star Casino. And of course Darling Harbour itself is a picturesque precinct with the water, the boardwalk (currently being renovated) all the shops and restaurants and plenty of activity to give it a lively vibe. So it definitely is a realistic alternative to a CBD hotel.

Amenities

There’s no pool or gym, but we were told that as guests of the Ibis we could use the facilities of the nearby Novotel. Being a rather chilly day we didn’t avail ourselves of that opportunity. The hotel has a restaurant and a bar downstairs, pleasant for relaxing in, and you’ll get expansive views from the balcony. The place is clean, airy and light but again like the rooms, rather basic in its style. There are two computers with internet access downstairs which guests can use for free (I used one and the keyboard was so old that you couldn’t read the lettering on the keys. How much does a new keyboard cost guys: $25?)

Breakfast

We decided to treat ourselves to the buffet breakfast, at a reasonable price of $15 a head (pre-booked before arrival). The fare was fresh, tasty and varied with fruits, cereals, toast, pastries, pancakes and delicious sausages and baked beans. I liked the smart, yet casual dining room with its soothing white colour scheme, comfy chairs and tables and views towards the city.

Best features

- Sensational views

- Handy location to Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Paddy’s Markets, Star Casino and the city (Town Hall end)

- Filling, tasty buffet breakfast, reasonably priced

- Friendly, accommodating staff


Worst features

- Very small, basic room with poor lighting & no safe

- Tiny bathroom

- Uncomfortable bed

- No direct access from Darling Harbour

Room Tip: Higher rooms are essential to take advantage of this hotel's best feature: the view of Darling H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artfornodriving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I travelled and stayed here for work. I picked the location specifically as it was close to where I needed to go but staff were very helpful and friendly. There is a taxi stand right out front and there was always a taxi there. Breakfast was awesome also.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Amy459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

the hortel is located right ondarling hobour ,the opera hous is about 30 minutes walk away -so you are quite in the centre. The rooms are somehow worn down and the hotel is a typical Ibis style -simple and functional. rooms are small but sufficent when you are alone. The staff is very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: if you want a habour view -on the 5th floor room higher than No 509 you shouldask for -its worthwhil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had two nights here on our way back to the U.K. after staying in port Stephens with our family and it was excellent value and a great base to stay in this wonderful city, the facilities are good and the staff very friendly and helpful, the restaurant is excellent and the girls waiting on are very friendly and was brilliant with our fourteen month old nephew who was with our group they were very helpful and willing to accommodate our needs if we ever go back to Sydney we would stay here again deffo!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I recommend getting a room with a view of the water as it is quite stunning by day or night. The rooms are small but well designed so that you are still comfortable. The location is a great base for exploring the harbour and city.

Unlike other other reviewers, we didn't find the staff overly helpful. At check-in we didn't quite understand the car park arrangement and felt that the staff member was just tolerating our confusion. We also tried to call the desk several times but our calls were unanswered.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GivemeaGumTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Mercure Sydney
#63 of 179 in Sydney
4,962 reviews
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Address: 70 Murray St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £103 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Darling Harbour, ibis Sydney Darling Harbour is one of Sydney's most popular 3.5 Star hotels. Ibis is renowned for its quality, simplicity and value for money with many rooms boasting spectacular views of Darling Harbour. With a popular bar, restaurant and 24 hour reception, ibis has affordable rates and friendly service and is perfect for business or leisure travel during a Sydney visit. With an undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre and surrounded by world renowned restaurants, bars, clubs and the Casino, this is Sydney's premiere visitor destination. Major visitor experiences include Sydney SEA LIFE Aquarium, WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, Powerhouse Museum, National Maritime Museum, China Town and the regular free entertainment and festivals of Darling Harbour. All this, and the city and CBD are just minutes away with a Light Rail connection at the door! Ibis is part of a two hotel complex managed by Accor Hotels which includes the adjacent Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Sydney
Ibis Darling Harbour
Hotel Ibis Sydney
Ibis Sydney
Ibis Hotel Darling Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing