We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Ranked #87 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 June 2014

another one of my favourites while I'm in Sydney ( for business or pleasure) on a budget but it serves it purpose.

great food, great service, close to all in darling Harbour and fantastic food location with an amazing variety of choices throughout the day!

very comfortable and relaxed rooms some might seem small but other rooms are good

Room Tip: whatever you choose - its has its own flair - try them out as you stay more often !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Humble70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Humble70

Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour and taking the time to provide us with feedback.

It is wonderful to read you experienced great service during your stay. I will be sure to pass your kind words on.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.

Kind Regards
Sarah Connelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,083 - 1,089 of 2,561 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Basic accommodation, quite dated and small but served the purpose. The location was fantastic but car parking was $64 for a 1 night stay so would recommend getting there by public transport if possible. If you're looking for cheap accommodation on Darling Harbour, this is for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank Elke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Elke P

Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour and taking the time to provide us with feedback.

Thank you for your comments in regards to our car parking facility. Please rest assured that we do our best to ensure that our prices remain competitive within the Sydney CBD and our packages are reviewed on a regular basis to make certain we cater to our guest needs.

Currently our car parking is competitively priced at $40 per car per night. As you mentioned you paid a higher rate could possibly mean you parked in the Harbourside car park, in which their rates are charged on an hourly basis and note a flat rate, in which case I would very much la member of our team to speak with you accordingly. Due to privacy issues we cannot see you profile, so if you wish to call us we would very be more than happy to talk to you in regards to the overcharge.

Elke P we do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.

Kind Regards
Sarah Connelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My daughter and I wanted to stay near the Lyric Theatre (which is part of the Star Casino complex) to see Strictly Ballroom so we chose the Ibis. The theatre was an easy 800 metre walk from the hotel. We booked a twin room with a Pyrmont view and were upgraded to a Darling Harbour view on check in.

The room was the smallest I have ever stayed in. Ever. Barely room to walk around the twin beds but the beds were exceptionally comfortable and as someone with a bad back, I slept very well. Nice soft pillows were appreciated.

Medium sized flat screen TV mounted on the wall.

Good block out blinds on the windows.

The bar fridge was not stocked with anything but UHT milk.

The bathroom was on the small side, shower, no bath. Toiletries were good quality. Good if small shelving for bathroom bags and such.

Serious lack of power points next to the beds. Only power point in the room was near the window, next to the clock radio, which would not fit on the tiny (I mean, really tiny!!!) bedside shelves. Quite inconvenient for the inevitable phone charger.

The reception staff were nice and friendly yet professional. Parking was $45 for 24 hours and considering we walked to the theatre, we were happy to pay it.

Darling Harbour shops are just over the road from the hotel and there are many eateries there. Very convenient location.

Room was exceptionally clean. We stayed on the fourth floor and there was no traffic noise.

A great location and a really good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Darling Harbour view rooms are quiet at the fourth floor and above and you get a great view of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spin462002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Spin462002

We very much appreciate your comments in regards to your stay here with us at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour.

I am glad to read you had an enjoyable sleep, and found our staff friendly and very professional. I will be sure to pass your kind words onto them.

Thank you for your comments regarding the room size and room facilities, we are currently looking into ways we can maximize the space and a providing additional amenities whilst maintaining the Ibis standard that we all know.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.

Kind Regards

Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Booked for the ibis and was given an upgrade to their novatal ibis next door ,it was clean,the room was large ,and modern. a very nice place to stay .it was right on the harbour and walking distance to shopping with a mall down stairs,well worth staying.
l rang them a lot trying to get hold of someone who was also staying there and they remained polite and friendly even with me driving them nuts.
There is 100.00 deposit per night if you dont use a credit card,this is refunded on checking out. a shuttle to the airport can be booked there and is much cheaper than the taxis.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raelene y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Raelene

It was our pleasure in providing you an upgrade, I am glad you enjoyed the room, I will be sure to share your comments with the Novotel team. and not to worry we enjoyed talking you and helping you in anyway.

Kind Regards
Sarah Connelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The motel was in a perfect location, we had a view as well, staff were excellent, room was clean but quite small & had no noise from other guests but the car parking prices I thought very expensive ..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Sharon

Thank you for sharing your experience, It is always great to read such positive feedback such as excellent staff and clean rooms. I will sure to pass these comments on.

In regards to our car parking facility, please rest assured that we do our best to ensure that our prices remain competitive within the Sydney CBD and our packages are reviewed on a regular basis to make certain we cater to our guest needs.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.

Kind Regards
Sarah Connelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We just booked a Pyrmont view room which was the cheapest room. It was quite basic & small, neat & clean enough though. Room Positives: comfy bed, clean, good housekeeping, blackout blinds. Room Negatives: no hotel or local information in the room, no minibar, fridge was not turned on. Hotel Positives: Friendly helpful staff & 24 hour desk, great location, clean & bright, bar & restaurant looked nice. Hotel negatives: no pool (I think?), no information given, small common areas. Overall pretty good stay, value for money? maybe. Would I stay again? not sure.
Thanks :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angesmiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Angesmiffy

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback .

Its great to read that you had an overall all pretty good stay and you found the rooms to be clean and staff helpful.

Whilst I can confirm that Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour does not have a pool, Our guests do have the privilege of complimentary access to the Novotel's leisure facilities including a Pool, gym and tennis court which is located directly next door.

As you mentioned our Reception is open 24hrs which allows us to constantly interact with guests and makes our reception the one stop shop for all concierge and information requirements.


Angesmiffy we appreciate you sharing your feedback and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Sarah Connelly
Ibis General Manger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The only thing going for this Ibis Hotel is the great location. Situated smack bang in the middle of Darling Harbour, it is a walk away from all the major attractions, good restaurants and shopping. Unfortunately, the lack of an eye for detail was apparent immediately on entering the property. The Reception area, lifts and hallways were all poorly maintained as was the guest room. Needless to say, I experienced a disappointing stay. No matter what the star rating, general cleanliness is a must.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kicks66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Kicks

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, Whilst your stay should of been enjoyable I am sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and for this I truly apologize.

I have shared your comments with our Executive Housekeeper as it allows us to improve on the concern you have raised providing future guests with a high quality product Ibis is renowned for. However I am pleased to inform that we are currently work on new and fresh ideas that we trust will restore the look and feel of the lobby.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback was very important to us and we appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Address: 70 Murray St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £78 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Darling Harbour, ibis Sydney Darling Harbour is one of Sydney's most popular 3.5 Star hotels. Ibis is renowned for its quality, simplicity and value for money with many rooms boasting spectacular views of Darling Harbour. With a popular bar, restaurant and 24 hour reception, ibis has affordable rates and friendly service and is perfect for business or leisure travel during a Sydney visit. With an undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre and surrounded by world renowned restaurants, bars, clubs and the Casino, this is Sydney's premiere visitor destination. Major visitor experiences include Sydney SEA LIFE Aquarium, WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, Powerhouse Museum, National Maritime Museum, China Town and the regular free entertainment and festivals of Darling Harbour. All this, and the city and CBD are just minutes away with a Light Rail connection at the door! Ibis is part of a two hotel complex managed by Accor Hotels which includes the adjacent Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Sydney
Ibis Darling Harbour
Hotel Ibis Sydney
Ibis Sydney
Ibis Hotel Darling Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing