We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, very good service - a place to come back !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Ranked #85 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect location, very good service - a place to come back !”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We lately stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The location of the venue is just perfect. You have darling habour in front of you, so if you like to walk a bit its perfect. You have direct access to the cheap boat ferry (to opera house/circular quay, to the beaches, etc.), to the Aquarium, the IMAX theatre and many pubs/restaurants, the hop on/off bus - everything within a few walking minutes. Even to the city center its just 10-15min by walk. So we really did enjoy our stay a lot, also because the service at the reception counter was very good and friendly (especially one young, tall lady). The only thing which is a bit of a downside is the size of the room (very small and no cupboard) - but thats IBIS-like and so no surprise. I you plan to explore the city and you dont want to hang around in the room anyway than thats a pretty good one to stay. The rooms with a view onto the darling harbour are great. Also a gym is available (in the neighbour hotel) for free. And on the corner there is a nice pub if you want to grab a pint after a day full of sight seeing. As we hadnt prebooked breakfast, we did book it after we arrived and it was also very good price/value-wise.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view onto the darling harbour are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfgang K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Wolfgang

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    1,026
    695
    233
    150
See reviews for
358
1,082
247
514
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Coomera, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Location was great, but honestly the rooms couldn't get any smaller. There were 3 girls staying in the one "family room', there is no way a family could stay in that room, you would drive each other crazy. Its probably the smallest hotel room Ive ever stayed in.

Other than that, staff was friendly, was very clean and the views were amazing.

Room Tip: If there are more than 2 of you, get 2 rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Gabby

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. It is great to read that you experienced friendly staff and enjoyed the view.

We hope to welcome you back soon to the hotel for another pleasant stay.

Kind Regards
Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights as part of a coach trip. The coach had to park next door and we had to take our luggage down the street to the Ibis, luckily when we left the coach was able to pull up outside the hotel for us to load our luggage up. Rooms small but at least they were clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff in reception and dining/bar areas were friendly and it was good to see at breakfast, what appeared to be senior staff coming in to help out when it was very busy. Each morning there appeared to be confusion re seating and though the breakfasts were ok, often the dishes had run out and it was slow replacing them and also plates/cutlery. The coffee machine was out of order for the days we were there and there was confusion where people could make their packaged coffee etc. We had one evening meal and again there appeared to be confusion with the staff regarding the seating even though we could see a sign telling us which room to go into !!! The food was lukewarm and the deserts soon ran out and were not replaced. A definite plus though is the location of the hotel with easy access to Darling Harbour and its facilities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Ann

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback in regards to your stay here at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour.

I am glad to read you found the hotel staff friendly and we appreciate your patience during our dining periods. However I will share your comments with the team so we can effectively work towards some improvements to prevent any future recurrences.

Please feel free to contact us directly if we can be of any further assistance and its our hope your next stay is another enjoyable one.

Kind Regards

Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I often spend a few days in Sydney, and find the Ibis, the most convenient, and value for money of all hotels in the area. We loved that we got an upgrade to a harbour view room, when the receptionist noticed that we had stayed there a few weeks previously, great breakfast, comfortable rooms and pleasant helpful staff, we will return many times.

Room Tip: Harbour view, up high! But really not important as Sydney is so busy and vibrant, and everything is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margarets414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Margaret

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Darling Harbour. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is always great to read positive feedback especially when it is from loyal customers.

Margret we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The harbourside room view of Darling Harbour was simply outstanding!
The location is right on the harbour, close to the casino, and close to many attractions, though still a hike to the Rocks and Circular Quay.
Surprisingly, the breakfast buffet (included in the room price) was actually very good.
Overall, while a bit pricey, the convenience and views made up for the costs.
Also, if you don't get a harbourside room, the experience would be a lot less enjoyable
Two notes: The desk service could use training on knowing the area attractions, restaurants, etc
Also, the nightlife in the area is geared towards younger people, so you might want to beware of loud boisterous groups of 20 year olds.

Room Tip: The rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Rod

Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour and taking the time to provide us with feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.

Kind Regards
Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Checking in & out was a breeze , the staff were great. Great location just a few minutes from Central station used the light rail & walking distance to Darling Harbour. Didn't matter that the room was small, it was quiet & the bed was the most comfortable I have every slept on. Breakfast was good value.

Room Tip: Harbour view amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doraj110620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Dorja

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Darling Harbour. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am glad you got a good nights sleep. I will have to agree with you our beds are certainly comfortable.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Warm Regards

Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#69 of 178 in Sydney
876 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Property: Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Address: 70 Murray St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Darling Harbour, ibis Sydney Darling Harbour is one of Sydney's most popular 3.5 Star hotels. Ibis is renowned for its quality, simplicity and value for money with many rooms boasting spectacular views of Darling Harbour. With a popular bar, restaurant and 24 hour reception, ibis has affordable rates and friendly service and is perfect for business or leisure travel during a Sydney visit. With an undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre and surrounded by world renowned restaurants, bars, clubs and the Casino, this is Sydney's premiere visitor destination. Major visitor experiences include Sydney SEA LIFE Aquarium, WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, Powerhouse Museum, National Maritime Museum, China Town and the regular free entertainment and festivals of Darling Harbour. All this, and the city and CBD are just minutes away with a Light Rail connection at the door! Ibis is part of a two hotel complex managed by Accor Hotels which includes the adjacent Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Sydney
Ibis Darling Harbour
Hotel Ibis Sydney
Ibis Sydney
Ibis Hotel Darling Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing