We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, clean and tidy rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Ranked #86 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, clean and tidy rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Loved the location of the hotel, close to all the restaurants and bars on the darling harbour. The rooms itself were neat and tidy, but they were quite cramped, but still very functional, there is no room service, but with so many restaurants around that isn't really a problem, there still is a restaurant downstairs with a 24 hour menu.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Jessica

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is always great to read such wonderful comments about our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    968
    665
    222
    143
See reviews for
335
1,032
233
481
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed one night. Location is central to everything I needed - City, Darling Harbour and Pyrmont. Received an upgraded room overlooking the harbour, thanks!. Room was compact, modern, well appointed, clean and comfortable - with all the facilities needed for a relaxing stay.
The team members were helpful, efficient and professional. The buffet breakfast is great value for money with plenty of variety with which to choose from. Hint - arrive early the tables fill quickly.
The price was terrific -will stay here again when next in Sydney.
Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Book a city view room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Sparky268

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Darling Harbour. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I cannot thank the staff of this hotel enough for the great service and care they gave us during our stay. The room was also exceptionally clean and had the most comfy bed! Even though it is a bit on the small side everything else made up for this and the Ibis was certainly a great place to base ourselves in Sydney as the location is great.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear CandsK

It is great to read you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you back here at the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I got the impression the front desk staff are underworked, underpaid or just over it. We checked on and out fine but the staff did the bare minimum. We asked for late checkout because we were out the night before. The desk bloke said we can checkout at noon. 10.30 housekeeping was knocking and 11 reception was calling to ask us when we were leaving. Apparently the bloke who checked us in didn't record the late checkout. On the plus side the location is fantastic, the rooms while small are clean and comfortable. But the bed, wow! Best bed we have slept on. Period! 10 hours of refreshing sleep on this work of bedding art. We took the sheets off to see what the matress was and am going to buy one for our bed at home.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brendonfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Brendon

Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour and taking the time to provide us with feedback.

I will also share your comments with our Front Office Manager, as it allows us to improve on the concerns you have raised providing future guests with a high quality product that Novotel is renowned for.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.
Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The Ibis was easy to find and we could drive up to front door. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Great location, opposite Darling Harbour and short stroll to Sydney Casino.
Room was clean and modern, however i felt a little small. I liked that there were toiletry supplies and a hairdryer in the bathroom.
Breakfast was good. Plenty of items to choose from. I would suggest you arrive early as many guests were left waiting in line for a table. (We arrived at breakfast around 830 n by 9am, queues had started).
I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.
My negatives for this stay:
1. Crowded breakfast
2. Lifts from carpark not working. Had to park car next door and walk up several ramps/floors to enter hotel. The lift was fixed by morning, thank goodness as it was raining!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simone N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Simone

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your Ibis experience, I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Please free to contact us if we can be of any further assistance.

Kind Regards

Sarah Connelly
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Mercure Sydney
#56 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Property: Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Address: 70 Murray St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Darling Harbour, ibis Sydney Darling Harbour is one of Sydney's most popular 3.5 Star hotels. Ibis is renowned for its quality, simplicity and value for money with many rooms boasting spectacular views of Darling Harbour. With a popular bar, restaurant and 24 hour reception, ibis has affordable rates and friendly service and is perfect for business or leisure travel during a Sydney visit. With an undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre and surrounded by world renowned restaurants, bars, clubs and the Casino, this is Sydney's premiere visitor destination. Major visitor experiences include Sydney SEA LIFE Aquarium, WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, Powerhouse Museum, National Maritime Museum, China Town and the regular free entertainment and festivals of Darling Harbour. All this, and the city and CBD are just minutes away with a Light Rail connection at the door! Ibis is part of a two hotel complex managed by Accor Hotels which includes the adjacent Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Sydney
Ibis Darling Harbour
Hotel Ibis Sydney
Ibis Sydney
Ibis Hotel Darling Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing