We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyde Park in is well-situated and well-priced for a good night's sleep.”
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyde Park Inn
Ranked #54 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2011

After hours searching online, Hyde Park Inn emerged as one of the few CBD places that accomodates a family without costing the earth. Our adult daughter joined us in Sydney and we were very happy with our spacious family room. Comfortable beds with individual reading lights, new flat-screen tv with excellent reception and the channels we wanted, a compact kitchen with just what we needed -- this place suits us.
Check out the location. Cross the street and you're in Sydney's beautiful parkland and gardens. Walk to the Art Gallery, Museum . . . theaters, best shopping district, Darling Hbr.
Our room was well-maintained. Staff were efficient, and friendly throughout the property.
We've stayed in other CBD hotels and this is the one for us. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roseannewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

805 - 811 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stayed here for four night. Good sized room, it was nice to have small kitchen area to make drinks, and store items in fridge. Enjoyed having lounge area to watch TV etc, better than having to lay on your bed. All in all, had a great time in Sydney.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor which was quite.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank password023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We booked into the Hyde Park Inn over Christmas and New Year. Given the rates charged by hotels in Sydney over this period the HPI was reasonably priced.

Our only issue was that our room was a little dirty upon arrival. However we reported this to the reception who came and cleaned the room straight away.

The room it'self was large with full kitchen, loads of storage and very comfortable.

The HPI provide an in room breakfast that is left in your fridge the day before. This proved more than adequate and saved going out and spending more money.

The HPI is in a great location - could walk to everything including the ferries at Circular Quay. Some reviews said that there was a lot of street noise - certainly there is some, it's a large city centre after all. However we did not find it a problem.

Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pomsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Stayed for 6 nights in this hotel, very good value and good location. Breakfast provided in your room, this saved going out and finding somewhere to eat in the morning. The hotel is on Elizabeth street and the free bus 555 runs past it down to circular quay. Very noisy outside the hotel and lots of shops and cheap eating places nearby. Our room wasn't made up on 2 days, luckily we weren't messy people so tidied our own room up ! If you stay here make sure you look out of the window at dusk to see the bats flying past

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craftysurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

When we arrive there was hair on the cover of the bed....
The fridge contained food of another customer.
The floor of the kitchen stuck.
The internet tariff was so expensive (11$ one hour, 22$ a day), that we can think that Australia was an under developped country.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domtom98845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Location is fantastic and so are the rooms. We booked deluxe 2 bedroom apartment and it was specious. Service was very good- staff was well mannered, very helpful & attentive. We reached 4 to 5 hours earlier than normal check-in hours and the staff allowed us to use coffee room to relax till our room was ready. Excellent place to stay if you are travelling with small children. There is a convenience store below and this is useful if you wish to cook in the apartment.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nik_d_in_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Extremely rude and impersonal front desk attendants, and the hotel manager is just as arrogant, if not worse-

Definitely do not recommend the hyde park inn if you are planning a seamless hotel stay, 3 different rooms in 3 nights, with no apology, and not to mention the blood spots on the quilt cover in the third room.

The closest I got to a smile or even a civil conversation at this place was with the hotel's bell boy who assisted in moving our luggage from one room to the next on both days.

I am a Sydney resident and quite honestly I'm disgusted and embarrassed with the service I received at Hyde Park Inn.

If you are a visitor to Sydney I recommend looking at other accomodation as to stay here and receive the same level of service that I received would leave you thinking that my wonderful city is nothing but trash!

Room Tip: Book into a larger chain hotel for the same price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giro_mondo_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Suites
Meriton Suites
#49 of 180 in Sydney
106 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#76 of 180 in Sydney
3,192 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#36 of 180 in Sydney
4,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £114 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing