We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family hotel in the heart of Sydney” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyde Park Inn
Ranked #46 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family hotel in the heart of Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed on the 12th floor in a newly refurbished room. It was clean and comfortable. Plenty of space for a family of 5. Kitchenette was useful and great for preparing simple meals. Lovely views of Hyde park and the floral displays, shrine and pond. Lovely service. Entrance to train station over the road, plenty of bus stops outside of hotel to go wherever you need. Easy walk to harbour, shops etc. Choice of Supermarkets within 5 mins. walk. Excellent value for the family.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MummyV05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    434
    99
    37
    19
See reviews for
332
294
52
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located just opposite Hyde Park and is very easy to get to from the airport as it is opposite Museum train station. It is an easy walk down to the Circular Quay area to see the Bridge and the Opera House. There are plenty of places to get something to eat nearby and just a short walk to the supermarket.
We arrived early and were able to store our luggage - this was then taken to our room while we did some sightseeing before heading up.
The room was clean, spacious and well set out. I would happily stay there again and would recommend it to friends and family

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Aust
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

The Hyde Park Inn is a fabulous little hotel in a good location and is excellent value for money.
On this recent trip our family of 4 adults and 2 children stayed 1 night in a deluxe (higher floor with balcony) and 1 night in a standard which are on the lower floors with no balcony. Both rooms were refurbished, spacious and very comfortable all around. The room refurb has been nicely done.
Beds and pillows were very comfortable. The rooms were spotlessly clean. The bathrooms need a special mention for being spotless as I am a bit of a clean freak so I really appreciated having a spotlessly clean bathroom.
Both rooms have a small kitchen (deluxe slightly larger). A continental breakfast was included in the room rate which included: cereal, bread (for toasting), milk, tea, coffee, juice, butter, different spreads (jam etc) and a small fruit pot.
The staff at this hotel are the most helpful bunch - they organised airport transfers for us, checked our flight time for us as we didn't buy internet access.
What stood out the most for me is that as we were a large family they took this into account and the appropriate amount of everything (ie. towels, the breakfast spread etc) was provided in the room for us - we didn't have to ask for a thing - they had it all sorted.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenwayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

I haven't stayed at Hyde Park Inn yet and they've already impressed me.

I emailed them about availability and was told that there was one last family room available during the period I wanted in mid November. I replied back stated that I wanted the room and got a response from Maurice who stated that the last room was very close to some noisy construction work so he suggested that I should look for other options if the noise during the day would bother me.

Thanks for being very transparent Maurice. I'll update this review after my stay but I've been very impressed so far.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank farulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Very spacious, with cooking facilities and a view on Hyde Park, the Hyde Park Inn proved the ideal accommodation for our family of four. Even though located next to a reasonably busy road, the double glazing of our deluxe family room blocked out all of the noise and it was very quiet in the room. Very clean and excellent location - just opposite Hyde Park and the Australian Museum a short walk away, also next to a number of bus stops (including the free 555 circular bus) and 50 meters from the Museum Station train station (with direct train to the international airport). Excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_NZ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uki, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

The hotel room (standard double) was very spacious with thoughtful inclusions like a very pleasant kitchenette, iphone docking radio, plenty of extra blankets & pillows, a work desk & a dining table. Very nice views with an opening door onto a small balcony for fresh air. Although traffic noise was considerable, when the windows were closed the noise was not a problem. Very handy to trains and busses and an easy walk to the main city attractions.

The only complaint would be the exorbitant charges for wifi access, at $11 per hour!!
We have stayed at hotels less than half the tariff, where wifi is completely free to the guests. Even something like a one-off $5 "service" charge for wifi would be acceptable, but charging $11 whenever one wants to email or make some reservations etc. is very off putting in these days.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim-Ange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed 1 night only, checked in at 12noon. Hotel is opposite Hyde Park, our room was bright & fresh. 1 queen & 1 single bed, table & chairs, lounge, kitchenette with microwave, sink, cutlery & crockery, toaster & electric jug. Room much larger than normal, looked freshly painted, bathroom newly refurbished, flat screen TV. Breakfast supplied (Continental) Juice, fruit, bread with condiments, cereals & milk. We are staying again in December & looking forward to another comfortable stay. Parking is very tight but was included in our tariff. Ladies at reception very accomodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#50 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Property: Hyde Park Inn
Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing