We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good location and good value”
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyde Park Inn
Ranked #49 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty good location and good value”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We booked the standard family room which had a double bed, 2 single beds and what appeared to be a couch that could be used as a bed too (as well as another couch and a table and chairs).

The room was really long and spacious - we only had 3 people in it and we didn't feel like we were tripping over each other. Kitchenette was good and the room we had booked came with complimentary breakfast which was bread, cereal, milk, fruit and orange juice - this was good for free.

Bathroom was really nice as it had obviously just been re-done. Shower was really nice and powerful.

Service was ok - lady at check in was ok, got to our room and had a flickery light so called them to come and fix it and a man with a ladder turned up pretty quickly and fixed it. He was also helpful and recommended public transport as we were discussing how to get somewhere. Cleaners were ok - had no bath mat for the first day, then we forgot to leave our towels out and didn't get them changed the second day, so swiped some extra towels off the trolley that was lurking in our hallway - the third day we had a super efficient cleaner who replaced all 6 of our towels and gave us a bathmat!

Our room came with a free car park - there was only space for us to park onsite on the first night - which was handy but it was very awkward. We had a park at a building down the road for the other 2 nights which was fine but they would only give us a 24 hour or 48 hour pass so we had to ensure we only put our car in the new building at the right time to give us enough time to leave on the exit day.

Location was good - quick walk to Pitt Street Mall, apparently there is a train station very close by that links to the Rocks but we caught taxi's for around $20.

Overall it was a good value hotel, certainly nothing special but it was clean enough and relatively quiet. Very good value for Sydney which is notoriously expensive!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    452
    104
    37
    19
See reviews for
347
310
52
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koromiko,, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Thanks for the wonderful stay we had a deluxe studio on the 12th floor and it was an oasis in a very busy city the location was fantastic it is within walking distance to circular quay and darling harbour , the room were very clean and well stocked , the breakfast included was well worth having saves you having to rush out in the morning , after travelling for a few days it was fantastic to be able to catch up on the washing , with the complementary laundry.The view from our room was right down to the harbour and over the trees in Hyde park fantastic , in the evening you could see the bats flying around the park . thanks again for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I was so impressed with this hotel - the location, the room, the staff - couldn't fault it. It's in a nice location - so lovely to see the trees in Hyde Park when you look out of the window. Often in a hotel in a big city you have to compromise on location or the size of the room but this was not a problem in this place at all. The basic breakfast ingredients left in the fridge each day are such a bonus, helps to have a little something before you set out for the day. The room was fantastic - there were 3 of us staying and we had a family size room which would accommodate 4 people - a king size bed, and 2 singles (maybe king singles I'm not sure) - overall so spacious and a nice little area with a sofa and armchair as well. The room was spotless (recently renovated I think), the bathroom was adequate and in good condition. The only tiny weeny things I could fault were it was difficult to squeeze the shower gel out of the bottle in the shower and the beds were hard, as other reviewers had said. We solved the latter problem by lying on top of my doonah.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottishsmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I stayed at the Hyde Park in for work for one night.
I was impressed with the price of rooms especially since it included parking and continental breakfast.
The room was very large and could have easily accodated 4 four people and there was a kitchenette.
I will defintely stay there again.
There is also a very nice restaraunt attached to the hotel which had excellent food

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Australia_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed here recently for 5 nights in a deluxe twin room. We got a good deal and based on the price I was very pleased. The room was clean and the servicing was good. The room featured a kitchenette, which was ideal for our purpose - when we arrived, the kettle didn't work, but 1 call to reception and it was sorted in less than 10 minutes. We'd arrived on a very early morning flight and the staff gave us somewhere to leave our bags and then sorted an early check in a few hours later, so - top marks for customer service!! The hotel is very centrally located, so ideal for exploring Sydney. Walking distance to most attractions and within easy walk of main rail stationsl. Good value for money in an otherwise very expensive city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed on the 12th floor in a newly refurbished room. It was clean and comfortable. Plenty of space for a family of 5. Kitchenette was useful and great for preparing simple meals. Lovely views of Hyde park and the floral displays, shrine and pond. Lovely service. Entrance to train station over the road, plenty of bus stops outside of hotel to go wherever you need. Easy walk to harbour, shops etc. Choice of Supermarkets within 5 mins. walk. Excellent value for the family.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MummyV05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located just opposite Hyde Park and is very easy to get to from the airport as it is opposite Museum train station. It is an easy walk down to the Circular Quay area to see the Bridge and the Opera House. There are plenty of places to get something to eat nearby and just a short walk to the supermarket.
We arrived early and were able to store our luggage - this was then taken to our room while we did some sightseeing before heading up.
The room was clean, spacious and well set out. I would happily stay there again and would recommend it to friends and family

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Park8 Hotel Sydney
#54 of 178 in Sydney
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#55 of 178 in Sydney
1,324 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Central Business District
Primus Hotel Sydney
Primus Hotel Sydney
#10 of 178 in Sydney
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Property: Hyde Park Inn
Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing