We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most romantic hotel-location!”
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyde Park Inn
Ranked #53 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, and loved it!! The staff was lovely and very helpful, the view of Hyde park was amazing and the rooms beautiful and clean. Very fairly priced, and location is perfect!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenny285728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2012

Our second stay at Hyde Park Inn. The premium rooms have had a small upgrade and are very comfortable. We asked for a room on a high floor and got a quiet room with a lovely view on level 15.

When choosing a hotel I compared the similar priced newer chain of apartments nearby. But we decided on Hyde Park Inn because its in a great location. You don't get extras like a gym and pool, but you get a quieter street and beautiful Hyde Park right outside. Airport train stops 50 metres from the hotel and there's a free shuttle bus to Circular Quay in Elizabeth St. The rooms are older in style, but large and comfortable. Kitchen has everything you need, and the breakfast makings left in the room each day are helpful.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterY62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We land in Sydney early Sunday morning via 3 nights at the Miramar Hotel Singapore (please see my TA review if interested). We are staying 6 nights at the Hyde Park Inn on Elizabeth Street in the CBD.
Due to the exchange rate, eating out in Sydney and Australia generally can be quite expensive, and will add considerably to the cost of an already expensive holiday. We were advised by a friend’s daughter who lives in Oz that an apartment is a good option in Sydney. With this in mind we couldn’t see the point of paying for a hotel room at this price level when we could have a serviced apartment that gave us the option of ready meals from the supermarket, and would be more spacious as well. We wanted a balcony but the high-rise Meriton’s were quite expensive, and we came across the recently refurbished Hyde Park Inn on Booking.com and it ticked all the boxes and more.
The Hyde Park Inn is opposite the Anzac Memorial in Hyde Park and right by Museum Station. We decided to pay the extra A$12- gateway premium and take the train from the airport; it takes 10 – 15 minutes. Shuttle buses were available for a similar price but it involved waiting around and just seemed too much hassle, and taxis are more expensive. On our return journey we used our ‘My Ferry’ weekly passes and just paid the $12- airport premium train ticket.
Museum station has one small escalator, and that exit is shut at weekends, and no lifts. So it will mean carrying your luggage up and down some stairs, but there are not that many.
We booked a deluxe studio and requested a non-smoking room on a high floor. They gave us one on 13 which was perfect and you can smoke on the balcony if you wish anyway. The room was lovely with great views over the park and you could see the water in the distance. It had cooking rings, microwave, kettle, and toaster, and a big bonus is that the hotel supplies a light breakfast to your room each afternoon. This was cereals, bread for toast, jam and spreads, and canned type fruit.
Tea, coffee, biscuits, and several cartons of milk are also supplied. We just bought a pack of yoghurts from Coles and it was perfect for us. Oh and you get a copy of the Sydney Morning Herald left outside your door each morning.
There was shower gel / shampoo in the bathroom. The only thing the room lacked was a safe, but you could rent one free at reception but have to ask them to get your box out each time you wanted something from it.
We arrived very early and our studio wasn’t available, but they locked our cases away and gave us a pass to the 1st floor where we could use the facilities. There is also a room on the 1st with computers and printers if you need to do online check-in, it’s free for guests just ask reception.
There is a room with free washers and dryers near reception, and you can buy powder from reception.
We found the staff to be just great and so helpful. When we needed to phone to re-confirm some tours pickups and flights, they just rang the number and passed the phone for us to use.
We thought the hotel was in a great location; it enjoys a nice open aspect opposite the park but is only 5 minutes walk to the World Centre shopping mall situated between Pitt and George Streets. A big Coles supermarket with an attached Liquorland bottle shop is on the lower ground floor here.
Wine is the cheapest option in Oz, search around the bottle shop and you can get a bottle of Shiraz or a rose or white for around $6-
You’ll pay around $3.50 for a small can of VB beer or $16.50 for a 6 pack.
There is also a small convenience store right next door to the hotel but we never used that.
A lot of buses come up and down Elizabeth Street from Circular Quay, including the 333 Bondi bus which stops opposite. The free 555 green CBD shuttle from Central station to Circular Quay also passes the hotel on its circuit. Or you can take the train a couple of stops.
Personally I wouldn’t fancy walking to Circular Quay as it is a fair distance, but you could probably walk through the park and then the Botanical gardens if you had the time.
We were staying 6 full days so decided to buy a weekly pass for buses, ferries and trains it cost A$43- but we got full value and more from and it saves messing around as some of the buses are pre-pay only.
We loved Sydney and loved this hotel, so would recommend strongly at this price level....Oh and Barramundi & chips at Manly was just delicious but watch out for the seagulls!

We now fly to Ayer’s Rock Resort and the Desert Gardens Hotel..Please see my next review if interested...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roy_0749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Very good location along the busy Elizabeth Street, opposite the Hyde Park. The nearest train station is the Museum Station and there is a bus stop along the route of Free City Shuttle Service Route 555. Walking distance to the Chinatown and the World Square where the Coles Super-mart is located.

The room is clean and spacious for the price that you are paying. We stayed in a family suite that consist a queen-size bed and 2 single beds and it is just nice for the family of 4. The toilet has a a bathtub which allow us to relax after a day of travelling.

The hotel staff actually reserved street parking lots for us, but we had returned our rented car before we check-in because driving in the city can be quite stressful.

The light breakfast provided are nutritious which consist of fruit juice, milk, bread (whole meal & white) and corn flakes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_Peh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

My family of 3 adults stayed over 4 nights in a deluxe room on the 15th floor- the view was lovely and it was very pleasant. It is ideally located, and one can catch the train / bus / taxi within a 2 minute walk! The staff were very helpful and told us all we needed to know about catching the free bus, etc...The light breakfast that was in our package had a nice variety, and there was enough food to keep us going till lunch time! There was no road noise, and the place was nice and clean. Although we were out most of the time, we would definitely recommend and stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahG12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

My family of four stayed in this hotel over three nights, while meeting up with friends. The location could not have been more perfect; not only is it directly across from beautiful Hyde Park, but the train station as well, so one can easily get here from the airport without having to payout for a taxi.
The room was wonderful; enough beds for the four of us; one queen and two singles in a long line. The rooms were clean with elevator access. The bathroom was clean and well facilitated.
The room price includes breakfast with was light; cereal toast, juice and tea and coffee. This was eaten in the room, which one can prepare in the tiny kitchenette. The food itself is kept in the bar fridge in the kitchen and replenished daily. There is a 711 down stairs should you need any extra items or bits and pieces for day trips out. The was no restaurant in the Hotel, but many eateries can be found nearby. The price of this inner city Inn was great; the location even greater.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelaidian5052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We were disgusted with the service provided at this hotel. We had booked 2 rooms for a Saturday night.

When I first walked in the door, the two reception staff were having a very audible argument, and the did not cease when I walked in.

When we arrived we were told there was no parking for us, even though that was an inclusion with the Wotif booking. I had to argue to get a park. They made us give them our car keys - as they said they would move the car during the night. We were not happy with this, at which point we were told to like it or go somewhere else.

The senior employee would not allow us to use the stairs and chastised us when we attempted to. When I asked why she was being so rude - she responded with "Actually I think you are!"

All of this happened in front of other guests in the foyer as well as those entering the lifts.

What happened to the customer comes first? Single handedly the worse customer experience I have ever had over many hundreds of motels I have stayed in. Not to mention, I own restaurants, so I have a clear concept of how hospitality staff should present.

Needless to stay, this made for a terrible start to a weekend away to attend my cousin's wedding. It really dampened the whole evening for us, when we had travelled to get there.

Upon receiving my complaint - the hotel offered no compensation for our experience.

LYNLEE EATHER

Room Tip: All rooms were noisy during the day as some kind of major construction work was happening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynleeEather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner West
Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#77 of 179 in Sydney
3,258 reviews
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#38 of 179 in Sydney
4,406 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £109 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing