We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyde Park Inn
Ranked #46 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
cairns
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked a 2 bed for the night before we flew out of sydney. Location great - close to Darling Quarter and Darling Harbour, awesome restaurants nearby in Chinatown, apartment was clean and really nice. Bit longer walk to Circular Quay but doable. Check in staff were not that friendly, but nothing terrible. Easy taxi to airport in the morning. Everything in sydney is expensive - this included, but was good considering this is sydney.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janita_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    434
    99
    37
    19
See reviews for
332
294
52
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sippy Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We booked the Hyde Park Inn for 2 nights, and have been really happy we did so.

The location is awesome. Straight across from Hyde Park and the Museum train station; you cannot get much closer to the action. We arrived late, but found places to eat within a 5 minute walk.

Hyde Park Inn is a sort of self catered hotel. The room (we had 124 on the 12th floor; awesome views!) was well appointed -actually looking like the one in the brochure, which is a breath of fresh air- with a little kitchenette in it. Handy with a 7/11 a couple of metres down the road!

Simple but effective continental breakfast -included in the price- was stacked in the fridge and cupboards, and double and triple glazing kept all the road noise nicely at bay.

Check in was swift and efficient (not overly friendly, but definitely professional), and our room was awesome. Not much more to say about it, really, unless it is to nit-pick. Okay, two nit-picks: although we were with 3 people, there was only "stuff" for two (that happens SO often, it's not even funny); it got sorted within no-time, though. The other thing was the black mould underneath some of the silicon in the bathroom. But geez, I AM nit-picking. It was great in every other way.

Price? Well, $231 per night is not cheap, but quality, location, convenience, breakfast and views make it good value for money in "downtown Sydney". It'd pick this place again in a flash.

Room Tip: get a room with views over Hyde Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SiMaKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Have stayed here a few times - latest in January for 4 nights. Room is good value - good size, clean, renovated. Location is great overlooking Hyde Park very close to Museum Station across Elizabeth Street. Some road noise but not bad particularly if you are on a higher floor. The views from the window and small balcony are even pretty good with the Harbour in the distance from some rooms. Didn't use them but there are facilities for self catering as well as all you would expect in a 4 star hotel including ok free internet but no pool or gym or the like. Good simple breakfast each day left in the room the night before as well as milk and tea and coffee. Staff generally friendly and helpful if not excessively so. Overall it is 5 stars for great rooms and location for a good price in Sydney which can be very expensive for hotels.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Aust
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was our third stay at this hotel. We use it to overnight before getting on a cruiseship but I also wouldn't hesitate to stay there if I was spending more time in Sydney. The rooms (family deluxe) are spotless and the beds so comfortable with crisp white linen. The location is fantastic and my dealings with the staff have been good. As mentioned in previous reviews, this is a small hotel and there is not the amenities you get in the bigger hotels - ie. gymnasium, pool, buffet breakfast, bars, restaurants etc. There is a restaurant next door which can be accessed from inside the hotel - we didn't use it so can't comment. Loads of cafes, bars, shops etc etc close by. If you want a value for money hotel in a great city location, this is it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenwayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel is in a great location, we stayed here when going to watch Carols in the Domain. Its only about a 15 minute walk to the Domain which is great. And the balcony gave us a great view of the fireworks. Although its small, the balcony can fit two people (standing room only) comfortably however you unfortunately have the air conditioning unit in your ear. The kitchen and bathroom were great, as was the bedroom.
If you request a parking space for your car you are allocated a space when you arrive by buzzing a small box in the driveway. They instruct you a spot eg 'C7.' This is fine except the average sedan has trouble maneuvering around the sharp corners and into the tiny spaces which the car park provides. You're understandably required to leave your keys with reception however this does prove frustrating when you need to use or access your car during very early or late hours as the desk is often unattended.
The real thing that lets this hotel down is the service received from staff. There is just no warmth to them. In my experience we were treated as a transaction and nothing more. I had to ask to have my booking confirmation emailed to me and although you can access your car at any time they do tend to treat you as an inconvenience.

Apart from the carpark and the service this hotel is actually a pretty good find.
I'm not sure its quite worth the money but I guess you're paying for the location.

Room Tip: Specifically ask for a balcony room. Levels 5 - 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I've been using this hotel for regular business trips (3 days per week) for January.

I was about to book for 3 nights per week for the next few months, but after the way the supposed manager on duty spoke to me this morning I am reconsidering this.

On check-in, I was disappointed that the toilet had been used AND NOT CLEANED prior to my arrival. Despite notifying staff, this wasn't fixed the next day either! The night manager came up to the room and cleaned it himself when I raised it for the second time, to his credit.

On check-out, I was given some grief by the duty manager and the receptionist about leaving my vehicle in the car park for the day. I raised the dirty toilet issue and was accused by the manager of making it up. I informed her I had photos and she replied with "Well, you can have your little photos..."

Needless to say I left before my normally reasonable tolerance level for fools was reached.

Appalling attitude that probably just cost this business about 30 room nights.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MattNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

The room was spacious, very clean and with a nice view. The Continental breakfast was okay but i missed my Vegemite. The light switch did not work properly but was okay for the night. The bathroom was lovely and clean. Even though i realise that parking is at a premium in Elisabeth Street it was slightly annoying that we could not park underneath the hotel. As we are fit people, walking three blocks with our luggage to our car park was not an issue for us. People with little kids or elderly people would find this a bit hard. Also, driving into one of the parking spaces below to unload our car we found that our car hardly fitted. It is a 4x4 but not a huge one. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to our friends.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#50 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Property: Hyde Park Inn
Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing