We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay with parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyde Park Inn
Ranked #46 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Was a great place to stay.
Room was perfect for 3 adults, with a queen bed and a single bed. On site parking was included in the price of the room. The carpark is very tight which is fine for small cars but if you drive a large car/SUV it might be better to ask to park at the multi level at the end of the block. This carpark is also included in the room price.
Was surprised to discover breakfast was included and in the room on our arrival. It consisted of toast, cereal, fruit, juice & tea/coffee.
Check in and check out went smoothly and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend to family & friends.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aims79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    436
    99
    37
    19
See reviews for
333
296
52
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Loved this hotel - I went econo with a room at the back (no view). However rooms were spotless and staff very attentive & helpful. Nice size desk (I had work to do) and TV. Very quiet and great location next to the park. Short walk to Circular Quay and Darling Harbor.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the park would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRL1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avoca Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you want fancy smanchy, this is not for you. There is no bar, restaurant or gym. But the location is excellent, the staff at reception friendly and competent, and the rooms look like they were renovated yesterday: large enough, stylish and very clean. Plus a view of Hyde Park.

The price is probably the cheapest of any respectable Sydney CBD hotel, and includes parking, WiFi, a newspaper, and a light breakfast supplied in the kitchenette. There were spare pillows and blankets. There was even ice in the fridge.

The hotel is opposite Museum Station, and within walking distance of Central Station, Chinatown and the Cook and Philip swimming pool.

If you don''t travel for the indulgence of your hotel, this could suit you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the Hyde Park Inn for 2 nights over the past weekend. I booked a family room via Quickbeds. After reading reviews on Trip Advisor, I called to see if I could upgrade to a balcony room, which I had read was recommended. I spoke to a lady who said I could for an extra $33 per night. No problems. We checked in on Friday night and liked the look of our room - until we saw the balcony. A tiny platform dominated by an air conditioning unit. You can barely fit 2 people on it. We had a lovely view of the park, however.

When checking in, Bernard took my $50 deposit and made no mention of the extra cost for the upgrade. When I saw the tiny balcony, I assumed we would not be charged extra for a tiny platform. Maybe my expectations were too high.

The room itself was serviceable, small kitchen, had to call down for a bottle opener and a cutting knife. Bread for toast seemed a bit stale, but the breakfast was included and adequate. The pillows were terribly hard and I ended up using one of the large green pillows to sleep on. Beds not too hard, not too soft.

The position is great, walking distance to shops and the quay. Double glazing was useful.

When we went to check out, I spoke to a lady called Marsha. I said I was not keen on paying an extra $33 per night for a small platform that masqueraded as a balcony. I mentioned that Bernard had not said anything about the extra cost when we checked in, so I assumed we did not have to pay for this "upgrade". Marsha indicated I was lying (in not so many words) which I did not appreciate at all.

Marsha was quite unpleasant to deal with. She asked why I did not mention the balcony issue when I checked in, and now I have "used the product" and complain. She said I could have complained at check in and she could have sold "the product" to someone else.

Maybe if she had been a bit nicer about it, I would not have got my back up. But she was simply unpleasant and not a nice representation of your staff, especially on the front desk. All in all, a bitter end to a reasonably enjoyable hotel experience. Can't say I'll be back in a hurry.

Room Tip: be prepared to pay money for a crappy balcony room that is really not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Booked 2 apartments (one quin sharing and another quad sharing) for our family of 9, upon the recommendation of a cousin who is based in Sydney from May 15 to 20.

I initially had some hesitation about booking at Hyde Park Inn after reading several reviews on TA. However, we decided to make a go for it after our searches were not very fruitful. We specifically wanted apartments that had cooking facilities to cut down on food costs and wanted one in the city to save on travel costs due to the proximity to attractions & public transport.

Hyde Park Inn was a pleasant surprise. It is in a good location, just across the street from Hyde Park and walking distance to St. Mary's Cathedral, the Australian Museum, QVB, Town Hall, and a train station. We had a wide range of restos to choose from on days when we chose to eat out. There was a nearby Woolworth's which was convenient too.

Check-in was smooth and uneventful. The people at the front desk were efficient and helpful. Due to a mix-up in bringing our luggage to our rooms, a huge book of maps which was lent to us was inadvertently left on the luggage trolley. But no worries - It was found several hours after we reported it to the front desk. We had wanted adjacent rooms but were assigned rooms across opposite ends presumably because those rooms were the largest.

The rooms were simple, sparse, a bit tired (one of the drawer pulls in room 907 was missing & the carpet had a burn mark from a previous occupant using the iron on the floor) but nonetheless, clean and adequate. There was ample space for the number of suitcases we had for each apartment. We were given rooms on the 9th floor which had views of Hyde Park & the ANZAC War Memorial. The tiny balcony was an option for one who wanted to look out to the park. Not sure if the rooms were cleaned every day although there was some semblance of someone having entered our rooms because the beds were done each morning and towels folded. The bathroom was adequate although the shower area was quite cozy. We were supplied with shampoo & hand soap. Our towels were changed every day even if we hung them on the towel racks for reuse (as stated in their notice).

The kitchens of our 2 apartments had a different supply of dining and cooking needs. For instance our room did not have any pitcher while our 2nd apartment did not have microwavable serving bowls. There were not enough utensils for the number of people assigned to each room though. Fortunately, we had 2 apartments so we shared the resources. The good news is that the stove top, microwave and fridge work.

Every day we were given a supply of milk, juice, coffee, tea, fruits in cups, bread, jams, peanut butter, butter & vegemite for breakfast. These were adequate on days when we were in a rush to go out.

Check-out was fast & efficient.

If there is a point of improvement it would be in the area of housekeeping. The sliding door (leading to the balcony) of one of our apartments (room 901) was left open (presumably by housekeeping) while we were out. It caused considerable concern for us of course. We would have preferred to get feedback about the incident from the front desk, housekeeping or security after we reported it but did not get any. Fortunately nothing was taken. Perhaps it was an advantage that we were on the ninth floor.

Overall we were satisfied with our accommodations. It is a good option for families or for people travelling in a group who would like to have the option of cooking in. The location, as I said, was good, close to the train station and some attractions. It is not pretentious nor does it claim to be more than what it is. It is a practical option for smart travellers and in my opinion, good value for money.

Room Tip: Request for rooms on higher floors and facing Hyde Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luzonersseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I enquired originally through the Stayz site. My enquiry was answered promptly, and as they only had a room with three beds left, they offered a roll away and breakfast for the 4th person at no extra charge. The room was large, with a seating area, and teeny kitchen, with a microwave, toaster etc. The beds, including the roll away were comfy, not too hard!!, which is almost a miraculous occurrence!, and everything was nice and clean. Our check in and out, while not particularly friendly, was efficient.
The brekky included consisted of 2 pieces of bread (to toast) butter and a selection of spreads (not enough vegemite though!!!!), a little cereal and milk, an OJ cup, and a fruit tub.
As we didn't have a car, and 2 moany teenagers who think walking is a form of torture, the central location was perfect. 20 minutes to circular key, and 15 min to darling harbor.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hope454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We booked online and asked for a room with a bathtub since we had been camping for awhile and wanted to pamper ourselves. When we checked in,the staff attendant, Kathy, assured us we had a bathtub but when we got up to room, it had no bathtub. We called downstairs but she insisted our room had a tub and when we insisted it did not , Kathy the front desk girl said there were no rooms left with a tub when we had asked for it on our reservation. But the worst part was right after we entered our room and closed the door, the doorbell rang and then immediately a man who stocked the minibar came in without us having a chance to ask or see who he was. He just walked to the minibar and put in some juice and bread and stuff and then walked out. So he just walked in without our permission and had used his master key.Who does not wait for a reply? Kind of scary if we had been undressing. Then the bathtub incident and also lots of dust on table with DVD.But great location if you like showers, dusty tables and a man barging in to put food in the minibar.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czechpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#50 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Central Business District
Primus Hotel Sydney
Primus Hotel Sydney
#10 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Property: Hyde Park Inn
Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing