We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location but needs to be improved” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyde Park Inn
Ranked #46 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good location but needs to be improved”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Good location, rooms look nice and breakfast every day. On the down side some staff not at all friendly. House keeping didn't check when they changed sheets and sent off my nighty with sheets. Found a cockroach in my room, check inn took a long time. No soap or anything was in room I had to ask as it wasn't checked before i checked in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shell m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    434
    99
    37
    19
See reviews for
332
294
52
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here in January 2014 for two nights prior to a cruise. Great location for the trains and supermarket close. Light continental breakfast was a bonus and handy to all attractions. Overall, good choice!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank culturaldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Good central location. Large room. Clean and well equipped. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast provided in the room fridge is pretty elementry, but stops you going hungry. Italian restaurant attached to hotel was handy after a long journey.

Room Tip: Book one with a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theRMB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Victoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Booked a two bedroom apartment through booking.com for a fantastic price and was very very pleased with the hotel. Check-in was fast and efficient, room was huge and very well equipped. I stayed with my two boys and having three TV's was a god-send. Room was immaculately clean.

The light continental breakfast, whilst very basic, was really handy.

The location is just fantastic, about a minute's walk from Museum station.

The room had no opening windows, only opaque glass in the wall, however this was clearly stated in the description and I wasn't there for the views!

My only suggestion for improvement is that there be a soap dispenser at the bath tub, as there was only soap dispensers in the shower and hand basin, which meant I had to put the liquid soap into a glass for the boys to use. There is no individual soap cakes provided.

I would most certainly recommend this hotel to anyone, and it is very friendly!

Thanks Hyde Park Inn!

Room Tip: If you want a view, be sure to make sure you get a room with clear windows. Otherwise you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
197 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The pictures on web are attractive. The price and location are good. So I booked a basic standard room for two nights. I never imagined that the room has no windows. The room with view costs 50AUS more and the manager said not available. I think they should clarify the room condition clearly for potential customers. If I know this, I would not choose this room. Room is though not uncomfortable but in the refrigerator, previous guests' food remained. For budget travelers, this hotel may be a good value. But if you can afford extra dollars, I would recommend higher standard of rooms at least or somewhere else. Regards Hiro

Room Tip: Ask if they have windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gehararigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were really happy with our recent stay here. The location was ideal. Close to everything, 2 min walk to train station. (This is handy after a huge day walking and all you want to do when you get off the train is get back to your hotel quickly) 7/11 close by. The room was very clean, quite spacious and having the kitchenette was very handy. Beds comfortable. The breakfast supplied was appreciated. Looking over Hyde park was nice and it was a great place to walk through or sit and have a coffee. Worth having a look at the memorial in the park. We walked to the Sydney Eye tower, darling harbour and enjoyed the Pitt street mall etc.Best coffee discovered at Workshop Espresso (500 George Street) Lovely walk to the Botanic gardens too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SweetSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

we were pleasantly surprised at this value for money motel. parking, breakfast and free wifi included and a lovely view of Hyde Park. walking distance of everything. the room was spotless and very comfortable. will definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sammccaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#50 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Property: Hyde Park Inn
Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing