We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Ranked #105 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay here”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed in a studio room which was falling apart. There was a hole in the bathroom wall, the room had an awful smell, the aircon was so old and noisy I couldn't sleep and the control panel had buttons missing, neither bed side lamps worked and one was hanging off the wall, there were no batteries in the tv remote, the tea towel was damp and foisty and the windows were so dirty you could hardly see out of them. For $160 a night it was a rip off and I got about 3 hours sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honestopinion167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting a review.
We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and that you were not sufficiently accommodated by our staff. We are committed to providing the highest level of service and delivery and therefore your comments are of real concern to us and will be followed up with staff. Again we apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We appreciate your valuable feedback and do hope you will afford us the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.


Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    232
    193
    104
    116
See reviews for
154
231
72
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had a week in room 1501, studio apartment, overlooking the car park. The room was quiet, very clean and recently renovated. The floor above was the rooftop pool and spa. The air conditioning worked very well and we had no problems with the lift. The staff were extremely polite and helpful, especially Matthew. The apartments are well located, within walking distance to the harbour or catch the 555 shuttle bus in George St, 2 blocks away. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor, room 1501, excellent studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, General Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting the feedback.

It was great to know that you enjoyed your stay in one of or refurbishement apartment.

Matt has been integral part of our team and has been oustanding as well in his great guest service skills!!.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Ups- Good Location, Courteous Staff
Downs- Pathetic Rooms and amenities, Only wired net access in rooms, Miserable lifts which break down regularly. Oaks groups properties in Melbourne are much better.

Room Tip: Much better options available in Sydney for same price range
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acute_traveller_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for posting the review.

I have noted that the rooms and the staff were up to standard as expected from Oaks Group.

The lift and the other common areas will be refurbished during the year as scheduled.

Again, thanks for your comments and we do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to experience our newly upgraded areas.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. Hotel a little dated, but that was not a problem due to the great service we received. Tremendous location; had everything we needed in the room and we have to commend Dion on reception the night we arrived -- couldn't have been more helpful. Also because we were seeing the Lion King on Sunday at 1.00 the staff allowed us to leave our car until 4.00 - saved us another parking fee -- naturally can only be done if their carpark is not full. They also allowed us late check out of 11.00 am. All in all -- a great stay - thank you so much. Madeleine and Geoff Broadhurst.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeleine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the posting the feed back.

it is always great to know that our guest fully enjoyed thier stay with us here and our staff were of great service.

I agree that some part of the hotel is bit outdated however this is going to change as much of the hotel will under go refurbishement this year.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed in the oaks Hyde plaza in January 14 for 5 nights. The hotel was very conveniently situated right in the heart of sydney. Hyde park is directly opposite and shopping is just a 10min walk away. It is a very pleasant walk through the park. Museum street station is also very close so easy to get around by train.
My room was beautiful it was very large and the decor was fresh clean. It had everything I needed including a fridge, kettle, cooker, microwave, dishwasher, iron and ironing board. The maids even provided washing up liquid, cloths and tea towels. These were replenished daily as well as tea, coffee, milk etc.
Towels were replaced daily and the bed was made also. I had a huge double bed which was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and also cleaned daily.
I had a large balcony which was great for the smokers amongst us!
There was a pool up on the roof with very comfortable sunloungers. This was lovely to relax after shopping with a nice breeze and a fantastic view.
The hotel was spotlessly clean and very nice helpful staff. The manager was lovely. Everyone was friendly and made me feel at home.
I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone. I have not rated breakfast or spa as I did not use them. However everything was fabulous so would expect these would be too!
There was an airport taxi shuttle provided which was handy and arrived on time.
Thank you to the manager and staff for making my stay such a nice one.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1410.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janiceBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Janice,
Thank you for the lovely feedback.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us here and found everything from room, hotel location and staff were perfect to your liking.

Once again, big thanks from the whole team.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Had recently stayed in Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. Located in the heart of Sydney CBD, very comfortable area for the tourists to hang out. Close to transport, restaurants, parks and water. Optimum level of hospitality. Very affordable.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Japs K,

Thank you for your feedback.

we look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Regards

Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I was back again at oaks, this time I booked 2 bedroom aparment for me and my family. The room was the newly refurbished room with great view of the park.

The new rooms definately have those modern look and suits family and business travellers.

Staff were friendly as usual.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jayjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Jayas,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the apartment and that the location and facilities were desirable for your needs while in Sydney.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Oaks on Castlereagh
#67 of 178 in Sydney
682 reviews
Darlinghurst
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#48 of 178 in Sydney
1,026 reviews
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#126 of 178 in Sydney
2,141 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Hyde Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

Property: Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Address: 38 College St | 38 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Hyde Park Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza is located right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Offering accommodation with views across Hyde Park to the city, this hotel is the perfect location for all travellers. The spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, some with inter-connecting rooms, have separate lounge and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens. Studio suites have tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Hyde Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza Hotel Sydney
Park Plaza Oaks Hyde
Hyde Park Plaza Sydney
Sydney Park Plaza
Park Plaza Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing