We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Needs a little love”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Ranked #113 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great location, very central to most things in Sydney and easy to walk to Surry Hills, the city and even Sydney Harbour. The staff were very helpful upon check-in. The room was spacious and had great views, however the room does need a little TLC.
The elevators were shocking though - really run down and you don't feel that safe.
Overall, an ok experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience here at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza.

It is always great to learn that our guest enjoyed their stay and the staff were of great service.

The location wise, we are well placed for business and liesure travellers, right in the heart of the city.

The other areas you have mentiioned are being looked at and will be rectified at the earliest.

The hotel is scheduled for rennovation early next month which will include replacing the guest lifts as well.

Once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Regards
Manjil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

great service as always. We stayed here for 6 nights. We mostly just slept there but we slept great. The beds & pillows are awesome. The free breakfast was good but very busy. Don't wait till the end go early especially if you want waffles. The hotel was quiet & very convenient. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malocca g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Please visit our website for best available and promotional rate for all your future bookings.

Once again thank you.

Manjil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights with friend & has 2 x 2 bedroom apartment. Our room smelt funny, stains on the floors, in definite need of a good paint & deep clean. Curtains we're stained, walls stained & furniture all scratches & old. We had a constant ticking sound all night which drove me made. The other couples apartment was pretty good. We must have been just given the crap one. Would I stay here again...probably not in a hurry. Good side, location was pretty central bed was comfy for the little time I slept. Staff we're great

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay.
We value your comments as this provides us with an opportunity to improve our products and services constantly in achieving the overall guest experience at our property.
The team at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza would like to extend their sincere apologies regarding the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay.
Contents of your feedback were noted and we have had a closer look at the areas that were highlighted in your comments.
Our hotel is currently going under renovations and we are scheduled to renovate the lobby in early 2014.

Regards
Manjil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Myself and 3 friends stayed here recently for a girls weekend and were shocked with how with found the state of this hotel, we booked a 2 bedroom apartment (that was meant to be newly refurbished) painting a wall doesn't count as a new refurbishment! As we walked into the room we could smell an awful smell so strong it made all of us feel sick - also there was a huge gaping hole where the air-con unit was and it was making a horrid noise, all the vents in the room had water and discolouration coming down them and obvious mould stains that had been painted over, we called the front desk who sent a maintenance man to see if he could fix the problem he came and said it smelt awful too and once he opened a cupboard under the air-con unit the smell was 100 times worse he agreed we couldn't stay here, it definitely had the smell of old mould which is a health hazard.

We went back down to the foyer in the dodgy old lift that opens before it has reached a full stop and the buttons don't light up to a front desk that smells of open sewerage at the best of times - to be told they were full and they could only give us a 1 bedroom deluxe which meant that 2 of us girls had to share a bed a request for the 4 beds was why we booked. The room we were given smelt better although the floor it was on didn't it had the distinct smell of old cigarette smoke. The new room had its issues too the bathroom lights were faulty the phone didn't work and the toilet roll holder just fell off the wall, to go the kitchen to find cockroaches running around just disgusting - we were offered $100 back which is the difference of the rooms cost but it was appalling - we are contacting the department of health to investigate the safety and cleanliness of this hotel.

I did contact the manager of the hotel who said that the $100 discount was a gesture of good will and that he would discount any further stay at this hotel - I will NEVER be going back to this place ever and you should look elsewhere for somewhere to stay its not worth the hassles the staff are lovely but dealing with a very smelly, unclean and tired hotel that would probably be best to be to be knocked down and rebuilt. Not worth any of the money you pay for this place.

Room Tip: Do not even go into room 1100 on the 11th floor its a health hazard and needs to be knocked down!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakes79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting a review.
We appreciate your feedback, however regret that you were not totally satisfied with the hotel.

We are pleased to advise that we are currently undergoing many upgrades around the hotel and this includes our lifts, rooms, pool/spa, to name a few.

We are committed to providing the highest level of service and delivery and therefore your comments are of real concern to us and will be followed up with staff.

Again we apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We appreciate your valuable feedback and do hope you will afford us the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Manjil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The only thing positive about Oaks Hyde Park , is the service i received on the front desk. I cant thank Dion enough for all the effort he went through to make my stay somewhat enjoyable.

Apart from the great service, the hotel is not a place i recommend.

The lifts take forever and have light fittings falling out of the roof. The reception area has a bad smell of vomit or mould.

The room i had to start with had mould on the bath and the carpet was that badly stained i was scared to take my shoes off.

This is not a place to take children either. The pool area is always covered in beer bottles and broken glass.

Highly not recommended and will not return.

Once again thank you dion for your effort.

Room Tip: Stay else where!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WalfordLMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza.

Your experience at the hotel is certainly not reflective of the standard of service and comfort that we strive to offer our guests and we would like to express our sincere apologies for the disappointment this has caused.
It is clear that there has been a slippage in general maintenance of our guest rooms and public areas, however I would like to assure you that we have a strict on going quality control program to prevent such occurrences however it appears that it has been unobserved on this occasion.
We take feedback such as this very seriously and we hope that there will be an opportunity to welcome you back to Oaks Hyde Park Plaza.

Regards
Manjil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Summary:

I stayed here for work recently and quite enjoyed it. It's still a little tired on the outside, but the room I had was First Class, newly refurbished and extremely comfortable and large. Don't be put off by the foyer or elevator which are obviously still to be updated. The Oaks HPP is well worth considering, especially if you opt for a 1BRM Apartment :)

Location:

The Hotel is located where the City ends, and Oxford Street begins so there's a myriad of dining and entertainment options at your doorstep. It's also in a good location for a quick escape back to the airport.

The Room:

I stayed in a newly refurbished 1BRM Apartment which was amazing, quite large and very comfortable

The Staff:

The staff I had contact with were helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: If you can afford it opt for a newly refurbished 1BRM Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Groeneveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience here at Oaks Hyde Park plaza.

Me and my team are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and the room provide was upto the standard that Oaks is well known for.

I agree the foyer and lifts are bit updated howerver we are in the process of refurbishing these areas in the coming months.

Once again, thank you for your time and lookf forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Manjil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. It started off wrong booked the hotel through expedia- don't do this. They promise things they couldn't deliver eg. Price match and free cot hire.

However, to the hotel now- the location is excellent. We walked everywhere we needed to darling harbour, circular quay etc. But if walking isn't for you public transport is Also within a short walking distance.

From the airport a private taxi cost approx $40 .

The reception staff are very helpful and friendly.

The room exceeded our expectations after reading multiple negative reviews.
We stayed on the 9th floor, the room was a newly refurbished one. Clean and tidy with kitchenette and private ensuite.
The rooftop recreation area was great with a view.
Needed a bit of a clean but it has also been renovated.
The pool I don't think was heated even though the signs said it was.

The spa was good area around it renovated too but the spa tiling itself needs a bit of work and looks run down. As do the hallways and the elevator.

Overall, Great place to stay when on a budget.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Quirky03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting the feedback.
We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us here at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza.
The hotel is situated in the heart of sydney CBD with easy access to public transport and in close proximity with all tourist attraction.
The hotel is under going refurbishment which will include all our guest rooms, lobby and the lift.
The pool and spa in the roof top has always been a highlight for all our guest with 350 degree view of the sydney city and the harbour.
Please do visit our website for best deals and accurate hotel information as we do put up promotional and seasonal discounted rate time to time.
Once again, thank you for your post and look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards
Manjil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Oaks on Castlereagh
#79 of 181 in Sydney
786 reviews
Darlinghurst
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 181 in Sydney
4,452 reviews
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#131 of 181 in Sydney
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Hyde Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

Address: 38 College St | 38 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £71 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Hyde Park Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza is located right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Offering accommodation with views across Hyde Park to the city, this hotel is the perfect location for all travellers. The spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, some with inter-connecting rooms, have separate lounge and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens. Studio suites have tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Hyde Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza Hotel Sydney
Park Plaza Oaks Hyde
Hyde Park Plaza Sydney
Sydney Park Plaza
Park Plaza Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing