We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Ranked #102 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Devonport
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surprising value”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I'd stayed here a few times before and love the location, opposite Hyde Park, big windows, sun streaming in, located so well for shopping, restaurants, cafes, trains and entertainment.
The refurbished rooms are as per the photos, very fresh and clean. Great constrasting colours, spacious, well thought out.
Penny at reception is a gem, she worked so hard to get me a room with a view, and was eager to assist with all my needs, She impressed me so much I bought flowers for her !
I didn't see the older rooms, the lifts and passage ways still need the makeover, the pool and spa on the roof have great views, and the gym has a view too.
Overall I had a great stay and would certainly come back again.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the park when booking, and higher up the better to cut out the street noise as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callums_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I am pleased that the location of Oaks Hyde Park Plaza was convenient for your stay and that you found the facilities of your room sufficient.

It is delighting to find that Penny had assisted you in your needs and she appreciated the flowers greatly.

Oaks Hyde Park Plaza is currently undergoing refurbishment and is in a working process to revise the common areas of the building.

Once again we thank you for your positive feedback in regards to your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    225
    189
    103
    115
See reviews for
150
229
68
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denhams Beach
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel was easy to find. Despite heavy traffic we were able to pull into the front of it but then had to reverse a bit to go into their parking area. This is a very tight squeeze for a 4WD. The reception was very efficient and friendly. We had a studio room which was large, modern, clean and comfortable. The view of the skyline was lovely - just don't look down on a flat rooftop with some rubbish on it. I could suggest a soap dish on the bathroom vanity and while there is a big wardrobe, there are no drawers for clothes. There is a very good Thai restaurant attached to the hotel and a bottle shop just around the corner. The location is great. For the price we paid, we would definitely stay again. Hallways look like they could do with a paint!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. I am glad to read that you have found the reception staff efficient and friendly and will certainly pass on your praise to them.

We are currently in the process of renovating Oaks Hyde Park Plaza to uphold the standards in which we strive to achieve.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Oaks Hyde Park Plaza during your next stay in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

This is the FIRST hotel where the staff have "welcomed" me to the hotel, it was a very nice surprise , so many hotels could learn from the staff at this hotel...10/10. The room was big,very clean,great bed,good bathroom,some noise from room above but no big deal. The location is fantastic, train station close by and many places to eat.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Don1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. Me and my team are really over the moon with your kind words regarding the service provided by us.

Once again, thank you for your comment and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I popped into Sydney for business for a night, and wanted to be near Hyde Park where my meetings would be. My team booked me in to Oaks Hyde Plaza, and I felt a little trepidation when I read reviews here on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasant surprise when I walked in, got a friendly and efficient welcome at reception. I was allocated a refurbished room which was very nice. The room was appropriately decorated and the fittings and furnishings were as new. The kitchenette was spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. For the price I paid it was very good value. I'd say Oaks Hyde Park Plaza was more serviced apartments than a hotel - for example, the in room dining is subcontracted out to an off-site catering and delivery company. However, if you want a clean, competitively priced place to stay in Sydney, this will suffice. Just make sure you get a refurbished room!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimfromCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for providing the feedback on your recent stay.

As you have noticed, we are Serviced apartments with best value for money.

Refurbishment work is in full swing and hopefully get all the rooms upto the standard we are striving for.

The lobby area and other common areas will get a face lift during this year as well.

Once again, thank you for your time and look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is supposedly refurbished but the hallways and common areas need much improvements. Rooms are basic, but we saw a few rooms and some seem great and others not. Front desk is ok, nothing special. Kitchen in rooms had basic tools, beds were pretty uncomfortable. Only selling point is the great location on Hyde Park. I would not stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank merestarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thanks for posting a review.
We appreciate your feedback, however regret that you were not totally satisfied with the hotel. We are pleased to advise that we are currently undergoing many upgrades around the hotel and this includes our lifts, rooms, pool/spa, to name a few.
Contents of your feedback were noted and we have had a closer look at the areas that were highlighted in your comments.
Our hotel is currently going under renovations and we are scheduled to renovate the lobby in early 2014.
Again, thanks for your comments and we do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to experience our newly upgraded areas.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our refurbished one bedroom apartment was just great. The bed was very comfortable with lovely white bedding. The bathroom has the best shower with plenty of hot water and the kitchenette was very roomy and included a dishwasher. The location is perfect. On the crossroads to every where in Sydney. Short train trip to the Quay and buses to everywhere. The staff are absolutely wonderful and couldn't be more helpful. Even though if was noisy outside, inside was surprisingly quiet. Air conditioned for your comfort and two balconies, what a treat. This building is being refurbished and the lobby and lifts are next to be done so don't be put off, it is a great place to stay and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished and on the corner of the building if you like a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting such a great review.

Me and my staff thoroughly enjoyed reading the feedback.

It is always gratifing to know that our guest enjoyed their stay - this is what we are about and what we strive for on daily basis.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and your patronage.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future again.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Excellent stay at the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, would absolutely stay again and we are! Not long after Christmas i booked this hotel for my mother who came to Australia for a holiday. She was so happy with the service and how clean it was.
I've viewed the photographs on here and I have to say that I was appalled to see them as they look like a completely different hotel!
My partner and I were staying on the ninth floor, park view, which i have to stress was pretty impressive. There was a flat screen television in the bedroom as well as the living area but we were able to watch Sydney skyscrapers all lit up from the bed, sofa and kitchen.. no need for tv!
When we were told they had a pool i quickly bought a swim suit and I'm so glad i did! at around 8pm in the dark and in the rain we went swimming in the outside, heated pool and the outside, heated jacuzzi!! both were very clean, very warm and located on the roof!! they had fancy LED lights in the pool and also a sauna.
my parter and I would normally just sleep in a hotel and seek entertainment but our stay at the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza was different. In our room we had a fully equipped kitchen, it even had a digital dishwasher! in saying this we were able to walk 5 mins into the city to buy food instead of going out for dinner we had a romantic dinner in our room with our pleasant views and our own music as i could plug my phone into the iPod doc!
the bed was very comfortable, sheets and pillows where very clean and room was very slick and modern.
I would be extremely happy to stay here again and we most certainly will!

Room Tip: i would prefer a room with a park view but only to see the sydney lights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback, could not have said it much better!!

Me and my team are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The roof top pool, the hotel location and friendly staff and great rooms - This is what we are mostly renowned for.

Once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Oaks on Castlereagh
#70 of 179 in Sydney
670 reviews
Darlinghurst
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#47 of 179 in Sydney
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#126 of 179 in Sydney
2,094 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#73 of 179 in Sydney
3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Hyde Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

Property: Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Address: 38 College St | 38 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Hyde Park Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza is located right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Offering accommodation with views across Hyde Park to the city, this hotel is the perfect location for all travellers. The spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, some with inter-connecting rooms, have separate lounge and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens. Studio suites have tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Hyde Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza Hotel Sydney
Park Plaza Oaks Hyde
Hyde Park Plaza Sydney
Sydney Park Plaza
Park Plaza Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing