We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Ranked #103 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I 100% recommend this hotel as the staff were very helpful, friendly and nice and the room we stayed in was amazing! It was very clean and had access to everything we needed for the week. I'm happy with the daily room service which was very helpful and how the location was just a 10min walk away from every thing we needed to see/ access. The manager was a great help as we were meant to stay somewhere else but they did not pick up there phone. He helped us too one of his rooms which was in great condition and I am very pleased! Best place I have stayed at in a while!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting the review.

Yes, the location, spacious and modern rooms and great views from our rooms and rooftop are the most talked about amonst all our guest.

The ideal city location has a plus point for all travellers planning to explore the great sydney city.

Please do visit our website for best and competitive room rates for all your future bookings and yes Oaks apartments have spread all over Australia -catering to guest such as you!!

Thank you
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    220
    187
    104
    115
See reviews for
147
228
65
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had booked an apartment at another location, and turned up to find that we couldn't stay there, fortunately we bumped into the manager of this hotel and he was very helpful in finding us a room to stay in, and also matched the cheap price we had at the previous apartment. Great location, we were able to walk to most of the places we needed to within half an hour. Room was renovated and well maintained, with a great view. Food from room service wasn't great though.
Staff very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashsherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review.

I am delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us here at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza.

I have passed on your compliments to all my staff members.

Please do contact us directly or check our website if you need to make any room bookings in the future.

Shall look forward to welcome you back again at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our biggest gripe with the hotel is the staff.
1. Getting any sort of room service on the weekends or a public holiday requires patience and fortitude. Our room was not serviced in any way on a public holdiay. After several polite requests at the desk for clean towels, and still none by 7pm we went down once more to be told, there is no service on a public holiday including towels. All I will say is clean towels were delivered to the room within half an hour. Upon check in we were told we would get the room serviced every day. Well come the Saturday, no service nor clean towels by 3pm. Someone did arrive and provide towels prompty. Our bed only got made during the working weeks days, and the bathroom service was patchy.
2. Key to the pool/sauna/gym. One needs an attachment to swipe the locked door. Initially the desk person, said we could collect the necessary disc when we wanted to use the facities and then return it. As being on the 11th floor, this meant a journey down, then a journey back to the room to change, then a journey to the 15th floor, up the stairs, use the facilities and repeat to return the disc. Near the end of the stay I had a full half day free, so requested the disc, only to have it come attached to the plastic key swipe and to use whenever I like. ie. not return it. ummm. Why were we not given the disc to use for the full week we were staying there in the first instance?
3. Shuttle bus to airport. Please if you intend to book this through the hotel, please allow at least ONE HOUR. or more. The half hour that the hotel reception mention is insufficient time. It took us an hour,in non peak traffic, with the international drop off first, not domestic as usual. The shuttle driver was frustrated, as the reception staff continue to mis-inform guests. He has to suggest you take a taxi as with pick ups it is impossible to do the trip in half an hour.

We were not aware that the hotel managed privately owned apartments, and it turned out the one we were in was a privately owned unit. Our unit had great views, and thankfully was high up. It had two large fridge freezer but only one was plugged in. The other took up room. We were told, the owner uses one and the hotel guests the other. There was no dishwasher and no sink plug that fitted the hole, which made washing dishes interesting, once we got sufficient dish washing liquid. We had a washing machine but no laundry powder, but did have dishwasher powder.

The unit does need attention. The carpet, and the bathroom are tired and old. It looks like some work has started as there was a pot of paint in one of the kitchen cupboards. The kitchen units obviously came from somewhere else. The washing machine, fridge, oven, microwave and TV were all modern and worked well. For the price we paid, we found the unit satisfactory and the view over Hyde Park great.

Room Tip: High up, and overlooking the park to get some sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay.
We value your comments as this provides us with an opportunity to improve our products and services constantly in achieving the overall guest experience at our property.
The team at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza would like to extend their sincere apologies regarding the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay.
Contents of your feedback were noted and we have had a closer look at the areas that were highlighted in your comments.
Our hotel is currently going under renovations and we are scheduled to renovate the lobby in early 2014.
It is clear that there has been a slippage in general maintenance of our guest rooms and public areas, however I would like to assure you that we have a strict on going quality control program to prevent such occurrences however it appears that it has been unobserved on this occasion.
We take feedback such as this very seriously and we hope that there will be an opportunity to welcome you back to Oaks Hyde Park Plaza.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here last week. The location is right next to Hyde Park and walking distance to museum train station. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel is overdue for a renovation think they may have started but our apartment smelt like smoke when we arrived they came up and sprayed air fresher didn't do much. The walls need a paint job and had broken tiles and taps in bathroom. The lifts sounded like they could breakdown at any moment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kelstar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank your for prioviding us the feedback as it does provies us the oppurtinity to reflect and resolve any service realted issues and guest satisfaction.

I acknowledge that some part of the Hotel is due for refurbishment and Yes we are currently looking at it and the refurbishment work is scheduled from early next month.

All guest rooms are in process of being rennovated and is nearing completion then we will start with the other common areas.

Refurbishment takes time just so that we ensure there is minimal noise disturbance to our guest.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and looke forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed in one of the privately owned apartments on and off for a month in April/May.

I can't say anything about the rooms that belong to the hotel but regardless, the location is very central. Half an hour walk to the harbour, Museum metro stop a couple of minutes by foot, lots of shops and restaurants close by in Darlinghurst and Surry Hills.

Public places shabby and dated, including the rooftop pool area but the views over the Hyde Park compensate for that.

Staff very professional and super fiendly, Margaret, Jitendra and especially Penny made a 3 star budget accommodation feel like 5 star.

Would and probably will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Park side with great views. The hotel is in the busy corner of College and Oxford so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTK595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a lovely feedback.

it is always great to know that our guest enjoyed thier stay here at Hyde Park Plaza.

The building is undergoing refurbishment through out this year to upgrade the common areas such as lifts, foyer and corridors.

The refurbishment will be carried out without minimal disturbance to our guest and private tenants alike.

For future bookings, please do visit our website for best and competitive room rates, otherwise please call Hotel directly.

Thank you
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I booked Oaks Hyde Park hotel due to a good price offered, and also its position which was an easy stroll into the heart of Sydney's shopping district. Because of the special price I was advised it wouldn't be a refurbished room, but on arrival I was immediately told I would be upgraded to a refurbished suite with a king size bed. Despite the hallways and lifts being a bit old and tired, the room was spacious, clean and quiet with new bathroom and kitchenette. Receptionist was most helpful and cheerful, offering me advice on breakfast and directions.
I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vandorsalfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting such a great review.

it is great to know that our guest enjoyed thier stay with us here at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza.

We do provide a central location, modern and chic apartment at a very reasonable rate.

Some part of our Hotel are going under rennovation, which includes the lobby, lifts and hallaway and will be completed by the end of the year.

This refurbishment will definatley add a jewel to our crown and something to look forwarding to - for guest and us staff alike.

For all your future booknigs, do check our website and ensure bookings are done are well in advance and keep an eye for special offers!!

Once again, thank you for your review.

Regards

Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed in a 2BR apartment with friends last weekend and enjoyed our stay but not feeling like we would want go back. Friendly desk staff but the lifts and corridors were dated and the smell in the corridors was unpleasant and overpowering (old, musty and like Indian food, even though we love Indian food!)
Our apartment was updated including a new kitchen and bathroom and had nice views but the shower was a pain to use (took ages for the cold to kick in and the pressure was weak). The location was great as it was a was a 10 second walk to Oxford St and 15 m walk to Circular Quay. We arranged an 11am checkout but the cleaner wasn't told so she started cleaning while we were out for breakfast. The cleaner found our bags in our rooms and left an apology note for us when we got back (excellent!).
Overall, we expected a more modern apartment for the price we paid but the location and staff were great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting the review.

We are delighted to learn that your stay was great as anticipated.

The room rates are determined by demand and competitior's room rate, however the differnt room type have room rates reflective of its standard.

For your future bookings, I would advise you to book in advance as rates often go up closer to the date.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Oaks on Castlereagh
#68 of 178 in Sydney
651 reviews
Darlinghurst
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#49 of 178 in Sydney
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#73 of 178 in Sydney
2,974 reviews
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#124 of 178 in Sydney
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Hyde Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

Property: Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Address: 38 College St | 38 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Hyde Park Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza is located right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Offering accommodation with views across Hyde Park to the city, this hotel is the perfect location for all travellers. The spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, some with inter-connecting rooms, have separate lounge and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens. Studio suites have tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Hyde Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza Hotel Sydney
Park Plaza Oaks Hyde
Hyde Park Plaza Sydney
Sydney Park Plaza
Park Plaza Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing