We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not worth the money paid..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Ranked #103 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, not worth the money paid..”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I live in Sydney, my mother flew in from Hobart, Tasmania to come and visit for the weekend 16/08 -18/08 and needed a hotel for the two nights. The Oaks was chosen based on availability, price and location. She paid around $400 in total for the 2 night stay, Sat and Sunday night. Check in was Sat afternoon, she was placed on the 15th floor, the top floor of the hotel. She had booked a Queen Size Studio room as I was going to stay with her.

The room had a small double bed only, the walls were filthy dirty! There were hand prints and marks on nearly every wall. There was a massive crack in the wall near the front door right up into the roof. There were scuff marks along most of the walls also. We were really dissappointed, this was not $200 per night value. The only good thing about the room was the large terrace balcony over looking Hyde Park.

We went down to reception to advise the bed was a small double, only just big enough for the two of us, (lucky we are quite small framed, otherwise it wouldn't have been) of the dirty room and crack in the wall. We were told they were quite booked for the Sat night but could upgrade to a refurbished room for the Sunday night, which we accepted. The bed was average at best and the next morning the shower also broke, the hot water tap fell off.

Sunday afternoon we returned to the hotel and were re assigned a room on the 7th floor. This was a much nicer room! It had a large queen size bed, refurbished kitchen and bathroom and nice carpet. The walls were clean and looked freshly painted. This was worth the money and had we been assigned this room to start with there would not have been any complaints.

A tip for anyone wanting to stay at this hotel, upon booking make sure you ask for a refurbished room!!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time in sharing your review of your recent stay at the Hotel. I was most concerned to read of your overall disappointment and sicerelly apologies that we did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is truly valuable and this allows us to review our service and product as such I have followed up on the isuues you mentioned with our Housekeeping Manager to address accordingly.

i am pleased however that staff were able to move you to one of our refurbished apartment the next day. I would like to futher advise you that all our 3 stars apartments will be refurbished soon including the one you were in the first night.

Once again, our apologies for the lapse in our standard on this occassion and trust you will see a marked improvement on your next stay with us.

Regards

Manjil Dhungana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    220
    187
    104
    115
See reviews for
147
228
65
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

It was really an awsome experience with OAKS Hyde park Plaza . Specially I want to thank toMr Jiten Koirala and Miss Margret . The Hotel facility was really appreciable . I want to suggest if people are oing for a vacation with their family I will suggest to stay in OAKS .

Room Tip: Go For the suit if you are going with your family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to share your experience of the Hotel.

Such a delight to read your positive comments and I am most pleased you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

I have also conveyed to Jit and Margaret your kind words of the friendly and helpful service you received.

I trust you had a lovely trip and look forward to the oppurtunity of welcoming you back in the neare future

Thank You
Manjil Dhungana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have stayed at the Oaks on Hyde park several times in the last 6 months and will keep staying there whenever I'm in Sydney as I can't fault the staff, location and facilities ! The rooms are always immaculate, the staff are friendly and ready to help and the location is fantastic as it's only a short distance to all Sydney has to offer. I am so glad I have found an establishment that I can rely on for a great experience, time and time again !!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Paul,
Thank you for your continued patronage at the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza and taking your time in sharing your review.
I am most delighted you enjoy your stays with us and in particulary find our staff helpful and welcoming.

It is always a pleasure to read that we have provide exceptional service, and we are looking forward to your return in due course.

Regards

Manjil Dhungana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

we have good experience when we stayed there. started with the location-very centralised, friendly front desk, clean and beautiful room with city view. all perfect.
all Staff is very helpfull to provide facilities inside the room. you do not need to worry about transport as the public transport is few steps away from the hotel. or you just walk it to everywhere in city. no regrets...

Room Tip: new refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sulisjioe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza.

I am most delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and found our facilities of excellent standard.

Thank you for your positive feedback and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Manjiil Dhungana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the Oaks Hyde Plaza over the last weekend and the service was wonderful.
Front office staffs greeted us on check-in and made us feel very welcome. Whilst we were to early to check-in we were able to store our luggage in the meantime.

We stayed in the room which was newly refurbished. It was gorgeous with simple decor but had the view of the park.

I would definitely recommend giving Oaks Hyde Park Plaza a go. Only if you do, request a park view it's beautiful in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking your time in sharing your review. I am delighted to hear of your enjoyable stay and you found our services and facilities up to the standard.

Our staff are also honoured by your kind words and are pleased that they made your stay enjoyable.

Thank You

Manjil Dhungana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I came over to Sydney for a business trip and a friend had recommended this place to me, I was glad i took her advice as the hotel had great service, a convenient location and a wonderful view from my room. The rooms are worth their money and overall I had a nice, enjoying and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aryamanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,
It is always pleasing to read of our guests enjoying the service and facilities the hotel has to offer.

We take pride in ensuring high standard and guest satisfaction, and our staff are very appriciative of your recognition of their amazing service.

The hotel is perfect for short and long city stay for business and leisure travels alike with our convinient location.

Once again, thank you for your sharing your experience and look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Regards

Manjil Dhungana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I was at Oaks during the city to surf marathon. front office staff Jit was kind enough to check me in early as I arrived at nine in the morning.
the room had recently been renovated with all modern comfort.
next day the staff help me again to store my luggage until the evening.
overall I had a great stay and will be back again!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Magictarakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting such a lovely review.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza.

I have also conveyed to the staff your kind words of the friendly and helpful service you received.

I look forward to the oppurtunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Manjil Dhungana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Oaks on Castlereagh
#68 of 178 in Sydney
651 reviews
Darlinghurst
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#49 of 178 in Sydney
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#73 of 178 in Sydney
2,975 reviews
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#124 of 178 in Sydney
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Hyde Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

Property: Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Address: 38 College St | 38 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Hyde Park Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza is located right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Offering accommodation with views across Hyde Park to the city, this hotel is the perfect location for all travellers. The spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, some with inter-connecting rooms, have separate lounge and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens. Studio suites have tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Hyde Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza Hotel Sydney
Park Plaza Oaks Hyde
Hyde Park Plaza Sydney
Sydney Park Plaza
Park Plaza Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing