We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here a while back, but it was AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #26 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Stayed here a while back, but it was AMAZING!”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Stayed here for our honeymoon and the service and accommodations were amazing! Celebrities and dignitaries typically stay here if that is any inclination of its caliber.

Don't miss out on the location and accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peakprfrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Thank you for your review, it is great to know you enjoyed every aspect of InterContinental Sydney.

Thank you again.

Yours sincerely
Fred Matti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,438
    1,264
    387
    134
    94
See reviews for
728
1,855
229
900
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, MI
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

It was just a 8-10 minute walk (downhill) to the Opera House. It was about 10-12 minutes to Campbell's Cove (lots of places to eat). The rooms were big and nice. The staff was nice and very helpful. They even booked a time slot for The Bridge Climb.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Your review is greatly appreciated, thank you.

Location is great and pleasing to know our staff impressed you.

Yours sincerely
Fred Matti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We love this hotel , its location , its view and most times its staff. Some rooms are a little tired but that's ok.
The club room is fantastic with great views and worth the extra money. However our last trip we found the service a little under what we were use too. Forgotten drinks was the main problem. I am also an ambassador member which give entitlements such as free bottled water and fruit.. These were forgotten as well. Mentioned it at check out but was met with the usual i will tell someone important. We will go back as we do like but it needs to improve back to the standard they were before.

Room Tip: Book early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We do hope you have received our private message requesting further information to enable us to follow up on your feedback.

We do hope overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and do hope you will return.

Yours sincerely
Fred Matti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The Intercontinental has the best location, in the midst of everything but in a quiet block of Sydney. One block to the Circular Quay, easy access to the fabulous public transit systems in Sydney- ferries, buses and trains are one block away. The rooms are nice, the views of the harbor fabulous and the help is top notch. Cheap eats note - the AMP retail plaza across Phillip St. is open for breakfast and lunch take away or in the cafeteria style seats.

Room Tip: be an intercontinenatl frequent stay program membr
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorthHaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Where to next?
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Although the architecture of the hotel is interesting (modern tower block built on top of a historical low-rise palace-like building), it looks decidedly 80s, and thus dated. The dated feel carries into the rooms. The phones, or instance, are ancient. And luxury hotels these days do NOT have shower curtains, because they always look slightly dirty.
The breakfast room is uninspiring, but the food is decent. The lobby bar is not particularly interesting, but the atmosphere is cozy because it is in the old part of the building.
It should be said that the Intercontinental Sydney's top-floor pool probably has the best view of any pool in the world; right over the Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. The pool is small though, so don't expect to do any laps in it. The gym is also quite small, and you might find it difficult to get a machine to work out on at certain times.
The location is the best part of this hotel, only a five minute walk down to the Opera House and the harbour. Apart from the restaurants down by the harbourside there aren't really any restaurants in close proximity to the hotel, and as it is surrounded by office blocks, there is a bit of a desolate feel to the neighbourhood in the evening.
I'll probably try a different hotel next time I am in Sydney.

Room Tip: Get a harbour-view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Back_to_Sandringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Please rest assured that we do take great pride in providing the best possible service to our guest's at all times and I do hope we achieved this.

With regards to location, we are within a very pleasant walking distance to "The Rocks" with many restaurants being available within the vicinity of the Harbour. It is a shame that you did not discover this. Our Concierge is very happy to suggest restaurants located close to the hotel.

Overall I do hope that you had an enjoyable stay and will consider returing to InterContinental Sydney.

Yours sincerely
Fred Matti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Wow, we loved the Intercontinental. The room was superb, along with the view. We did not close the curtains. The breakfast downstairs was one of the best, and if they did not have it on display, just ask and you will receive. I ordered the eggs benedict, and I was not disappointed, my husband had the eggs, bacon, tomatoes and mushrooms, all cooked very nicely. We could not fit in the pancakes, but they looked divine. The turn down service at night offers a nice chocolate on the pillow, and a quick tidy of the room. The front desk staff and porters are excellent, Well done Intercontinental, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie88Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Your review was certainly enjoyable to read and I thank you for this.

It is pleasing to know that we achieved what we set out to do daily and that is provide our guests with a memorable stay.

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming your return in the very near future.

Yours sincerely
Fred Matti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The hotel was clean and comfortable, and lived up to expectations. The room had great views and was spacious. The bar in the central covered courtyard area is also a nice place for a drink and to meet people, and the breakfast were good. Used the gym too which was a good extra.

On the down side, there was no free wi-fi which should be a standard in hotels, especially good ones. The concierge was helpful during our stay, but was not very good at coming back to us on our questions when he said he would - and a response to a query I made in advance of the stay by email was poor.

Overall, a nice enough place to stay but nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank js9530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback via Tripadvisor.

Our Chief Concierge has been advised of your comments and extends his sincerest apologies for failing to provide information to you. Thank you for alerting us to this.

With regards to WiFi, our prices are very in line with other hotels and we do have WiFi available in our ground floor area as well as first floor and also our Club InterContinental.

We do hope overall you stay was enjoyable and look forward to your return.

Yours sincerely
Fred Matti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
6,339 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Property: InterContinental Sydney
Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing