We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always impresses me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #28 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I was thrilled to be able to check in 2 hours early as I had a wedding to get ready for, and as an Ambassador I was upgraded to the eastern harbour view room - on the 23rd floor, which afforded me a gorgeous view including part of the Opera House. As I was getting ready a lady from guest relations arrived with a bowl of fruit, mineral water and a bottle of red, on the house. Always a lovely touch.

The room was spotless and well equipped. My only gripe is the lack of ipod dock. The TV radio channels lacked any upbeat "getting ready to party" music, so a dock would have been handy.

Upon my return to the hotel at midnight, the turndown service staff had placed more comp water beside my bed and a bucket of ice near the mini bar- perhaps they noticed what I had consumed prior to leaving for the wedding and thought I might need it ;-)

The room was oh so quiet, which was much appreciated the next morning when I awoke with a sore head. A quick call to reception ensured my 4pm late check out was noted on my reservation. When I did check out it was fast and efficient. The only sting being the $150 odd mini bar bill - oops.

The IC Sydney will remain my number one choice when visiting.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank invisigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Absolute pleasure to read your review and it is so pleasing to know we are your number one choice of hotel in Sydney. Thank you.

We do always to try accommodate our guests needs and I am very pleased we were able to provide you with an early check in as well as extending to you all those other little touches that do make a big difference.

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming your return to InterContinental Sydney.

Yours sincerely

Fred Matti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,623 - 3,629 of 4,553 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in October mainly for the excellent location close to Circular Quay. Although I didn't have any complaints about the room or service, my overall experience fell a great deal short of expectations for a 5 star hotel with the Intercontinantal badge as previously experienced in other Intercon. hotels. The room was fine, the bathroom a tad dated, the service OK, but for the money not worth it. On a plus side however the buffet breakfast was lovely having a large range of organic options which was much appreciated. However the long wait for a table, then for coffee to be delivered and then waiting again at each food station was annoying. I don't think I'll be coming back as there are plenty of other better value 5 star hotels in as good a location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTJ058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you for writing your review and I do hope overall your stay with us was enjoyed.

Your comments with regards to service in our resturant has been shared with our Director of Food & Beverage, thank you for letting us know.

I understand there are other hotels in Sydney for you to choose from however, I do hope you will reconsider and return once again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Fred Matti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My partner and I were lucky enough to stay at the Intercontinental Sydney for 5 nights in September. We arrived at 7am after a 21 hour flight and were booked straight into our Eastern Harbour view room, and what a view that room had! The hotel is in a fantastic location, we do not think we could have been closer to everything, The Botanical Gardens, Opera House, Circular Quay, Harbour Bridge.The room was spotless and very quiet.Breakfast in The Opera restaurant was amazing with such a great selection, Room service was also fantastic! All of the staff were so friendly and more than helpful, The concierge, restaurant and cleaning staff are a real asset to the hotel. We hope we are lucky enough to be able to return again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparky354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you very much for your review and I am most pleased to know your 5 nights with us was thoroughly enjoyed.

We do try to accommodate early arriving guests and I am pleased occupancy allowed us to do this for you.

I too hope you will return to us very soon to enable you to once again enjoy InterContinental Sydney.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely
Fred Matti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

A warm welcome and pleasant staff, but do not expect an early check in, even if you have flown for 24 hours to get to Sydney: the hotel will charge another night. Rooms are excellent and we were fortunate to be upgraded to Opera House view - amazing - where I could see my office across the water. Very clean, as you would expect, and a great location for business and vacation - bring a short walk to Circular Quay.

Room Tip: If you need early check in, book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am sorry we were unable to provide you with an early check in on this occasion. We certainly do try to accommodate all guests who arrive early morning, however with guests departing at 11am and rooms requiring to be serviced for 3pm check in, this can prove to be difficult when the hotel is at full occupancy.

I am pleased though that overall your stay was enjoyed and you will be returning to us again soon.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Fred Matti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

From check in I was greeted quickly and my room was ready very early which was a bonus, The room was clean and spacious, the amenities were first class. They had no problem sending ice up to the room without an additional cost to do so. The views were second to none from our eastern harbourside room and the views from the pool on the top floor are probably the best from any hotekl in sydney.
The staff are friendlyl well dressed and professional, nothing was too much trouble at any time,they even opened up the business centre and internet free of charge and assisted me trying to find out what was happening with my qantas flight.
They could get a cab in under a minute, no fluke as we cuaght 5 cabs in the 4 days there and each time it was pulling up seconds later. They even delivered a complimentary bottle of wine as we were celebrating a special occassion.
The location was excellent, walking distance to the rocks and the ferry, Harbour bridge, waterfront restaturant, opera house, IGA supermarket,etc.
I highly rate this hotel and would suggest that before you look at slightly cheaper hotels, weigh up the experience because this hotel is roughly only $80 a night dearer than a 3.5/4 star hotel but well worth the extra and you will love staying here, I will be back again definitely.

Room Tip: Ask for an eastern side harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravel_4075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

It gave me great pleasure to read your review, thank you so much.

I am pleased we were able to provide you with an early check in and you found the hotel as well as our colleagues to be of a high standard.

I am also happy to know that our gesture for your celebration was enjoyed.

Thank you again and we do hope you will continue to celebrate at InterContinental Sydney in the future.

Yours sincerely
Fred Matti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I had to be close to Sydney CBD and previously I stayed on Pitt St. in one of different hotels but this time decided that I needed to be even closer to the destination I was visiting. The hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating despite that I showed up at the hotel at 8am in the morning. The rooms are very well maintained and clean, super soft pillows meant that the time difference melted away at night. The pool is located on the top floor and the views are great, so you can relax, enjoy exercise and experience great views of Sydney. Gym was actually very busy but there was space to exercise even in the morning rush. Buffet dinner and breakfast are worth stopping by if you are in a hurry or not sure where to eat.
The location of the hotel is perfect for those needing to get to anywhere in the CBD, most places are minutes away, Circular Quay train station is very close by as are obviously all the ferry services from the Circular Quay.

Room Tip: Higher floors have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Stayed here for work & it was rather soulless

To me the deal breaker was the shower over the bath - water pressure is non-existent.

That in itself is enough for me to prefer to stay at lower rated properties with equal service

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 180 in Sydney
6,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 180 in Sydney
4,635 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#24 of 180 in Sydney
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £133 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing