We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business stay, location, comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #26 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I spent a week on business here in December and found the hotel very centrally located--5 minute walk to the Central Quay, comfortable and overall terrific. Rooms are spacious and good (still have to pay for wifi in room--i took the one week package for Aus$70)
The restaurants are pricey but it is the Interconti and it is Sydney but you can walk to a bunch of places.
Staff is very responsive and was easy to get taxis etc.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnarisetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Marisetti

Appreciate your reveiw and I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for sharing via Tripadvisor.

Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,418)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,628 - 2,634 of 4,418 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a eastern harbour view room on the 23rd floor.
The room was spotlessly clean and well appointed.The lobby and general public areas are also well presented and a pleasure just to be there.
We ate dinner at the hotels cafe opera resturant,we had the seafood buffet which while very expensive was something you have to do just once while you are here.
The hotel is just across from the botanic gardens and short walk to opera house and circular quay.
All in all I would definitely stay here again as I have had a positive experience.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Sotman

Your review is appreciated, thank you.

Pleased you had the opportunity to enjoy our Seafood Buffet in Cafe Opera and your stay was pleasurable.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed there two nights prior to getting on a cruise, and it was great. The view was spectacular, service outstanding and price reasonable. They have a person deliver Ice to your room, and he expects no tip and is there within minutes. Just part of their friendly nature.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KkFiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear KKFiff

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience.

We do look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Staying in this hotel was like greeting an old friend again. After many years absence from visiting this hotel our return was not a disappoint to us, its welcome was as big as when we stayed some 20 years ago. The reception desk helped us to get into our room earlier than normal, which was a big bonus after our flight from the UK. Many hotels will keep you waiting until the clock moves onto the exact allotted check-in time so any difference in room rate for a cheaper hotel was far outweighed by being accommodated so quickly by the hotel staff. The whole hotel is fabulously renovated from a former government building, with all its quirky Victorian architecture still intact. Circular Quay is a great place to be and is far better area Darling Harbour which is turning into a magnet for Hen parties and lads night out.

Room Tip: Try to have the highest room available and if you can afford the extra the Sydney water front view r...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear SkylarkUK

I was most pleased to read your review, thank you.

It is always a pleasure to welcome a guest back especially after so many years. I am pleased we were able to accommodate your early check in request and you had such an enjoyable stay.

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully before another 20 years has passed by.

With warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Can not say enough good things about this hotel. The staff are both friendly and knowledgeable about the local area and very willing to help with anything I asked for. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and have some great views from the higher floors.
The location is perfect, right across the street from the botanical gardens and an easy walk to the Opera House and Circular Quay and everything else the city has to offer.
Hope to return there soon and enjoy it a lot more

Room Tip: If you get the chance try to have access to the Club Level, great service and STUNNING views from th...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthurkemish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Arthurkemish

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was a pleasure to read.

I am pleased you had a very enjoyable stay with us and we do look forward to welcoming your return to InterContinental Sydney.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here overnight and although it was a short trip the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

Was a bit of a treat from my husband as it wasn't the cheapest around but it's was well worth the money!

(Loved the automatic black out shade)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Ria W

Very pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and I do thank you for sharing your experience via Tripadvisor.

We do hope we can welcome yourself and husband once again.

Best regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week on business. Great location near Circular Quay- opera house, the rocks, botanical gardens and ferries on doorstep. All you'd expect from a business hotel, including price :-). Meeting room could have done with more natural light but the service is impeccable. Breakfast buffet fantastic. Staff very efficient and special mention to the concierge team who really went the extra mile when I needed something.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Jonnyjampot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Jonnyjampot

Very pleased to read your review, thank you.

We certainly do appreciate the time you have taken to write your review and it is also very pleasing to know that your expectations were met during your stay.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming your return.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,464 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 178 in Sydney
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £151 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing