We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #26 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

What a great hotel. Top location easy access to all attractions and transport and ferries being three minutes walk to south quay. We got to know the GM Jorge Bockeler. Within 10 minutes you feel that you have known him for years great vision amnd an excellent GM. The hotel will be undergoing renovation soon. The location is outstanding with sea view rooms recommended. The Club lounge is excellent with unobstructed views of the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. Great for New Years eve. The staff in the lounge were outstanding under the supervision of Grizell.

Room Tip: We were there at New Years eve for 8 days and they only had city view room. If budget allows go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterlindaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Peterlindaa

Thank you for your review and it was an absolute pleasure to meet you. I am most honoured to be mentioned in your review. I thank you for sharing your experience at InterContinental Sydney and I am very pleased you had a wonderful stay with us.

I look forward to catching up with you once again when you next decide to visit us at InterContinental Sydney.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,618 - 2,624 of 4,466 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

We're locals but we always stay here on special occasions.

Top location at Circular Quay, easy walks to the best of Sydney Harbour or catch a ferry, train or bus (virtually from your doorstep) if you are going further afield. No need for a car.

Good rooms and great service. Terrific views on the higher floors, turn off the TV and watch Sydney tick over 24/7. Cafe Opera a great place for a meal.

Already thinking about our next stay.

Room Tip: The higher floors have superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GACASydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear GACASydney_Australia

Wonderful to read a review from a local who is once again already looking forward to returning to us.

Thank you for sharing and we also look forward to welcoming you once again for another great stay.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Booked 2 nights in a Club Room as from 19.1.2014. Checked in early around 11am and whilst room was not ready (which we did not expect), Jenny at reception was more than helpful and arranged access to the Club Lounge on the 32nd floor for coffee, left bag for delivery to room when available.
Enjoyed seafood buffet at Café Opera for lunch with 4 friends, Sydney Rock oysters were fresh and creamy, extensive selection of mains, salads, etc., plus yummy desserts and continuous Bimbadgen Sparkling Semillon and coffee in the fixed price of $83 per head or 2 for 1 with Priority Privilege (outstanding value).
Room was on the 27th floor with fabulous views of The Royal Botanical Garden and eastern side of Sydney Harbour, room average in size compared to Asian countries, but well appointed with a good range of toiletries, very comfy beds, crisp sheets and air con that could be controlled.
Went to Twilights Drinks in the Club Lounge between 5pm and 7pm with continuous drinks and a range nibblies, canapés and some excellent cheeses. The service in the Club Lounge was outstanding from Allan and other staff members with never a glass going empty, spectacular views, interesting information and opportunity to talk to a charming couple from Florida USA.
Next day enjoyed complimentary breakfast, again in the Club Lounge on the balcony overlooking Sydney Harbour and again looked after extremely well by the fabulous staff. We then enjoyed several ferry trips on Sydney Harbour from Circular Quay only a few minutes walk. Came back for a swim in the heated pool on the 31st floor. Stilled amazed how some people don't control their children, who were continuously jumping into the pool and splashing other people and impacting on the serenity, would have liked the opportunity to do the same to their mother who seemed concerned about her hair.
Went to Twilight Drinks again, same excellent service, view limited owing to rain, but who cares.
Next morning enjoyed buffet breakfast in Café Opera and the went for a most enjoyable walk through The Royal Botanic Garden.
Sorry to leave this fabulous oasis in such a great location with the outstanding service that was evident throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Paul R

An absolute pleasure to read your review, thank you.

My colleagues and I truly do appreciate such wonderful feedback, it is so pleasing to read how much a guest has enjoyed their stay with us.

I am pleased you had the opportunity to enjoy all areas of the hotel.

We truly do look forward to ensuring you have another wonderful stay.

Thank you again and warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

An amazing location with all the big city ups and downs.Oprah paid for it so my review may be slanted...Loved the views,the walking distance to so many sites[park,harbour,quay,Fortunes of War,shops]..Rooms nice ,service decent..Enjoyed the morning buffets.Bought my first $10 beer[regular beer]Great ambiance..Bring loads of cash and good walking shoes.[December 2010}GREAT CITY..

Room Tip: The Quay is a must walk.Too much time at the Intercontinental might spoil and break you.Rooms higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hemingwayscantina45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Hemingwaysantina45

Always pleasing to read a review from one of our travelling guests. Truly appreciate that you have shared your experience and tips via Tripadvisor.

Agree our location is perfect and we do hope you will return to Sydney and to us for another great stay.

Thank you again.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The hotel is nicely located only steps from the Botanical Garden and a few short blocks to the waterfront. It has all the amenities of a 4-star downtown hotel with a helpful and friendly staff. The 4-story inner atrium is spectacular with its multi-levels of stone arches. Nice place to sit for a drink or a cup of coffee.

However, as we found all around Sydney, the rooms only have instant coffee. If you're really craving a brewed cup, go to the 1st floor business center where they have a Nespresso machine and brew one for free.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank youngatheart3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Youngatheart

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we do appreciate the feedback provided as well as your suggestion and recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you for another enjoyable stay with us.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights over a weekend, This one of the best places to stay in Sydney, The views are amazing over a the Harbour if you have a room with a view, Staff in the club lounge were fantastic as were all the other staff, Do yourself a favour, spash out and spend a night in a great city and at a great hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muzza265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Muzza265

Pleasure to read your review and we thank you for your recommendation.

Very pleased you had a wonderful stay with us

We look forward to welcoming your return once again.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Spent a week here during New Year. Had family with us so needed interconnecting rooms. Slight delay at check-in while this was queried, but we got what we wanted after 20-30 minute wait (it had been guaranteed on the reservation). Rooms were bright, clean, well equipped and impressive. Our room rate gave us access to the Executive Lounge where we had breakfast every day and early evening drinks. Being there for a week gave us an opportunity to get to know the staff there and they were, without exception, outstanding - friendly and helpful! Food in the lounge was excellent. Pool and gym facilities in the hotel were very good and concierge service was good, but nothing special. We only had one meal in the hotel restaurant "Meat & Wine Co" and the Maitre D was rude and unhelpful, waiter service was good and food was just OK, so I certainly wouldn't recommend it. However, over all the Intercontinental experience was fantastic!

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra to get access to the Executive Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDE260767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear JDE260767

Your review is appreciated thank you and it is most pleasing to read that you had a truly enjoyable stay with us over the New Year period.

It was also very nice to read that you got to know our Club InterContinental colleagues, they do enjoy chatting with our guests ensuring all expectations are met. Your review has been shared with them.

With regards to Meat & Wine Co, the restaurant is owned, managed and operated separately to InterContinental Sydney. We shall advise them of your feedback.

Thank you again and we shall look forward to hopefully welcoming for another wonderful stay.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#32 of 179 in Sydney
6,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £151 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing