We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #26 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Booked a long weekend here with the wife. Also booked a club room. This made for a special weekend away. We were upgraded to a Harbour view room from a garden view room. The club lounge had the best views of Sydney Harbour, and their cocktails hour, which starts at 5pm is excellent. The rooms are a decent size, with a small alcove where you can sit in the sun and read the paper and look over the Harbour.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BigRuss1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear BigRuss1213

It was a pleasure to read your review and also great to read that your thoroughly enjoyed our Club InterContinental.

Truly appreciate the time you have taken to write your review and we do look forward to welcoming you back again for another very enjoyable stay.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,418)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,497 - 2,503 of 4,418 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

First, the service by From Billy Ko was fantastic! Very professional and just made me feel like I'm at home. Member of priority club for over 20 years and a Ambassador Platinum member, this hotel is by far the best in service. Location is fantastic. For a great view of the harbor go high. Worth it!

Room Tip: Go 11th floor or high. Worth the price and the food in the club lounge is great. You can swim on the...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear John M

An absolute pleasure to read your review, thank you so much and also on behalf of Billy who is a great team member. Thank you very much for recognising Billy's great service.

Also appreciate your helpful hints.

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you for another great stay.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

After a great trip to Sydney in 2012 staying at the Shangri La, I was perhaps expecting too much when booking a club room at the IC Sydney. Was upgraded to a Harbour View Suite, which had great but partly obstructed views of the Harbour Bridge. Room was looking a bit dated, especially the bathroom which looked like something from the 1970's and for > $500/night this is simply not acceptable. Club room had fantastic views, and a few excellent staff members (Tom, Kimberley) but was disappointed with the quality of the canapes and the evening beverage service. Breakfast was good, but often staff appeared rushed off their feet, especially at the weekend.

Room Tip: High floor. Although bear in mind wi-fi may not work
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amit1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear amit1978

Please accept our sincerest apologies any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

I do hope overall you enjoyed your time in Sydney and we do hope you will revisit again.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

While we didn't stay at the Intercontinental, we ate there as it was not too far to walk from the Opera House and was still serving tea/coffee and light meals late on a Saturday after our show.

Even so, I was so pleasantly surprised by the good service we received that I felt it only right to post a positive review.

One of my friends was feeling very poorly, and we hadn't been able to find a chemist. Not only were the wait staff in the cafe very polite, discreet and fast in serving our tea, when I asked the Concierge if he knew of any late-night chemists nearby he rang about half of Sydney in short order, eventually locating one and requesting that they stay open for an extra 10 minutes while we taxied there - and then called us a taxi, sorted out the driver with the address, and gave me the chemist's phone number in case I wanted to call ahead. And that's just for visitors to the cafe - we weren't even staying at the hotel.

Thank you Julian - it's experiences like this that will make me think of the Intercontinental when I book my next holiday.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear SusieK

Thank you for writing your review following your recent visit and I am so pleased to read that our Concierge, Julien was able to assist you.

I do hope your friend is now feeling much better and we do hope we can welcome you on your next holiday to InterContinental Sydney or to one of our sister properties.

Thank you again.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Short walk to waterfront with Opera House, Botanical Garden and many of the famous Sydney points of interest. Having said that, this is an expensive hotel in an expensive city. Bring your credit card.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EchoBravo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear echobravo68

Thank you for your review, pleased you found our location perfect for your visit to Sydney and we do hope you had an enjoyable stay.

Look forward to welcoming you once again.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had an early arrival (plane landed at 7 am) and business meetings in a few hours; early arrival here can well be problematic if one needs to change. We were offered "changing and shower facilities" in the health club. The club is VERY small, has no room for a suitcase to be set up and opened, is crowded with early-morning workout members who are not pleased to see one trying to change from plane clothes to a suit. My husband ended up taking his suitcase to the ground floor restroom and changing there (no shower possible), since it was larger than the club facility. So a caveat: early arrival madness probably can only be prevented by booking the room for the previous night. This hotel does not offer a courtesy room and the health club is not really suitable given it is full of members who are working out.

Apart from that, our stay was excellent. Our room was on a corner and thus had views of the harbor and Botanic Garden. (Caveat: some rooms that would otherwise have harbor views will be blocked by a highrise and other buildings so views are not a sure thing unless specifically booked). Housekeeping and bell staff were very good. Breakfasts were excellent, with a wide variety of offerings.

The hotel is a short walk from Circular Quay and in the CBD. It is in a hilly area, so be advised if this is an issue.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honu_Ohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Honu-Ohana

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are very sorry that we were unable to provide you with an early check in. Please rest assured if we did have an available room we certainly have no problem with providing our guests with an early check in however, if the hotel is fully booked it is not possible.

Iam pleased you did have an excellent stay though and we do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

In my opinion, the Sydney Intercontinental Hotel is ideal for your stay in Sydney with one caveat. You really should book access to the concierge floor. Yes, yes it is more money but the extra dollars will turn an ordinary, albeit, very nice hotel room into a fantastic experience. The concierge floor is on the 31st floor. The staff that run this extraordinary room are simply the best. You shall overlook the Sydney Harbor Bridge and of course, the Opera House. The view is a sweeping panoramic. Spectacular! Breakfast is a very nice buffet with all the things one might expect from a breakfast buffet. If you like the chef will poach you some eggs. From 5-7:00 PM you will be treated to hors 'd ouveres that can very well substitute for your dinner. These tasty treats change each night and there are at least 3 different choices each night. On one night the lamb kabobs were so good that was no need to try anything else. On another night I shall not admit to the quantity of New Zeland mussels I consumed, only that they were very good. Each night there is sushi. Also, there is a generous pour of sparking wines, white wines, red wines, as well as, hard liquor and beer. Of course the Sydney Harbor is all a glow as you relax in the lounge with your food and wine. The wi-fi is also complimentary. I dare say the view alone (there is also a wrap around terrace) is worth the extra cost but the service and everything else makes this a true value.

While I think that concierge service is far better in most of Europe than in the States I had no expectations in Australia as this was my first visit. The concierge service is impeccable and on par with some of the finest hotels in Europe if not better. In fact, the desk service and all we encountered made this truly a 5 star expereince.

You are a 5 minute from the harbor. No worries! If money does not factor into your equation you can stay at the Park Hyatt but you will miss out on the view from the 31st floor. That hotel does not offer the 5 star view.

If you are short a work out their gym is one of the better ones for a hotel. Opposite the gym is an indoor pool. All on that 31st floor. Enjoy Sydney as it is another World class destination city.

Cheers and no worries, Laurence

Room Tip: The higher the better for the sweeping panoramic views. You will pay more for the view of the Sydne...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laurence826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Laurence826

What a wonderful and extensive review, thank you very much for sharing your experience at InterContinental Sydney, it is appreciated.

Our Concierge team were overwhelmed by your compliments and we are so very pleased we were able to meet all your expectations.

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you once again for another truly enjoyable and memorable experience.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,464 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 178 in Sydney
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £151 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing