We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice inside! A shame that 2 buildings block the view...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #24 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very nice inside! A shame that 2 buildings block the view...”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I'm a ~30yrs old female, stayed here with a friend of mine for the weekend just to climb the Harbour bridge & down a few drinks at Blue Bar.

For those of u obsessed with views, u may find this review interesting.
I was on a mission to find the hotel with the BEST view of the Harbour Bridge & Opera house together. This proved to be difficult because of the odd shape Sydney harbour is.
My short list was the Intercon or Shangri-la.
if u google map Shangri-la, it looks directly at the Opera house & a side view of the bridge.
If u google map Intercon, it looks directly at the bridge & rear view of the Opera house.
So which is more important to u?

Pros
Interior is lovely
Window has a couch to enjoy the view
Beds are like sleeping on clouds
Check in/check out process is fine
Shower & water pressure is fine
Room service is fine (oysters were small but fresh & delicious)
Few minutes walk from Opera House, Bridge, The Rocks, cbd etc

Cons
2 buildings in the way of a potentially awesome view

I stayed on level 23 which was not high enough. (King opera room)
The view on a higher level at the gym was better but not by much.
There is a AMP building on the left & Quay West apt block on the right that just ruin the view.

In no way are these controllable factors for Intercon so when booking, go on the highest level u can or even ask yourself what's important, a room with Bridge view? Or Opera house view?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Nat K

Thank you for your very informative review, we are pleased that you seemed to had a very enjoyable stay with us and we do hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,410
    1,252
    383
    132
    92
See reviews for
716
1,833
226
894
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the Intercontinental in late February for business. Was fortunate enough to be in a high floor room with fabulous eastern views over the harbour. Staff were extremely helpful during my entire stay.

The hotel is in a fantastic location – being only a 10 minute walk from Wynyard station for those travelling by train and only a 5 minute walk from Circular Quay (Opera House and Bridge etc). It's perfect if you want to go for a walk, eat al-fresco style, or go for a run.

Room was great - bed very comfortable, bathroom great, and working facilities (desk etc) appropriate. Wi-fi speeds were also fast.

Whilst there I ate in the lobby (fantastic food and ambiance), used the gym which has everything one could need, and also ate at the Meat and Wine Co. which is a restaurant located next to the lobby.

All in all a great location and hotel - I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: High floor with view of the harbour is well worth the investment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathanRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear NathanRM

Pleasure to read your review and thank you for sharing your experience.

We are very pleased you had a most enjoyable stay with us and we also look forward to welcoming you once again for another great stay.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had 4 nights here and found the location excellent. It is literally a 2 minute walk to Circular Quay, with ferries, buses and trains; 5 minute walk to the Opera House; across the road from the Botanical Gardens; 5 minute walk to The Rocks area ................. perfect.
We had a deluxe eastern harbour view room and it was fantastic. It had a picture window ( well almost) with a window seat and as we were on the 28th floor, the views were wonderful.
On the 31st floor there is a swimming pool, but it is tiny. However, it is great to go up there for the views!
We had a very comfortable stay here and the staff were excellent. I would definitely stay again.
Drawback? No free wifi - why???? Tip - sit on the steps of the Opera House - free wifi here - as in most areas of Sydney!

Room Tip: The higher the better, and try to get one overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Yorkdragon

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at InterContinental Sydney and I am most pleased to read that you did have a good stay with us.

I would though like to take this opportunity to advise that complimentary wifi is available to guests who are members of our loyalty program IHG Rewards which can be joined on line at no charge. You will receive reward points for your stays plus additional benefits.

We do hope we can welcome your return for another enjoyable stay.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Intercontinental in Sydney has a special place in my heart. Heck we even had our wedding there, but our last stay was a little disappointing.
Having stayed at the Sofitel, Vibe, Stamford and Marriot, once we found the Intercontinental we have never looked back as it was a perfect blend of luxury and modern comfort, with each stay being 5/5 and ticking every box...until now

As Intercontinental Platinum ambassadors, We stayed in a club suite and the Governors suite. The Governors suite is spacious with a wonderful view of the harbor bridge. I do love the suites here, they feel homely and comfortable. The staff in the club lounge are always incredibly friendly and ready to accommodate. The basket of gingerbread men being handed out for Christmas was a wonderful touch leaving you with a legitimate smile.
The breakfast buffet is still the best we have encountered in the world. The range and ability to cater for everything is very very impressive. This is not so in the club lounge however you have 270% views of the habour and Botanical park to make up for it.

However the age of the rooms are starting to show especially in the bathrooms, foyer areas etc. Even the couches were showing wear.
To me personally this can come across as a dirty feel which I am not after when staying 5 star.
Cleaning was not up to standard with us needing to request our bathroom to be re cleaned and then having to do it again ourselves.

The concierge staff were also a little less accommodating and friendly as previous stays. I found the guys out the front way to rough with our baggage also. When raised they seemed annoyed that we cared about our belongings.
On previous stays we could normally recognise a lot of the staff, however this time this wasn't the case, so I am hopping most of the issues we encountered were as a result of mass new staffing bumps.

Overall still a wonderful hotel, but I am hoping renovations are in the pipeline. I will be checking out the Park Hyatt next time....but I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelin_Ge0rge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Travelin_GeOrge

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disappointment experienced. I give you my personal assurance your comments have been taken on board and shared with the appropriate Manager.

I do hope overall your stay was enjoyed and we do hope we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My mother celebrated her 90th birthday back in Nov 13 - and as a special treat, my sister and I took her into the Intercontinental Hotel for afternoon tea on her birthday. The location was superb, the food wonderful and the atmosphere delightful. I explained to the maître de, that it was our Mum's birthday - he arranged for a special cake and some of the staff came and sang Happy Birthday to her - she was delighted.

If you are looking to celebrate a special occasion, you can do no better than the Intercontinental Sydney

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lulubrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Lulubrooks

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Sydney to celebrate such a wonderful event as a 90th birthday. We are most pleased your mother enjoyed her special day.

We do hope to welcome you back again for many more celebrations.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Spent 5 nights at the Intercontinental Sydney at the end of April on business. Enjoyed a corner room on the 29th floor with a city view. Property is in an excellent location – only a 5 minute walk from Circular Quay where you can grab the ferries to Manly or the zoo or the train in from the Airport (15-20 mins). Also short walk to the Opera House. Next to the Botanical Gardens and a short 20 minute walk to Darling Harbour with lots of restaurants and outdoor dining. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Lounge was located on the 31st floor with an amazing view of the Harbor Bridge and Opera House. Plenty of cocktails and great snack options (including breakfast). Gym was small but adequate with modern machines. Small indoor pool on same floor. Great bar on the lobby level as well as a “Meat and Wine Co.” location – a MUCH better alternative for take away as opposed to room service.

Used laundry service. Prices were reasonable considering your location.

Room was modern and no issues with the wi-fi. Could connect more than one device. Bathroom was average at best. Needed some TLC. Property is a good option due to location and large rooms (not for the average bathroom).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michekara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Michekara

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are pleased to read that although on business you had a very pleasant stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming your return.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My mum, daughter & I stayed here Saturday night & then ran the Mother's Day classic run around Sydney Harbour on the Sunday morning. The hotel were wonderful. Friendly staff & comfortable rooms.
The location is fantastic.

Room Tip: Our room looked over the Museum of Contemporary Art. It was quiet & we were happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Motivate33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Motivate33

Truly pleased you and your family had a pleasant Mothers Day stay with us.

We hope we can welcome you back again for many more family stays.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#27 of 178 in Sydney
6,282 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Property: InterContinental Sydney
Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing