We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #31 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Great Friday and Saturday night stay. Club access to level 31 was a highlight for the view alone. Great staff and good amenities. Bathrooms are getting a little tired but the location makes up for it. All meals were great, canapés and drinks on the 31 were fabulous before heading out for dinner. Recommended

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear MD

Pleased you had a great time with us and thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is appreciated.

Look forward to having you back again for another great stay.

Best regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,685 - 2,691 of 4,688 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was my fourth time at this hotel, but the first without access to the club level on top. Big difference, the breakfast at the club is really my favorite spot overlooking the harbour and the opera house, but can't always have it all. Can't beat the location, and the price is right, great and clean rooms. The gym however is getting seriously outdated.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Fredrik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear FredrikG

Pleased to read your review and thank you for sharing your experience.

I am pleased each stay has been enjoyed and we do look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th stay.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Fantastic location. The staff were very professional, food and breakfast very good. Rooms comfortable. The location was excellent, close to all public transport and walking distance to many attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Sally D

Pleasure to read you review and thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed both Sydney as well as your stay at InterContinental Sydney.

We hope to welcome your return.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The service was very nice. The facilities and views were as advertised, in other words impressive. My issue is that their business center has different computers, some of which have problems with printing and working properly. As I was staying here on business this was poor strike against the hotel. I would have given this hotel a 5 star review otherwise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VinceCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Vincecali

Thank your or taking the time to write your review and please rest assured your review has been shared with our iT Manager. Appreciative that you have let us know.

I do hope overall you had a good stay and we hope to welcome your return.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Only thing that was a bit disappointing, our room wasn't available upon arrival. Oh the other hand our flight did arrive at 7:30AM and we got to the hotel by 9:30AM. After flying for 15 hours we felt the need to freshen up so an extremely understanding and helpful front desk clerk suggested we head up to the gym area to utilize the shower/changing rooms. As we arrived with so much luggage and the shower room not so large one of us stayed in the hall by the elevators with luggage while the other went to to change, etc... One of the staff happened on us and insisted we stop by the bar main lobby for anything we desired after seeing our situation. As the day was progressing we opted out of the bar offer and headed for the ferry just down the street. Did I mention the proximity to The Rocks and of course Circular Quay where the ferry is located. Just down the street. So location...Perfect! Upon arriving back to the hotel after a day at Manley Beach we stepped to the front desk for our room key and as the clerk handed them to me I mentioned that we had asked for a Opera House View room, he replied we should be quite happy with the room. Arriving at our room and finding our luggage had already been delivered was such a relief but then... then we saw our view, that of the entire Sydney Harbour. We had been upgraded and sent to the 34th or 38th floor, I believe one floor from the top. Amazing views of the Bridge, the Opera House, the entire Harbour. Just amazing! Bottom-line - Front Desk Staff, Bell Team, Concierge, just the entire Team at this property was all about their guest and whatever they could do to make our stay and our visit to Sydney the best ever. So happy we picked this Hotel! It was a large piece of making Sydney such an awesome city to visit.

Room Tip: Make sure it's high and if your first time to Sydney ensure you get a Harbour View room>
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiveMeSunNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear givemesunorcal

We were so thrilled to read your review and that you did have a great stay. Truly appreciate that you have shared your experience. I am sorry though that we could not provide you with an early check in, we do try hard to check in guests as early as possible if we can. Check in is normally 3pm.

Thank you again and we do hope to welcome you back again for another enjoyable stay.

Ward regards
Joerg Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

intercontinental is a nice hotel perfectly located in sydney. it is very close to the sydney opera house, the ferry terminal and the rocks district famous for its pubs and cafes.
The famous Pitt street mall is just 5 minutes by taxi or 15 mints walking distance.
The rooms are quite spacious and well maintained. We had a beautiful eastern harbour bridge view room. The breakfast was excellent. The concierge staff were really helpful and the check in and check out was quite smooth.
This is a old hotel building kind a of heritage property which is merged with a new hotel building.
the overall feel of the hotel is a fusion of contemporary and classic which i personally liked.
i feel that the reception area is a little small and lacks that wow factor otherwise its a thumbs up from my side!....

Room Tip: rooms upwards of thirteenth floor have a nice view!...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeepankerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear DeepankerP

A pleasure to read your review and thank you for sharing your experience. It is always a great pleasure to read such positive feedback.

We do look forward to welcoming you for another enjoyable stay.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed a night to treat myself for mothers day. It was a lovely stay nice room, nice food service was great the front desk gentlemen was lovely when firs arrived.
Couldn't find entry when I first arrived there were no visible signs, there is a ramp that's where you go up if you cannot find it its only one way :)
Ordered pillows was told they were bringing them they must not of had any left but didn't advise me so bit annoyed. Breakfast was great chef was a sweet heart helped me out.

Room Tip: There large rooms and large beds stayed in the Eastern Harbour View Room ( You don't see the har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyJW33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear AmyJW33

Thank you for your review and very pleased that you enjoyed your Mothers Day stay.

Look forward to welcoming your return

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 186 in Sydney
6,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £155 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing