We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #28 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I'm jaded because I compare all of my Intercontinental experiences based on the Intercontinental in Hong Kong and so far none of their properties even comes close. Sydney is so not worth what they charge especially with the up charge for club level access. Breakfast at best is an ok continental and cocktails and canapés are marginal and that's being generous. Save your money and book at the Marriott a block away for half the cost and a much better room and service. It really sucks because I travel at least six months a year all over the world for business, I choose airlines and hotel chains based solely on how much easier they make my life first and cost second. Intercontinental used to be worth what they charged but that ship has sailed. Service related businesses in Australia are lacking to begin with and those that excel are expensive compared to other places.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank 30BrianS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Brian S

We are truly sorry we have not met your expectations and very disappointed to read you feel this way about service in general in Australia.

We do hope you may have a change of mind on you next visit to Sydney providing us with a chance to redeem ourselves.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,541 - 2,547 of 4,549 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a little problem the first night but they responded quickly and efficiently and more than made up for it during the next 5 nights. By the time we checked out we had forgotten about the incident but at check out, the manager came out and personally apologized profusely. By the way, the pre-Opera House buffet at $45.00 was incredible...especially considering food prices in Sydney...highly recommend this hotel which is just one block from Circular Quay and the Opera House!

Room Tip: The only problem was room 3019...just below the gym...they needed some extra insulation but as menti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Dan H

I am pleased to read we were able to find a quick resolution and we are so pleased that you did have a great stay with us and also that you had the opportunity to enjoy our Buffett. Thank you for sharing.

Rest assured we have taken note of your comments and hopefully we shall be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I had an enthusiastic sales person pester my husband and I a few times to purchase the priority privilege membership. The salespeople tell outright lies about the privileges and inclusions and once you hand over your credit card details, you're hooked.
They don't record their sales calls so they can get away with their lies.

I have been trying to use the vouchers for 6 months now and each time, I have realised how useless these vouchers are. What the Priority Privilege people don't tell you is that hotels only allocate a very small number of rooms to Priority Privilege customers. So in high season, while the hote's website shows availability and other hotel discount sites show availability, the Priotrity Privilege site (where you can use your vouchers) will show no avaibality for 3 or 4 months in advance. The vouchers only last for 12 months.
Furthermore, what they also don't tell you is that certain rooms are NEVER available for Priority Privilege customers, like the Harbour-Bridge view rooms or the Opera-house-view rooms at the Intercontinental sydney.
By the time you see availability on their sites, the hotels are almost empty and the rooms that you're paying full-price for (minus the so-called discount) are much more heavily discounted on other third party sites (which are free to use).

Their 25% off vouchers can only be used using the Best Flexible Rate , which is 30% higher than normal rates anyway.

If you ever try to complain to them , you will be met with a brigade of rude and condescending customer service rep who will tell you that you will never ever get your membership refunded.
If you try to get the membership refunded within the 21 day cool-off period, they will use every delay tactic possible by claiming that a manager will call you back within 48 hours (which they don't do) and then they will claim that they don't know what their own address is.

Save your money, do not get involved with this mob!!!
I wish the IHG would see the light of day and end their involvement with Priority Privilege because it is putting customers off their hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank demi7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear demi7777 ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for being a member of our IHG Rewards Club program. It is regrettable to hear that our services have fallen short to some of your expectations. I would like to assure you that we have taken your feedback into account and I would like to follow up on you. I have sent you a private message to get more information on how we can assist you further.

I hope to hear back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Wonderful place to stay in Sydney. Easy walking distance to Circular Quay and the Opera House. The Botanical Gardens opposite the hotel were lovely and everything was close by. All the consierge staff were very helpful (especially Julian) who arranged a great trip to the Blue Mountains .

We had breakfast out, but ate in both the hotel restaurants where the food and wine were delicious.

We were on the 26th floor and views of the harbour were splendid. I would certainly stay there if I ever make the long journey from the UK again

Room Tip: We were quite happy with our Eastern Harbour view room, but did not see any others to compare it wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dumbleton23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Dumbleton23

Truly enjoyed reading your review and thank you for taking the time to share.

I am pleased Julian's recommendation was a great day for you.

We also hope you may be able to visit Sydney one again to enable us to welcome for another great stay.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

from the time you set foot in the foyer to the time you check out everything is faultless. We stayed in a corner city/garden view room and it was hard to leave to go out. The Continental Club is fantastic , the best views over the harbour and botanical gardens for twilight drinks. A short stroll down to the Quay for ferries to anywhere you want to go and a variety of restaurant options. The in house restaurant has the best seafood buffet to indulge in. The Intercontinental may not be the cheapest but certainly the best in Sydney.

Room Tip: The Garden view rooms have the best view right up the harbour to the heads , and get club access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Rick B

Such a pleasure to read your review, it gives us great satisfaction knowing a guest as yourself can depart feeling so pleased with their stay with us.

Truly appreciate that you have shared your experience, thank you.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon next time you visit Sydney.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Easy walk to the harbour, lovely river view room, pleasant service, helpful staff. We had brunch in the restaurant, which was good, but we usually had breakfast elsewhere - there are lots of good cafes by the harbour

Would definitely stay here if we were fortunate enough to visit Austrlaia again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAMandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Jamands

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and very pleased to read that you had such a great stay.

We also hope you will have the opportunity to visit Sydney to enjoy another stay with us.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Perfect location to see all of beautiful Sydney. Walking distance to the Opera House, buses, ferries and all the city had to offer. Also very helpful staff with easy check in and giving recommendations. Excellent view of the harbor, the bridge and close to many great restaurants of all levels.
Rented two adjoining rooms for our family and we had a blast for four nights before we went on to Brisbane.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Loel l

Thoroughly enjoyed reading your review and we do appreciate that you have shared your families great experience.

Hopefully we shall once again be able to welcome you back again soon for another enjoyable stay.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 180 in Sydney
6,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 180 in Sydney
4,635 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#24 of 180 in Sydney
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £135 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing