We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concierge goes above and beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #26 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Wow....I was not even staying at the intercontinental but some honest soul found my wallet on the street outside and gave it to Dave the concierge. Dave went to the trouble to track me down and call me to make sure I got the wallet and enclosed cash back......fantastic service ---a class act.

Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
5  Thank Konichiwalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Konichiwalondon,

Thank you for writing a plesasant review!

We are always happy to be of assistance in any situation and glad to hear that we were able to return your wallet to the rightful owner! Thanks you for the special mention to David our Chief Concierge.

We hope to welcome you to the InterContinental Sydney soon!

Warmest Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,448 - 2,454 of 4,466 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

The rooms here were quite spacious and well appointed. Lovely comfy beds, dark blinds and very quiet, so sleeping was good the saddest thing was the breakfast that I had really looked forward to. The hot buffet food was barely warm, so very unappetising and disappointing. For the money ($45) really poor! Great selection but just not worth eating if it's not hot. The rest of the buffet looked average but I had lost my appetite.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidayitisAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear holidayitisAustralia,

Thank you for taking the time write a review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comforts of your room. Of note in particular, we will pass on the feedback that you have shared in relation to the buffet breakfast to our food and beverage management team.

We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Highly recommend this hotel.

Within walking distance of the Harbour Bridge, Opera House, the Rocks and Botanic Gardens. Buses, ferries and trains are right there at Circular Quay to take you virtually anywhere in Sydney.

The hotel itself is full of history, as is the whole area. Staff are very helpful and the views from our room looking out toward the east were amazing. This is now our first choice for accommodation in Sydney.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank L0vet0Travel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear L0vet0Travel40,

Thank you taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy the great location and history of the InterContinental Sydney.

It is also great that our team were helpful and could be of assistance. We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Sydney soon!

Warmest Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I've stayed here a couple of times. Service is fantastic. The bed and sheets are fantastic. They have a menu for pillows you can request. The view during the day and especially at night is fantastic. It's easy walking distance to the harbor, Opera house, bridge, and ferries. As with everything in Sydney, the food in the hotel is expensive. Cabs were easy to get and bus service is very close by. Room had an adapter for your plugs on the mini-bar that was available for purchase or simply to use while you were in the room. I've stayed at several other hotels in the area and I like the intercontinental the best.

Room Tip: Don't know how rooms are numbered but I was in 1501 and directly faced the harbor, bridge, and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear M B,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had another enjoyable stay with us and that you enjoyed our service.

We do hope to welcome you back to the InterContinental Sydney again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The club level at the top of the hotel has to be one of the best views of Circular Quay, the Opera House, the bridge and the harbor. The staff were professional, very friendly and able to advise on our day trips and dining ideas. The breakfast and happy hour were bountiful with excellent beverages. In the morning, the sunrise was spectacular, and in the evening, the view of the Vivid light show was dazzling. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the mini fridge was dated. One of the best features was the powered blinds controlled from bedside. While one could certainly stay in more expensive hotels, this stay with access to the club level was a great value.

Room Tip: North and East harbor facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RLHSDUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear RLHSDUSA,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and that the team in Club InterContinental were able to provide you with recommendations on what to do and where to dine to make your stay more enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back to the InterContinental Sydney soon.

Warm Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

i dont have the words, the view, the room, the service, the food, everything is so amazing. Location is great right on the circular quay. Room overlooking the opera house. what more can i ask for in the morning using the automated controls to lift up the blind to such an amazing view.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RashidAgadir_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear RashidAgadir_Morocco,

Thank you for your review. We are so please to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed everything from the view to the service that our colleagues provided.

We do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great easy check-in and service from the front desk. Room was a little disappointing the hotel is in need of some massive modernisation when you compare the rooms to the likes of Hilton Melbourne, Sofitel Queenstown. Bed was disappointingly not as comfortable as the previous two hotels mentioned and the bathroom was very, very dated.

The service, however, was very, very good. Another great hotel where the staff remember you after only one previous interaction. The service we received in the Club Continental lounge was fantastic, personal and very genuine. The Continental Club lounge offers beautiful views and is the perfect location for pre-dinner drinks and canapés before heading out to savour the Sydney nightlife or taking in the morning sun and looking out on the opera house whilst enjoying the breakfast buffet and a freshly made coffee.

Room Tip: An Executive Club room gives you access to Club Continental lounge on the top floor, inclusive eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stubbsy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Stubbsy747,

A pleasure to read your review and we are very pleased you had a most enjoyable stay with us and were able to enjoy the personalised service from our colleagues and views from Club InterContinental.

We also look forward to welcoming you once again for another memorable stay.

With Warm Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#32 of 179 in Sydney
6,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £151 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing