We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sydney hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #24 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Sydney hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night and found the staff were fantastic. Appreciated the personal greeting from the General Manager. Rooms spacious and clean. Excellent location as close to The Opera House, The Rocks, Botanical Gardens and a nice stroll to the shopping district. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: High floor with Harbour / Opera House view recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Charles H

Thank you so much for sharing your experience via Tripadvisor, it is apprecaited and I am very pleased you liked my personal welcome as well as found our colleagues to be fantastic.

Great to read your review and we look forward to welcoming your return.

Best regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,300
    1,192
    363
    126
    86
See reviews for
668
1,757
212
863
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have stayed here twice before and been very happy, however this time it was a let down. My husband booked the room for me under his name, I called prior to arrival to book a massage and was told he would need to call to change the booking to my name, which he did. He struck someone rather unhelpful and spent quite a bit of time doing someone that should be straight forward. When I arrived at the hotel, there was no record of his call, I explained that we had already made the call to change the name of the booking. I was then questioned as to what time he did call and the person checking me seemed to doubt the call took place. What was the point of him calling if the person who answered the phone didn't action it?
Then I had the massage. It was possibly the best massage I have ever had. The therapist was polite, professional and very good a her profession, I could not fault that experience at all.
Time for dinner - I heard a man in the lift say to 'I hear the restaurant here is crap' , I thought I would make up my own mind and order room service. What a let down. The entire meal was luke warm on arrival and the chicken was dry. Totally overpriced for such a disappointing dinner.
The beds need replacing in this room, there was a deep dip from too many heavy guests. I felt like I was sleeping in a hole. I was really tired on arrival and looking forward to a relaxing evening prior to a busy day the next day. At 2AM the in room phone started ringing, I answered it and put it down again, then it rang again! The front desk must have put someone thru to the wrong room, after that I couldn't get back to sleep!
When I asked the person at the front desk why this had happened I got a bit of a fob off answer.
When checking out I told the manager all the issues I had encountered and he was kind enough to remove the price of the in room dining, which I really did appreciate as it was such a disappointment.
For a five star hotel, I do expect a bit more. It is beautiful hotel and has so much potential to give customers a positive experience
The porters/door people were extremely attentive and helpful. The room was very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Jennie T

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay and please accept our sincerest apologies for your disappointing stay and the obvious upset this caused you.

I am pleased the cost of your meal was reimbursed as a form of compensation, it is the least we could do under the cirumstances.

With regards to the mystery calls during the night, I must say these calls could have come from another guest in a room maybe mistakenly, it may not have necessarily been one of our colleagues however, it did interrupt your night which is most disappointing I agree.

I do hope we shall have the oppornity to welcome you back enabling us to provide you with a stay which is remembered for all the right reasons.

With warm regards
Joerg Bockeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

A very disappointing visit to the hotel on Thursday 3rd July, we had expectations and we were very disappointed. The view from our was fantastic, the bed comfortable and the room clean, the breakfast was lovely and the staff in the restaurant helpful. We stay in 5 star hotels regularly and we expected so much more from the InterContinental Sydney. There are other hotels in Sydney that are offering a much better product for a mini break in Sydney. The fire alarm went off at 4am, the air conditioning was noisy and the room was unbearably stuffy and hot. It was the worst night sleep I have ever had in a hotel, the front desk staff asked how our stay was and when I told her that we hardly slept due to the room temperature, she seemed to not care and said we should have called housekeeping ( in the middle of the night to have maintenance checking the air conditioning - I was seriously insulted ) We would have loved to have enjoyed a pre- dinner drink with a view of the harbour ( only club privilege guests can access this or we could pay $160.00) We had pre dinner drinks in our room instead and enjoyed the view from there- not what one would expect from an International harbour side hotel . The restaurant food was extremely disappointing, the food was cold and very average to say the least.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear NinaP

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and please accept my sincerest apologies for failing on this occasion to delivery the experience which is indeed expected of us. I was most disappointed to read your review.

I would though like to take this opportunity to explain that acces to Club Intercontinental is for guests who purchase Club InterContinental as a package. The cost includes many benefits such as breakfast daily, continuous afternoon, evening twilight drinks and canapes from 5 - 7pm as well as many other inclusions. This area does have limited seating capacity and therefore access is also limited to guests who do pay for this package. I am sorry this was not explained to you.

Again we do apologise and I do hope overall you did enjoy your visit to Sydney and we do hope we shall have the opportunity to redeem ourselves on a future stay.

With warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Fantastic place to stay when you're in Sydney. Great location, wonderful rooms, very helpful staff. Enjoy staying there every time. The views are always wonderful. Be sure to have a drink in the club lounge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Eastern suburbs/harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Jade C

A pleasure to read your review and thank you for sharing your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you once again very soon.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warragul, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent. Its just a 5 minute walk to Circular Quay.My room on the 24th floor was large & clean and there was nothing to fault. All of the staff I had contact with were great. I was fortunate enough to be able to have a drink in the rooftop club lounge which has one of the very best views in Sydney of the Opera House & Bridge.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GippyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Paul G

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and also a big thank you for the lovely compliment with regards to our colleagues.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we also look forward to welcoming ou once again.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I spent 3 night in Sydney before our cruise. This hotel has the best location. The rooms were comfortable, fresh and clean. The front desk personnel were warm and friendly. But the location was perfect. One block from Sydney harbor and the opera house. We could walk everywhere. Only draw back was I am an ambassador member and had to pay to get access to the VIP lounge. Wondering why I bother with membership when I had to pay for this perk.

Room Tip: You want a room on the west side for spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear PattiB

Thank you very much for you review and I am pleased you found our hotel to be the perfect location as well as comfortable for your stay.

I would though like to take this opportunity to explain that as an Ambassador Member your membership does not include Club InterContinental access. This area is our Executive Lounge and is purchased as a package as it includes breakfast daily, continuous afternoon tea, evening twilight drinks / canapes from 5 - 7pm plus many other benefits. As an Ambassador your membership includes upgrade to higher room category, welcome gift, fruit/ water, extended check out. To assist you for future stays this information is available on the Ambassador membership website.

Thank you again and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that we can welcome your return soon.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The club lounge is a must, we arrived at 11am and went straight to upto the club lounge the view is breath taking and the service exceptional after a coffee and chat our room was ready and as always clean and welcoming. The club lounge staff were made aware of our sons intolerances to dairy and gluten and arranged food for him, as our children are under 12 the club lounge can not accommodate them from 5pm -7pm however arranged food and drinks to our room so no one missed out, even arranged a special gluten free diary free pizza which our little darling just loved. Turn down service is a treat as is the pillow menu. The staff at the club lounge are trained to the highest of standards yet are still warm and friendly and have wonderful memories and insightful knowledge of customer needs. We will be back soon for another amazing experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emlockjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear emlockjulie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your Club InterContinental experience.

It is always great to read about how our colleagues have helped our guests have a most welcoming and memorable experience with us. Pleased that you and your family enjoyed a wonderful weekend!

We look forward to welcoming you all back soon for another stay.

Warmest Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,008 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Property: InterContinental Sydney
Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing