We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #31 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We've stayed at around 10 hotels in Sydney and this one is average.

The rooms are small but pleasant, despite the busy road outside they are also very quiet.

In the evening we tried to have a drink in the bar area. After waiting an age to be served we realised the champagnes by the glass were extremely limited, Mumm and Moët. Given the lacking service we walked down to the Sofitel for a better selection.

In the morning we were trying to send an email but the wifi wasn't working. After 10 mins on the phone for help they realised it was because we were checking out that day. Apparently the wifi stops at midnight the night before you check-out... meaning we had a whole 5 hours of wifi during our stay.

There was nothing else overly wrong with the hotel, but compared to the Shangri-la, Sofitel, Westin, Hilton and Four Seasons... I wouldn't stay here again. I also can't think of any positives to say either, which tells me it must have been equal to my rating of average.

Room Tip: Bring your own wifi! The rooms overlooking the quay obviously have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Katherine A,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay and please accept our sincerest apologies for your experience in the Cortile. This feedback will be certainly passed on to our management team. I would like to take this opportunity to also let you know that we do have a selection of four champagnes which are available by the glass as well as a large variety by the bottle.

Again, we do apologise and I do hope in the future we will have the opportunity to welcome you back enabling us to provide you with a more memorable stay.

Kindest Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,620 - 2,626 of 4,688 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stunning sight lines of Sydney Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House. Great views from the pool on the 36th floor. Friendly staff. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Conveniently located within walking distance of Circular Quay.

Room Tip: If you are a member of the Intercontinental Ambassador Hotel Loyalty Program then you receive a free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear David G,

Great to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us - everything right from the view to our location!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Sydney soon!

Warmest Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

In our room and have to stand in one tiny area to get internet. Can't sit at desk, certainly can't lay in bed. This Intercontinental is a mixed bag. We always stay in Intercontinentals and the service is usually superb. We are here now and have been disappointed in many ways. Not our usual experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gingergal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Gingergal8

We do hope you have received our private message asking for you to contact us to assist you. Your review states you are in house at present. Please do contact us direct to enable us to resolve any problems you are having.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at the intercontinental this past weekend. We booked a night solely on the strength of the buffet breakfast (it has become a tradition to attend after my husband completes his half marathons) and were not disappointed. Clean rooms, fabulous city view, wonderfully comfortable bed and great great service. We arrived late (nearly 3am) and a requested toothbrush arrived to our room within 10 minutes. Our bags (which I had left with the concierge the day prior to check in) also magically appeared in the room. Seamless. Did I mention the late checkout (2pm!) at no extra charge? Brilliant.

Have stayed at a few Sydney hotels (see previous reviews) and this is certainly the best so far. Will certainly consider a second visit if an overnight stay in the city is required.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyChiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Andy Chiara

Pleasure to read your review and very pleased the breakfast buffet met your expectations. Thank you also for sharing your stay via Tripadvisor, it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you for many more stays.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Perfect location for our wedding weekend.
Beautiful big rooms for getting ready, had a lovely view too.
Great foyer and exterior for photos, short walk to water taxi.
Attentive staff, great service and valet parking.
Highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: Harbour or gardens view very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Emma H

Thank you very much for your recommendation, it is truly appreciated and we are so very pleased you had a wonderful wedding weekend.

We do hope to welcome you back for many more celebrations.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel was all round excellent. Lovely and helpful staff as with Aussie natured compared with some IC staff I have experienced. The room was very well presented and really well finished, very pleased. We didn't have the harbour view but asked to get into the club lounge to witness the sunrise and this was truly epic, the view over the harbour is quite stunning. Loved our stay here.

Room Tip: Just try and get a harbour facing room or get into the club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear John S

Such a pleasure to read your review and I am pleased you had a wonderful stay with us.

We do hope we can welcome you back again for many more.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is conveniently located near the harbor and botanical gardens. My room was great with a wonderful window seat and a partial view of the Harbor bridge. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quite large. Breakfast was great. The lobby is beautiful. My only complaint is that there is very few places to sit in the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ectraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Ectraveller12

Thank you for taking the time to write your reveiw and it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the facilities. I am sorry though if seating was limited in the lobby during your visit.

Otherwise, thank you very much again and we look forward to welcoming your return.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 186 in Sydney
6,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £155 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing