We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, so close to Circular Quay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #24 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, so close to Circular Quay”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Recently stayed two nights here for business. Wonderful hotel with friendly staff. I had a city view room - however if you have the club room you can go up to the lounge on the top floor where the views of the harbour are amazing. I never dined in the evening, however did have the breakfast. I would have to say this was one of the best breakfast buffet's I have ever encountered. There were so many healthy choices as well as gluten free options with cereal and bread. The room was spacious and a great temperature. I loved the window seat and the double blinds - one being electrical. The service was fantastic and can not wait to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvtotravelBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear luvtotravelBrisbane,

Thank you for your review!

I agree, the breakfast buffet is wonderful and is a perfect way to start the day with a large variety of options. I am pleased to read that we were able to meet your needs for healthy and gluten free options.

We do hope to welcome you back to InterContinental Sydney so you can again enjoy the view and window seat from your room!

Best Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,413
    1,253
    385
    132
    92
See reviews for
717
1,838
226
894
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanya, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Wonderful rooms, brilliant views, excellent location, great staff. Top job. You can stroll from the hotel to the sydney opera house in around 15 minutes and there is plenty to do all around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Peter H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, the view and the service our colleagues provided.

We do hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawley Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Absolutely stunning place! When you wake up in the morning with the sun rising above the Sydney bridge - can you even dream about a better view? Swimming at the hotel pool with the view of the Opera House, especially late in the evening with the performance of lights - unforgettable experience. I felt like I do not even need to leave the hotel to enjoy Sydney at night. I couldn't imagine more efficient check in, kinder staff of more beautiful interior design. I loved every minute of my stay in InterContinental. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Peter H,

How lovely to read that you had a perfect first time in Sydney!

We are pleased that we were able to make your stay extremely memorable and look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Sydney. Thank you for your review!

Warmest Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice business hotel, good size rooms, comfortable beds with lovely views of the Harbour bridge. All staff were very friendly and extremely helpful,thoroughly enjoyed our stayed. Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 560djm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear 560djm,

A pleasure to read your review and that you had a comfortable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Sydney again and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Recently I had the pleasure of staying at the Intercontinental in Sydney. I made three steps into the hotel and was recognized by staff. While checking in I received the biggest smile I have ever seen from a desk clerk. Many high end hotels have surly desk clerks that think that being rude is part of the experience. Not here. We opted for club level access and the views were amazing. We could have made a meal out of the hors d'oeuvers and the atmosphere was electric. They made me feel like the most important person in the room, even though there are the most important people in the world are staying there. We stayed at the finest hotels in Australia including Pullman, Soffitel, Westin and Langham, and I must say the Intercontinental in Sydney was the best. Our room had a view of the harbor and I found myself staring out the window for hours. I practically melted into the bed and breakfast in the club level was outstanding. Thank You Intercontinental Sydney for making our stay one we will remember for a lifetime.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that face the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericanSteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear AmericanSteer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review via Tripadvisor.

It is great to read that you enjoyed a warm welcome to InterContinental Sydney and made the most of your exclusive Club InterContinental benefits.

When your travels next bring you to Sydney, we do hope to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a great stay and found club lounge to be fanstasic.
The room was very nice and beds comfortable.
The location is perfect for first time visitors to Sydney, close to all the popular attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wallacejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear wallacejohn,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review of your most recent stay with us.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your Club InterContinental experience and had a most comfortable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Sydney soon!

Best Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
275 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Read the reviews for this hotel in particular before you join these programs. This Hotel seems to be a law unto themselves and they DO NOT recognise your ambassador status. I read review after review on here and they all say the same thing and the GM who seems a profoundly distorted fellow always responds and completely misses the point. The PDS says "guaranteed ROOM upgrade". The hotel policy seems to be over our rotting corpes shall we grant an upgrade especislly an upgrade to a suite? NEVER! I am a platinum Ambassador and ive stayed with IHG all over the world and this is the only IHG that pulls this rot. They have trained their staff to stop you getting upgraded. We call it the routine. We have experienced it 5 times. First they say
1. We have given you club access as an upgrade. What the? Its "guaranteed ROOM upgrade"? Oh we dont upgrade beyond a certain level? Swear to God only IHG on the planet that has this policy. Plus the club is so crowded from them pulling this srunt on other guests its not worth going.

2. If you dont accept this then they offer to take $100 off your room. Is this a market in Bali or a 5 star hotel?

3. Then they say you only get a room upgrade if you buy club with the room..Melbourne pulled this once too.

4.Last time we bought club and the reception guy had the routine down so well he offered us club as an upgrade, we said guaranteed ROOM upgrade then he said we dont go above a certain room level, then he did the $100 thing and then he thought to say the higher rooms were fully booked. It was obvious to us he was lying and you could see his arkwardness.It just feels sleezy and cheap. Like some kind of con job. I pay a premium for this membership and I pay a premium to be treated consitebtly and oredicatbly like a 5 star customer. This routine they have just makes it feel cheap and nasty and puts you off right from the start. Not the mention it is consistently embarrassing.

Now dont bother complaining, you will be ignored or get a distorted response like the ones here on Trip Advisor. IHG Sydney is a rouge operation and even complaining to even the global managers is pointless as nothing changes. My advice? When staying in Sydney particularly, use an Accor Hotel, they freely recognise your membership status and do their all to grant your entitlements in contrast to IHG who bust their backs and integrity to deny you your entitlements. And to the GM dont bother replying with your rehearsed and distorted responses there are enough reviews on here saying the same thing for to realise you need to make some changes. I hold no illusions in that regard.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Dave B,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#27 of 178 in Sydney
6,291 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Property: InterContinental Sydney
Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing