We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #26 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great view!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hotel has a great view of the harbour. It is central and close to everything ! We stayed here for the vivid light show and we loved it.

We also had some drinks at the Club InterContinental and I recommend it. We didn't stay at club InterContinental but just asked reception if we could go up. They were happy to let us up.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taassh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Taassh,

So pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the lights of Vivid and thoroughly enjoy your stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you back to the InterContinental Sydney soon!

Best Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,466
    1,273
    390
    135
    98
See reviews for
740
1,873
230
909
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The staff on arrival were most obliging and speedily directed me to a room facing the city. As I am not a great fan of sterile city blocks, I hardly ever opened the drapes as it made me feel depressed. The room was pleasant with a comfortable couch and bed whilst the bathroom was well appointed. I arranged to use the club facilities on two of the days that I stayed in the hotel and found that there were great views from the top floor of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tank09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Tank09,

We are very much appreciative of the time you have taken to write a review.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed the views from Club InterContinental throughout your stay. Perhaps on your next visit, you may want to take a look at our Eastern Harbour view rooms which have a lovely view overlooking the Royal Botanic Gardens.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Sydney soon!

Best Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here in June this year for our honeymoon and it was our first time staying at this hotel. We were greeted by the staff who were so friendly and our room was breathtaking. We stayed for 2 nights and had access to the Club Lounge upstairs and the food was the best and the 360 view was amazing! I will definitely recommend this hotel to couples, family or even by yourself. I cant wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you include the Club Lounge access when you book. You wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear JKTM,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and share your most recent experience with us. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your 2 night stay and enjoyed your Club InterContinental experience.

We hope to welcome you back for another memorable stay soon!

Warmest Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The service here was first class on every level and point of contact. The breakfasts are magnificent. Great location close to CBD, ferries, trains and Opera house. We booked a harbour view room and it delivered magic views.

Room Tip: The harbour bridge view room lived up to expectations
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Machasgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Machasgus,

We are thrilled to read your comments following your recent visit to the InterContinental Sydney!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review via TripAdvisor, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The Cortile Lounge is great for a tea time out escape , warm comfy lounge area, delectable desserts to choose from and just chill out on a late Saturday night .The pannacotta with passionfruit and blueberries was heavenly a must have ,so good and a the club samwich with egg bacon and tender chicken is light but fulfilling .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Markoelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Markoelizabeth,

Thank you very much for sharing your review following your enjoyable dining experience in the Cortile lounge at the InterContinental Sydney.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Great place to stay. Short walk to the ferries and the rail to cruise the harbour and stop wherever you want. Lunch cruise, Manly lovely, view from top of hotel worth the cost. No complaints from us. We walked, we trained it, we ferried and cruised. Not enough time to do all that can be done in Sydney . Theatres, markets, Darling Harbour, Chinese Gardens and shops.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneW1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear YvonneW1944,

Thank you for taking the time to review after your weekend in Sydney!

It certainly sounds like you made the most of our prime location and of your time in Sydney! We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Sydney soon.

Best Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

If you are coming by car, good luck finding the entrance! I have been to this hotel several times and explained to people how to find the drive in entrance and failed every time.

Being in the CBD, it gets busy, and the entrance is not obvious. If you drive past it, you can take 10 minutes getting back, so get some good directions from the hotel staff. Don't rely on GPS or you will never get there.

Pleasant stay, nice room, nice lounge area on ground floor.

Check out was very slow, but very polite and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Nick W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review via Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to read that you had troubles locating the hotel driveway entrance located on Phillip Street, however we are glad that you did have a pleasant stay despite this.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Sydney soon.

Kindest Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,403 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 178 in Sydney
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Property: InterContinental Sydney
Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing