We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Sydney
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (4,785)
Filter reviews
4,785 results
Traveller rating
2,691
1,401
435
149
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,691
1,401
435
149
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungeopera housecircular quaybotanical gardensharbour bridge view roomtreasury buildingmeat winewindow seattop floorseafood buffethigh tearooftop barfive star hotelshower curtaincorner roomlate checkoutan upgrade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,153 - 4,158 of 4,785 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2009

I have stayed in this hotel a few times in recent years, most recently a couple of weeks ago for 2 nights for work purposes. Being a Royal Ambassador member, I was nevertheless pleased to receive an upgrade to a Club room, and have to acknowledge the many other reviews suggesting the views from the Club Lounge are absolutely spectacular...As a former Sydneysider of 10 years, I was surprised the impact the view of the Harbour, the Bridge and Opera House had on me.

Pleasingly, the food selection and service at the Lounge were of a commensurate standard.

Facilities in the Hotel were OK, not the best Gym, not the best Pool, but both sufficient.

Rooms were very good, Beds / Pillows were what you would expect and the overall In-Room experience everything you could ask for.

Having traveled a fair bit over the years, I would have to say this Hotel is right at the very pinnacle of accommodation options in Aust. and certainly compares very favorably with International 5 Star hotels I have seen.

Great hotel, great location and great service..Enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Advisors_r_Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2009

Dear Advisors_r_Us,

Thank you for your very positive feedback. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your Club InterContinental experience. The Club lounge with its sweeping views and high level of service, is a favourite Sydney location for many of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next choose to stay with us at InterContinental Sydney.

Yours sincerely

Fred Matti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

I stayed for six nights at this hotel -- it was my second stay at the Intercontinental in Sydney. I have stayed at many other hotels in Sydney. I was in a corner room with a full view of the Harbor Bridge. Unfortunately the Opera House view was partially blocked but I cannot complain. The hotel service was quick and efficient -- luggage reached the room on my arrival before me. There is a wonderful top floor pool -- it is too small and it closes at 9 pm -- but it has a spa yet and the view of the Harbor from the top is great. The food at the hotel is overpriced and not particularly good -- but Circulay Quay is a short distance away. This would be an excellent hotel for a holiday -- it is a little bit far to talk to Darling Harbor if your business is in that area but it is not too hard to get around downtown Sydney.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghfatw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2009

Dear ghfatw,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at InterContinental Sydney and hope to welcome you back when you next visit Sydney.

Yours sincerely

Fred Matti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

When we checked-in, late at night, we were disappointed to find that despite re-confirming by e-mail a few days beforehand, our reservation was incorrect. This was not the fault of the hotel but due to confusion at Priority Club over our Platinum Priority Club status and our more recent Ambassador membership. In a full hotel, this meant that they were unable to offer us the guaranteed room upgrade - one of our key reasons for choosing this hotel against other chains. However, after a little gentle persistence, in lieu of the room upgrade we were offered use of the Club facilities, which for us was actually nicer.
The room was plush and comfortable and although initially we were disappointed to have a view of an office block a few metres away, this was more than made up for by the view from the Club. We took breakfast there - definitely a cut above the usual Club Lounge fare - and were very well looked-after. One afternoon we popped in for afternoon tea while we took a break from seeing the sights and a couple of evenings we tried the cocktails and canapes, again, a very pleasant experience.
If there is a downside, it is the cost of parking but then that's true of Sydney as a whole. We decided that whilst in the city, a car was actually a hindrance because of the cost to park so we collected it after we checked out and headed off for the rest of our break.
After the initial confused start, we had a delightful stay. The location was excellent, the staff friendly, the room quiet and comfortable (though the bathroom was very small it was nicely equipped) and we would definitely recommend this hotel to friends. I'm sure that we will go back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MM2H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2009

Dear MM2H,

Thank you for your review. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your Club InterContinental experience and hope to welcome you back when you next choose to stay with us in Sydney.

Yours sincerely

Fred Matti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

The location is extremely close to Circular Quay. The service was the best that I experienced in Australia and some of the best in the world. The breakfast buffet was also the best that I had sampled in Australia. The only negative is that appreciation in the Australian dollar has made the American dollar price of this hotel merely a good bargain compared to similar properties like the Hyatt and Observatory instead of an absolute steal. The indoor pool had wonderful views of the Harbour.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcushall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2009

Dear marcushall,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for sharing the great photos. We were particularly pleased to read your comments about our team as we are very proud of them - they play an essential role in delivering a unique experience. Again, thank you for your review, I have passed your feedback regarding breakfast to our Executive Chef and look forward to welcoming you again when you next visit Sydney.

Yours sincerely

Fred Matti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

The intercontinental is about two long blocks from the Opera House, across the street from botanical gardens and their fruit bats, two blocks from circular quay [key], and a short 15 minute walks to Hyde Park, the Australia Museum, the fine arts museum, and the bridge among others. It is everything you would expect from an Intercontinental property. And, a VERY helpful staff. One of the staff escorted us into the Club room on the 32nd floor to take some great pictures of the harbor, gardens, etc.

The first thing to know about Sydney is that it is expensive in comparison to US prices. $3 or more for a 355 ml [12 oz] Coke is just a simple example. Across the street from the hotel and down an escalator is a food court. Great selection of "to go" food and beverages at competitive prices. Also, a small but good grocery store. However, it is only open M-F from about 7am-5pm. There is a marvelous 24 hour diner on the circular quay [roughly at the entrance to Quay 4] that is often packed with locals in the afternoons. Very reasonable [by Sydney standards prices], good service, and good food.

Sydney is a "what's not to like" city. This intercontinental is a "what's not to like" hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlandDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2009

Dear AlandDiane,

Thank you for your review. We were very pleased to read your comments about our team who take pride in delivering the highest level of service to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Sydney.

Yours sincerely

Fred Matti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews