We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will certainly book again if I am in Sydney”
Review of Macleay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macleay Hotel
Ranked #43 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Will certainly book again if I am in Sydney”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

So I read the reviews here on trip advisor and decided I would give the macleay hotel a try. I have been living in Au for a while and my wife was traveling over from the states to visit me for part of my R&R before a week in Fiji. A few weeks before our trip I called the hotel and spoke to a gentleman from sweeden that was working the desk. I asked him several questions about the hotel and about arranging transportation to the hotel from the airport. After a few minutes I had all the information that I needed. Boy was I surprised during check in when it was the same gentleman helping me get checked in that I had spoken to on the phone and he remembered our conversation. I can not stress how helpful he was and friendly he was. I found all the staff to be very helpful.

If you are wondering how to get to the hotel then I can tell you the 3 options that you have. Taxi= approx $45, train $17 or a group shuttle which I recomend $12. The shuttle can be arranged at the airport and the hotel will arrange your return transfer.

Now on to what everyone wants to know about the hotel.

Location. This hotel was very close to everything we wanted to do. It's about a 10 min walk to kingscross train station, 3 mins to the bus stop and is within walking distance to many other places. The only downside to its location is on a friday or saturday night the traffic coming out of kingscross can be kind of loud.

View. We had a room on the 6th floor and had a nice view from our room.

Room. The room had everything we needed. The bed was fairly comfortable. Room was clean. Kitchen supplies were a nice bonus. The bathroom is a bit dated and the shower is small but it worked for everything we needed.

The hotel offers free wifi in the lobby area which is a very nice bonus in australia as it seems everyone wants to charge for internet.

At the end of our trip we were coming back from Fiji and staying in Sydney for a few more nights and I made the mistake of not booking the Macleay Hotel for our return trip. I will not mention the hotel we stayed at for the return trip but you can look at my other reviews to find out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor overlooking the opera house and harbour bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOBX_BeachBum_4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    368
    102
    28
    17
See reviews for
202
319
85
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The great things about the Macleay are the location and the very friendly and helpful reception staff. It is a few minutes walk either to the Kings Cross area for public transport and or in the other direction to Woolloomooloo, the Botanic Gardens and the harbour-front walk.

The hotel is on a quiet, tree-lined street with wide pavements and elegant cafes - there is a sort of Paris feel to the place. There are some up-market restaurants right around the corner and the closer you walk towards Kings Cross the cheaper the restaurants and cafes become.

The rooms are referred to as apartments but they are really too small for that with very basic cooking facilities. Don't expect too much of the 'harbourview' promise - one side has pretty views directly onto Elizabeth and Rushcutter Bays and the other more distant views of the bridge. But you won't be spending much time in the rooms - more so in the cafes around or on the harbour.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hotel is fine for loction BUT we came for a holiday work on the exterior of the building onthe sixth floor started at 7.00am swearing workmen woke us could not rest in the afternoon bloody hammer drillimg The response was apauing from management one notice in the elevator saying noise would not start till 9.00am when work started at 8.00 but they sat outside the window for half an hour before. How trip advisor could possiblily award this place is beyond the pale ensure that you make sure you can rest on your holiday. The triple rooms are very small if you have three suitcases I wish you luck NOT HAPPY

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrtiistopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korsoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

After being to a konference in Melbourne I went on a week's holiday in Sydney. I stayed at Macleays Hotel in Potts Point, only half an hour's walk through the Botanical Garden to the Opera House. The rooms are very bright, well maintained and very clean. The staff is very service minded and always ready to assist you. I would definitely choose to stay at the Macleay Hotel when ever I visit Sydney again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to Elisabeth Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelleFrandsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Excellent choice for a moderately priced serviced apartment. Located in Potts Point with amazing views of the harbor and city sky line. We stayed on the 9th floor. Has all the amenities needed with an array of shops, laundromats, markets and countless restaurants/cafes on your door step. The kitchenette is small but suits all your needs for a couple of days. A small list of things to fix: more sturdy ironing board, better tv reception, slightly bigger bar style fridge would be preferable, non slip mat in bathtub and more power points. Other than that would highly recommend and would visit Macleay's again!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room for the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tassh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We spent 4 days in this hotel in Sydney's Potts Point and did not have one complaint (except the rain) The staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful and fulfilled all of our requirements. Our room although reasonably small had a fabulous view of Elizabeth Bay which made the space seem bigger. The room and ensuite were very clean, adequately furnished and quite new. The hotels location meant that we walking everywhere - to the art gallery, the multitude of restaurants in Macleay Street and Elizabeth Bay and Rushcutters Bay. Great stay a definite for next Sydney visit.

Room Tip: should ensure a view over Elizabeth Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We loved this hotel as it accomodate our needs.We are on the 7th floor which overlook both the harbour n Opera House.It was amazing!

Hotel staffs were helpful,friendly n patient with all our enquiries.Though there was reno going on,it did not dampen our spirits.Security was good as only guest with keys are allowed to use the lifts.But we were unable to use free wifi in our rooms,as it's only avail at the lobby.Halal food is not a prob though,we found 3 halal outlets which sell kebabs n indian cuisine,within a walking dist.

Overall,we enjoyed ourselves tremendously :) Yann & Zull

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YantySurinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,004 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#44 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#36 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#37 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Hotel

Property: Macleay Hotel
Address: 28 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macleay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Macleay has one of Sydney's most coveted locations in stylish Potts Point, with captivating views of Sydney Harbour or The Brige & Opera House. The views and location are million dollar, but the rates for our self contained studio apartments with kitchen are very affordable. You can stroll to Sydney's most famous landmarks, walk to Circular Quay or be in the heart of the city in just five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macleay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Serviced Apartment Sydney
Hotel Macleay Serviced Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing