We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Australia day long weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Macleay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macleay Hotel
Ranked #41 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Australia day long weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Booked two rooms for the Australia Day long weekend and loved it! Rooms are spacious and have everything you need! We were mainly using the hotel as a base only really there to get ready and to get some shut eye! Perfect location only a short stroll to Kings cross and very easy to get taxis to and from.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimy_Baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    365
    101
    28
    17
See reviews for
201
317
85
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at this apart hotel for 6 nights. We choose it for close proximity to the City. We requested a room at the front of the hotel on as higher floor as possible.
Our flight arrived in Sydney at 7.00am we were not looking forward to the wait to check in. We arrived at the hotel at about 08.30 and asked if we could leave our luggage. The reception staff were very welcoming and suggested we go for breakfast and by the time we return our room would be ready. It was it was on the 9th floor (top) and faced the city skyline of Sydney with a uninterrupted view of the view of the city the Bridge and the Opera House.
The reception staff took time to explain the best things to do and gave a great tip on buying a weekly transport pass $au 58 that gave unlimited access to buses, trains and the wonderful ferries. The city was a 5minute bus ride. The bus stops about 50 m from the hotel entrance. There are many shops and restaurants close buy.The room was very good big enough with a kitchenette.
In conclusion a very good hotel, excellent helpful staff with views that are to die for.
.

Room Tip: 9th floor facing the road. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Room 813 was everything we had hoped for .... a perfect view of the Opera House and Bridge one way and Elizabeth Bay the other. The room was very clean and tidy, mini bar was well stocked too. A well placed hotel within walking distance of eateries and bars and a 25 minute walk to the Opera House through the lovely Botanical Gardens.
We couldn't fault it at the price when you consider what you'd pay closer to that view !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieS1365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Without a doubt the highlight of our room was the view of the Opera House and Sydney Bridge. Even on a rainy day, looking out over the harbor is a special experience for visitors like us. The desk staff were also friendly. As other reviewers have noted, the rooms are very snug - we had space for a small kitchenette and two full beds, a small dresser with TV on top and a small round table with two chairs and not another spare inch. My wife, 2 boys (16 and 12) and I synchronized our moves to minimize bumping into each other, but had not come to Sydney to spend time in our hotel room. The hotel is located in Potts Point, which is near Kings Cross Station; if you take the train from the airport, you will have to change trains at Central. When you exit at Kings Cross, you will walk past a variety of tattoo parlors, strip clubs and nightspots - this is apparently part of Sydney's youth hostel and "party area." The good news is that beginning about 3 blocks from the hotel, the neighborhood improves quite a bit, with many cafes, shops and delis. There is a Woolworths across the street, and many more restaurants a few blocks away (take a right out of the hotel, first left on Challis Ave, then McElhoe Stairs down to the harbor to the Finger Wharf. If you keep walking along the water, you will reach The Domain and Royal Botanical Gardens and reach other harbor attractions through these. It was easy to catch a cab from here back to the airport.

Room Tip: rooms ending in 1 and 14 are right next to the elevators, but were still pretty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Room was much smaller than expected and compared to apartments we had stayed in at Melbourne and Perth on same trip, just didn't compare. Room was compact and bathroom very small. Needed modernisation. It was clean though and staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't mind the walk into the city and close by was the bustling Kings Cross area which catered for all sorts. Also within walking distance was Finger Wharf in Woolloomooloo which had some nice restaurants albeit quite expensive.

We enjoyed it, you soon get used to your accommodation especially if it's clean, but it was small and dated.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Taking into account the relatively modest tariff in Sydney terms, this hotel is very good value for money. Our room on the seventh floor had a kitchenette, which I believe all the rooms do, which is a great money saver, and there is a full sized Woolworths right across the street. The hotel looks to be 1960s vintage and is fairly plain but solid and well built, so there was no noise from other guests or from the lift even though we were quite near it. We had a fabulous view of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge in one direction and out to the Heads in the other, with just a bit in the middle obscured by a building. I think floors eight and nine would have uninterrupted views. The room was spotless. Reception staff were lovely, the nicest and most helpful I have found in Sydney. It gives a good impression when reception staff are not only competent but seem happy in their work. Security is good, with 24 hour reception and key-only access above the ground floor. There is a small pool with harbour view, even a terrace with barbecues. Overall, this hotel enhanced our Sydney stay in a way larger and more impressive looking hotels never have.

Room Tip: Choose floors eight and nine for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizfromNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

What has the Macleay Hotel in Sydney got that the ...
The Paris Hilton, New York Waldorf Astoria and The Ritz in London haven't ?

THE MOST AMAZING PANORAMIC VIEWS OF THE SYDNEY OPERA HOUSE, HARBOUR AND BRIDGE.

Ok this may not be a 5 star hotel, but the staff are the most helpful and pleasant I have come across in all the years I have been a traveller. Plus the location is handy for all the sights.

All in all a very pleasant experience with adequate accommodation
We stopped in room 914 ( see photos )

Room Tip: Try and book room rooms on the 9 th Floor at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidLancashireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,922 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#35 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Hotel

Property: Macleay Hotel
Address: 28 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macleay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Macleay has one of Sydney's most coveted locations in stylish Potts Point, with captivating views of Sydney Harbour or The Brige & Opera House. The views and location are million dollar, but the rates for our self contained studio apartments with kitchen are very affordable. You can stroll to Sydney's most famous landmarks, walk to Circular Quay or be in the heart of the city in just five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macleay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Serviced Apartment Sydney
Hotel Macleay Serviced Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing