We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view”
Review of Macleay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macleay Hotel
Ranked #44 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Excellent location-beautiful view from room-windows open-free wireless 50 mbs per day for up to 2 devices-bed not very comfortable but kitchen is well equipped-excellent shower-supermarket across the road and lots of eating places- do explore the streets around you and especially Elizabeth bay house-Staff were amazing especially Cyrus who went out of his way to assist us with whatever we asked- same goes for Harry

Room Tip: Get higher room facing the harbor worth the upgrade!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    380
    105
    29
    17
See reviews for
212
332
89
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed in a twin room (713) with an amazing view of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge to one side and Elizabeth Bay to the other. Awesome!!!! Reception was most helpful and very friendly, booking a massage at Alkaline just up the road for us and advising on all manner of things. This is unusual for a city hotel I've found in Sydney before. Parking is an added bonus and so convenient straight under the building. A $20 taxi fare to anywhere you desire in the city, Darling Harbour or King Street Wharf restaurants. A full Woolworths is across the road with BWS. The kitchenette and larger fridge make you much more self contained.
The room was generous size had a table and chairs. Bathroom is a little pokey but adequate.
Would definitely recommend and will stay again.

Room Tip: It can't hurt to ask for a view here as they are definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crossbordertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked 2 nights in the Macleay Hotel because of the disappointing experience at another hotel in the same area...What a difference...Effective and courteous staff at the receptions 2 lifts to go up or down to or from the room...it seems trivial and unnecessary to mention the lifts but believe me climbing narrow stairs with heavy medium to large luggages is an experience I did not want to repeat after 3 nights at the previous hotel which did not have lift. The room is what I wanted: not luxury but clean simple, stylish but not exuberant, comfortable and quiet. A view to the harbour and the street and the noise not being noticeable or disturbing if any. Air-con available not that we needed it as it was a temperate weather during our stay but the temperature being maintained at the same level made it worth. Good size bathroom. good size room with kitchen facilities and table. Very good value for money. Did not regret cancelling my booking at the previous hotel for getting in this one even if It was a bit more expensive. Close by the woolworths and many good restaurants and cafes. recommended Alphawolf 14

Room Tip: Best choice in the area yet not too expensive, good value for money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alphawolf14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Booked two rooms for the Australia Day long weekend and loved it! Rooms are spacious and have everything you need! We were mainly using the hotel as a base only really there to get ready and to get some shut eye! Perfect location only a short stroll to Kings cross and very easy to get taxis to and from.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimy_Baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at this apart hotel for 6 nights. We choose it for close proximity to the City. We requested a room at the front of the hotel on as higher floor as possible.
Our flight arrived in Sydney at 7.00am we were not looking forward to the wait to check in. We arrived at the hotel at about 08.30 and asked if we could leave our luggage. The reception staff were very welcoming and suggested we go for breakfast and by the time we return our room would be ready. It was it was on the 9th floor (top) and faced the city skyline of Sydney with a uninterrupted view of the view of the city the Bridge and the Opera House.
The reception staff took time to explain the best things to do and gave a great tip on buying a weekly transport pass $au 58 that gave unlimited access to buses, trains and the wonderful ferries. The city was a 5minute bus ride. The bus stops about 50 m from the hotel entrance. There are many shops and restaurants close buy.The room was very good big enough with a kitchenette.
In conclusion a very good hotel, excellent helpful staff with views that are to die for.
.

Room Tip: 9th floor facing the road. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Room 813 was everything we had hoped for .... a perfect view of the Opera House and Bridge one way and Elizabeth Bay the other. The room was very clean and tidy, mini bar was well stocked too. A well placed hotel within walking distance of eateries and bars and a 25 minute walk to the Opera House through the lovely Botanical Gardens.
We couldn't fault it at the price when you consider what you'd pay closer to that view !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieS1365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Without a doubt the highlight of our room was the view of the Opera House and Sydney Bridge. Even on a rainy day, looking out over the harbor is a special experience for visitors like us. The desk staff were also friendly. As other reviewers have noted, the rooms are very snug - we had space for a small kitchenette and two full beds, a small dresser with TV on top and a small round table with two chairs and not another spare inch. My wife, 2 boys (16 and 12) and I synchronized our moves to minimize bumping into each other, but had not come to Sydney to spend time in our hotel room. The hotel is located in Potts Point, which is near Kings Cross Station; if you take the train from the airport, you will have to change trains at Central. When you exit at Kings Cross, you will walk past a variety of tattoo parlors, strip clubs and nightspots - this is apparently part of Sydney's youth hostel and "party area." The good news is that beginning about 3 blocks from the hotel, the neighborhood improves quite a bit, with many cafes, shops and delis. There is a Woolworths across the street, and many more restaurants a few blocks away (take a right out of the hotel, first left on Challis Ave, then McElhoe Stairs down to the harbor to the Finger Wharf. If you keep walking along the water, you will reach The Domain and Royal Botanical Gardens and reach other harbor attractions through these. It was easy to catch a cab from here back to the airport.

Room Tip: rooms ending in 1 and 14 are right next to the elevators, but were still pretty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,142 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#46 of 179 in Sydney
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#38 of 179 in Sydney
1,639 reviews
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Hotel

Property: Macleay Hotel
Address: 28 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macleay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Macleay has one of Sydney's most coveted locations in stylish Potts Point, with captivating views of Sydney Harbour or The Brige & Opera House. The views and location are million dollar, but the rates for our self contained studio apartments with kitchen are very affordable. You can stroll to Sydney's most famous landmarks, walk to Circular Quay or be in the heart of the city in just five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Macleay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Serviced Apartment Sydney
Hotel Macleay Serviced Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing