We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff, wonderful views”
Review of Macleay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macleay Hotel
Ranked #48 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2009

We stayed at Macleay apartments for 7 nights. The stay was wonderful, they allowed us to check in at 10.00am as our room was ready, which after such a long flight was great. Our room had the most glorious views over Elizabeth Bay - the sunrise in particular was spectacular. Our room was compact but had everything we needed with basic kitchen facilities. The location was great with easy access to excellent restaurants and great transport links to the City. Best of all though were the staff they could not have been bettered. My husband had his wallet stolen by a pickpocket in one of the cities bars, the staff were great with very useful advice and checking that our cards had been stopped. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennyandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 779 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2009

Our stay in Sydney was part of a tour around Australia and having already stayed in serviced apartments in Perth and Cairns, the Macleay was certainly the best. The front office manager was very helpful and informative upon our arrival. I am sure this enabled us to get the most out of our 5 days in Sydney. The room was very comfortable with beautiful views of the Opera House and Harbour bridge. The standard of cleanliness is also very high. It is a lovley area with an interesting mix of people and so close to the train and bus service. There is a grocery store and lovely delicatessen opposite and plenty of cafes/restaurants. I would return to Macleay and recommend it to anyone. Thank you Macleay!

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank sunnyMorayScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

We have just spent 16 very enjoyable days at the Macleay Serviced Apartments and would like to sing their praises. The views from our room was spectacular, the room was well appointed , the position in Potts Point is excellent for restaurants etc and the service from the staff was brilliant. We will definitely stay here again

Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
1  Thank DandCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

We spent 11 days here immediately before Xmas, staying in a serviced apartment with a harbour view and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The amenities are good, the servicing could not be faulted, the accoutrements were of a proper standard and the reception staff were friendly and helpful. We felt comfortable there.
The location and surrounding area are both good, it is on a bus route and there is a railway station within a reasonable walkable distance.
We have no hesitation in recommending it

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Leedsroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Arrived from New Zealand on tour greeted at reception with a warm welcome, at asking how we are and formaly greeting us. We had booked a Harbour view room we were on the 7 floor room nu 710 from this room you could see over the Botanical Gardens Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House it got a wow factor from us at night dusk you can see the bats flying over the park to the Manly its a great sight. Room well equipt plenty of space and the with all you need, Buses right outside hotel, did not use pool as to cold and not enough time. We would deffinetly stay there again and recomend to our friends Pam And Ian Dawes

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ian025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

The only available room was one of the cheaper 'district'' view rooms, not one of the ones with a harbour view but when we arrived we were offered one with a little peep of Elizabeth Bay and its own patio area which was great. (BBQ also available)
The first floor is a smoking floor but this wasn't a problem and I'm usually very fussy about the smell of cigarette smoke. All in all we were very pleased with the hotel, and I agree with other comments: clean, smallish, very convenient, friendly helpful staff, great location good kitchenette with a cook top available as well as a microwave, etc.and good value.
A few very small gripes: no bedside lights but when we asked we were immediately given one. Fairly quiet where we were although we could hear the chairs being scraped on the floor in the upstairs room, fortunately not all night!
Finally the perfumed smell in the room was a little overwhelming and I sneezed a fair bit for the first night, fortunately warm enough to have the windows open but I do wonder why hotels use these highly scented products. Is it to mask some other smell? like cigarette smoke>?

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OliveNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

We stayed here for 6 nights in August and had a great time. The room though very small was very clean with excellent views. The beds were comfortable and the small kitchenette was very functional.
There is a building going up next door, actually about 12 inches is next door, so that was quite noisy in the morning but it got us up and out.
It is a little bit of a walk to the Circular Quay but very nice through the Botanic Gardens. You can also take the bus, i think it is #311 right from the front door, or the Kings Cross Train Station is about a 5 minute walk. There is a grocery store directly accross the street.
I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#36 of 180 in Sydney
4,328 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#53 of 180 in Sydney
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
#132 of 180 in Sydney
3 reviews
Quest Potts Point
#80 of 180 in Sydney
546 reviews
Hotel Challis
#50 of 180 in Sydney
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Hotel

Address: 28 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £98 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macleay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Macleay has one of Sydney's most coveted locations in stylish Potts Point, with captivating views of Sydney Harbour or The Brige & Opera House. The views and location are million dollar, but the rates for our self contained studio apartments with kitchen are very affordable. You can stroll to Sydney's most famous landmarks, walk to Circular Quay or be in the heart of the city in just five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Macleay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Serviced Apartment Sydney
Hotel Macleay Serviced Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing