We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No complaints just gratitude” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macleay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macleay Hotel
Ranked #41 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No complaints just gratitude”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

Some folk do like like to have a good old whinge! Sorry, other reviews motivated me to write. We stayed here for 11 nights in June and found everything as advertised to be just grand. I also concur with the reviewr who said that the staff were so helpful and friendly. We knew what we were doing for the 11 days that were there so it suited us just great to come back and relax. It was also cerainly value for money.
Thanks again to all at Macleays and best wishes to you all.

Stayed June 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank albertmunroscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    359
    98
    28
    17
See reviews for
196
315
82
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaitaia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

We were very disappointed in these apartments. After checking out other trip advisor reviews we chose this one mainly due to the view and location. The views were fine if you stood up but the room was far too small and not suitable with a teenage son in tow. It was very much in need of redecoration and the lifts were very suspect. Ceiling tiles were coming off the ceiling, but it is obviously undergoing renovation. Very close to Kings Cross which was not such a good thing. The only redeeming feature was that it was quiet and the staff pleasant. I would certainly not recommend these apartments to families more suited for back packer type accommodation. We checked out after the first night and found the perfect apartment closer to the city and for an extra $5 a night - The York Apartments which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaitaiaAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

stopped here for 3 nights after 3 weeks on the road. deliberately chose top (9th floor) room for harbour views and we were not disappointed !! amazing views over city & harbour from big windows. rooms comfy with small kitchenette (adequate.)

some building work in near vicinity at time which caused bit of noise at the time including right next door which may now have restricted view from some rooms.

also good location - 15 min stroll from main car hire offices and lots of food/drink places in local area (Kings Cross.) Even a Woolies supermarket !!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

In two months of travelling this was the only place where we had any cause to complain. The room had apparently been renovated but it already looked tired and worn with exposed wiring and pencil markings on the wall. The bathroom looked very old and staff later confirmed these had not been part of the renovation. The first room we were in overlooked a building site and the hot plate had to be plugged in partailly hanging over the sink with the wire going across the sink, VERY DANGEROUS! We spoke to the gentleman on reception who seemd unimpressed and informed us the room we were in was already an upgrade (!) to harbour view even though it was mostly building site view. The manager came and spoke to us and although she didn't seem very pleased showed us a much nicer alternative room where we could safely plug in the hot plate and with a nice view of the Harbour Bridge and city. Also, the free in room movie channels advertised were 'broken' the entire 17 days we were there and the free gym was not on site but a 10 minute walk away. Once there, facilities were sufficient but it was in the red light district which may put some people off, especially lone women at night. We appreciated being moved, and the hotel was in a good location (as long as you don't mind walking a bit) but we felt it was not as advertised and some of the staff were reluctant to help.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CandELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

My friend and I recently stayed w/Macleay and are very happy that we did! Although the rooms are a bit small, they had everything fully stocked and the room overall was clean. The location at Potts Point is superior to all of the main attractions! In fact, our walk to the Opera House through Botanical Gardens was simple as well as beautiful! However, my personal highlight of our stay was how well management and front desk personnel went out of their way to help us with several things such as "don't miss" local places and "how to get around" with high-lighted maps and all! Even made phone calls on our behalf so that we didn't have to use BlackBerry Global service. During our stay, I managed to leave clothes at a prior hotel on the Gold Coast and the Manager, Susan, took her time to follow-up with the once lost box, re-addressed it, and then took it to the "post" to mail to me in the States! When I offered to tip her for her help, she replied "thanks, but no thanks. It's my job to assure your stay with us was a pleasant one". Ask for Susan when you check in and tell her "Holly from the States" recommended you!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelwithmeArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

Beautiful view, excellent location, great 311-the bus defront your door for everywere what is important in Sydney.
You have woolworth oposite your door, a great café and a Deli for delicious food. The hotel is cheap, clean and calm. The air conditioned is eficient and quiet. You have a small pool.

Its the best!

Thank you Susan at the reception-You give me the best help in the world!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evelynFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops B.C.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

What a wonderful hotel! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. The room, thought quite compact and a bit ‘dated’ in decor, was clean and comfortable. It was on a bus route that got us to the Circular Quay in about 15 minutes. (From there we could get anywhere!) We would definitely stay there if we ever happened to be in Sydney again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneSpecialBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,845 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Inner South
Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Hotel

Property: Macleay Hotel
Address: 28 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macleay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Macleay has one of Sydney's most coveted locations in stylish Potts Point, with captivating views of Sydney Harbour or The Brige & Opera House. The views and location are million dollar, but the rates for our self contained studio apartments with kitchen are very affordable. You can stroll to Sydney's most famous landmarks, walk to Circular Quay or be in the heart of the city in just five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Macleay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Serviced Apartment Sydney
Hotel Macleay Serviced Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing