We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Ranked #70 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Brilliant location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights here while in Sydney for work. Very impressed. Comfortable bed, comfortable living space, lovely and quiet. The kitchen is fitted out with only the bare basics, but it's okay. However the location is superb for whatever you need to do in the CBD. Reception is staffed 24/7 and the staff were helpful when needed. I will most definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Ellyn M,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
The Team & I are happy that everything during your stay with us was to your satisafaction.
Regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    367
    142
    42
    32
See reviews for
185
280
62
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had a three night stay in February 2014. on arrival at the Madina we were shattered with having travelled from the UK with out a stop over.
Wew were informed our room would be ready at 14.00, this was at 09.00 hrs, the look on our faces must have shown we were in desperate need of a sleep, we were given our room within the hour.
The room was just right, very clean with a fitted kitchen with a fridge freezer all the tools required for making meals if required, the bed was very comfortable, we were made to feel welcome by the staff for the three days of our stay before joining our cruise ship in Sydney.
The room had a washing machine tumble drier and a shower, some people commented on the hight of the shower cubicle, it's the same hight of a bath, it caused no problem getting in and out for us.
We would use this hotel again with out any hesitation at all the location is just right for Sydney Bridge and Darling Harbour also lots of eating places around.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drofekaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear drofekaw,
thanks for taking the time out to write your review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & that everyhting was to your satisfaction.
Hope you had a great cruise.
Regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken hill,
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We were welcomed by Rose at reception, who was very efficient and friendly. Out room was great, very clean, had everything we needed (and more). Was quiet and we had a great nights sleep on an excellent bed. On checkout we wanted to leave our luggage for a few hours and reception were great. They made you feel that absolutely nothing was too much trouble and we were treated like VIP's. Very nice. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevesandy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear stevesandy50,
thank you for taking the time out to write a review.
I'm very happy that you found your stay with us to your satisfaction.
I will pass on your comments to the Team.
Perhaps we'll see you again one day.
Regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oz
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Great location- it's just across Martin Place station. Shopping is handy as there are plenty to choose from. Coles Express is just a block away.
Check in & our services are seamless. Thanks to Rosa Kim!
Apartment has full kitchen facilities. Excellent comfortable bed which made a very pleasant stay. Definitely look forward to stay there again.
For those driving there, please note there is no onsite parking.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank IshahOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear ishahOz,
thank you for takiing the time to write a review.
We are so glad that your stay with us was an enjoyable one.
I will pass on your comments about Rosa to her.
regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here for only one night as a young couple going to a concert at the Sydney Opera House. It took a little while to find the place and a carpark, due to Sydney's roads, though once out of the car, travelling was a breeze, and we opted to walk everywhere.The location was GREAT. It took us maybe 15 mins to walk to the Opera House. It was about a 20-30 min walk for us to get from Chinatown or Darling Harbour back to the hotel. It was also one of the cheapest places to stay for the area.

The apartment was spacious with everything we needed. It's not a fancy place by any means, but it was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was a little on the smaller side, and ours had a shower over the bath which made it a little tricky to get in and out of. If you would have trouble with this, maybe they have other rooms which are more suitable. We had a balcony, which was nice, but overlooked an alleyway and the high walls of other buildings, so not too atmospheric. The bed gave us a decent sleep, so no complaints there. :) I believe the place was booked out on the night we stayed, but we wouldn't have known it, as it was very quiet, which was perfect!

We didn't have much interaction with the staff, but every time we saw them, they always gave us a friendly smile, which was nice!

Overall, I would definitely recommend for the price and location. You may not get luxury accommodation here, but you WILL get everything you need to make your stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: We had a room right on an outer corner which was very quiet, although no view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Akaura,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
We are very happy that you found everything to your liking while you stayed with us.
Hopefully we will be able to greet you again someday.
regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

On arrival we were checked-in earlier, which was nice. The studio apartment that my partner and I stayed in for 3 nights was spacious, however for the first day it had a really stale smell to it. We believed that no one had stayed in the apartment for a while. Noise from the construction could be heard from our apartment on the 5th floor. One towel left by the cleaners was dirty and hair was hanging from it. The shower floor was also dirty. The showers are horrible! When I initially used the shower the water that came out was brown! Not to mention that you had to leap to get into it. The water pressure was beyond terrible. On our final night I could not mix the water in the shower at all. It was either too hot or too cold. And after coming back to the apartment from an outing, we discovered that our kitchen floor had been flooded by the dishwasher that was turned on by the cleaners. I had put a complaint through to Kun regarding the shower and dishwasher and he looked at me like he didn't understand what I was saying. Then he started getting aggressive and said to me rudely "what do you want me to do about it?" I had asked him initially to come and have a look and to send someone to fix this immediately at which he refused. I have never experienced such rude customer service. He was also on the phone (disinterested) on our first night when we asked for simply how to get to Chinatown. The lady that was training apologised that she couldn't help us. Absolutely not her fault but where are Kun's manners? Being an experienced traveler I have never come across such hostile and poor customer service. Seeing there are a few reviews here complaining about the staff it would be nice if something is done about this. Warren and Rosa were very helpful, but Kun really did not help an already bad situation. Overall, I think the location of the apartments is fantastic and I probably would still recommend them due to this. If we stayed one night with the issues we had it would've been bearable. However, dysfunctional showers are unacceptable for a 3 night stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ned88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Ned88,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
I have passed on to Housekeeping your comments. Hopefully you reported these things at the time so that we could rectify them.
I have spoken to Kun regarding his attitude towards you & have reiterated that we have to remain "hospitable" at all times.
We couldn't move you to another room as we were fully booked out.
As you said the comments we get about our staff are always good.
Hopefully this is a one off experience and that we might see you again in the future.
Regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

After you get a hang of the elevator, the Medina is easy to love. The pool is nice, even at night. The gym was small but sufficient. The workers at the front desk were so helpful in booking us a taxi for the next day. It's literally steps outside of Sydney Central Station, and close to restaurants and shopping. Nice, spacious rooms with a very comfortable couch, bed, and clean bathroom. This was our second time staying, and won't be our last!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherhousekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Heatherhousekn,
thank you for writng your review.
However I am sure you are meaning Adina Central Station and not Medina MartinPlace.
I will pass on your comments to them.
Regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Property: Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Address: 1 Hosking Pl, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Sydney
#65 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotelopia so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Classic Martin Place Hotel Sydney
Medina Classic Martin Place Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing