We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of an refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Ranked #90 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I recently spent. 5 nights in a one bedroom apartment. I was on level 5, direct view to the office building. After 5 nights I was very glad to be leaving. Good location, but the room was seriously in need of refurbishment. Walls had scuff marks, furniture was damaged, kitchen was fairly dirty. Plus, the staff were lovely and very helpful.

Room Tip: Sorry I can only say, don't get 502. not a great location, with noise every morning from garbage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Odi_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Odi,
thank you for taking the time out to write a review.
I'm very sorry that the room wasn't up to your expectations.
Hopefully you reported these things to us during your stay.
I will pass on your comments to the relevant departments.
All of the rooms face the same way as yours did, i.e. to Hosking Place, and we only have seven floors. Noise is greatly subdued when the double glazing doors and windows are fully closed.
I will also pass on your comments about the Staff to them.
Regards, Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Fantastic location, office staff helpful 24hrs, great room, well equipped incl kitchen, noise outside but did not worry. Only problem was smelly food rubbish found under sink. Office staff helpful with cleanup

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catharina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Catharina,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
It was good to hear that you still enjoyed your stay with us despite that incident with the rubbish bag which had been left tucked away under the kitchen sink.
As you know we attended to your report straight away.
This was also reported to the Housekeeping management who in turn spoke to their staff.
Best regards, Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here for four nights in August and really enjoyed it. I had booked a studio room but we were given a one bedroom. It had a full kitchen with oven, dishwasher, microwave, fridge/freezer and laundry with a washing machine, dryer and laundry tub. There was a tv in the bedroom as well as the lounge, and the room had a balcony. The view from the balcony wasn't that appealing (overlooking the alley and construction going on nearby) but still nice to have.

The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean, the shower is over a fairly deep square tub, which could be difficult for older people to climb into and out of.

Some of the cleaning could have been to a higher standard — hairs on one of the blankets in the wardrobe, the lounge curtains could do with a wash, the cooktop and microwave door needed a bit more attention but overall it was okay.

Great location, only a minutes walk to Martin Place Station. Couldn’t have been easier.
We will stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Caroline,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comments have been noted and passed on to the relevant Department for action.
Regards, Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very good value and the central of central location,nice and professional staff,all ready facilities.Some noise from nearby streets maintant works from 8:30am,and must carefully use the tricky bathtub

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan_TH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Alan,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
Am glad that you found our property to your liking.
regards, Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Happy with the price and location, service was brilliant from staff prior to check in and we were offered upgrade, but on arrival nothing much more than average. The bed was missing a top sheet and the quilt folded at the foot of the bed had no cover, but it seemed clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Jessica W,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
There is only a bottom sheet on the bed. The doona with the doona cover acts as a top sheet.
Hopefully you did let us know if the doona did not have a cover on it.
Glad to hear that you were happy with the location & the price and that you found the accommodation clean.
Regards, Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here three separate times for a total of seven nights over two weeks as we came in and out of Sydney. I was not expecting much from this hotel except location. Was *very* pleasantly surprised. Wonderful, caring staff - especially Shahnuma and Rose. Rooms were not fancy, but pleasant, well maintained and scrupulously clean. Location is indeed on an alley, which was off-putting to me at first, but this particular alley is three minutes walk to Martin Place, two minutes to Pitt Street, and less than ten to Circular Key and George Street...exceptional location. Great hotel for the price. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear CPuffin,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
I have passed on your comments regarding the team members. This will make them very happy as that is what we are always striving; "making the customers happy".
So glad that you found our accommodations to your liking.
Regards, Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in July and really enjoyed it. We booked a studio room however were upgraded to a 1 bedroom room. The room had a full kitchen, including oven, stove, microwave and dishwasher. It also had a full laundry. The room we were in (305) had a huge balcony, though overlooking a work site. It was a little noisy on Saturday morning with works on the building next door, but fine the rest of the time. The door is double glazed anyway. Beds were comfy, and bathroom clean. All in all would definitely stay here. It was central to everything! So close to the train, walking distance to circular quay, Pitt st mall, and Hyde Park.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear kate N,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & that we were able to meet your expectations of an accommodation property.
Regards, Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#43 of 186 in Sydney
850 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Address: 1 Hosking Pl, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Sydney
#80 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £97 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Classic Martin Place Hotel Sydney
Medina Classic Martin Place Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing