We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Ranked #83 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 5 October 2005

I travel very frequently to Sydney for business reasons and have stayed at the Medina Classic on several occasions.

Rooms aren't very clean, especially the bathrooms, lots of hair in the corners and on the rool (of all places) I would never walk around without shoes on as the carpet has seen better days, the beds are very old and saggy, there are scuff marks on the walls and overall I would say it is quite "grimmy".

I find the rooms to be very very noisy, it is situated up a lane way and during the night you have the garbage trucks emptying the bins, this includes the emptying of glass bins, and that is very loud.

The hot water in the shower takes a long time to kick in and the shower head is so small that you need to perform some sort of magic trick to get all your hair wet.

I often have problems with the card pass not working on the door, this is frustrating as you need to wait an incredibly long time for the lift to come.

Not somewhere that I would recommend to business people as you are guaranteed to get a night of constant interruption.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fussypot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2005

This little hidden jewel is not only convenient but well priced. The staff were wonderful, the room/apartment facilities were above average.

Only misses was some mold on a shower curtain and some stains in the hall carpets.

The neighbors have a garbage issue that is sort of a blight but that is not the hotel's fault. Just don't look down off the balcony and you won't notice it. You would not want to stay here if you are a view person anyway.

If you take a taxi the driver's do not know where this hotel is. Tell them it is South of Hunter and off of Castlereagh.

This is a solid choice for those who want convenience and the ability to self cater.

Stayed: July 2005
3  Thank Bo94114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Hong Kong
566
Reviewed 26 May 2005

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night after a long overnight flight from Hong Kong. We arrived on Saturday morning before check-in time but I was relieved when they allowed us to go to our room right away. The lady who checked us in was very friendly.

Coming from Hong Kong, where space is a premium, I really liked the large living room, open kitchen and large bathroom. I thought the bedroom was a little small but who cares if you can hang out in the living room?

If you're petite or if you're a kid you might need a stool to climb into the bathtub (which comes w/ a shower).

They gave us everything we needed in the kitchen - large refridgerator, stove, pots & pans, cutlery, etc. They even gave us lots of menus to choose from if we wanted to order dinner from the neighborhood delivery service.

The best part of the hotel was the location. Although the hotel is located in a dead-end street it's a 1 minute to Chifley Plaza, a short walk to David Jones, Myer.... the shopping district. My husband and I spent Sunday walking around and made a few trips back to the hotel to drop off our shopping bags.

We lost track of time and returned to the hotel 2 hours after the check-out time. We couldn't get into our rooms because our "keys" (cards) had expired but they re-activated our cards and didn't even mention the fact that we had forgotten to check-out on time when we checked out!

We also couldn't complain about the rate (AUD145). The hotel is a short walk from everything (CBD, shopping, Circular Quay, The Rocks, etc.) I wouldn't mind staying here on long business trips.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart F, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank pat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart F, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Luca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart F, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#40 of 179 in Sydney
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
#104 of 179 in Sydney
699 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#76 of 179 in Sydney
2,437 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Address: 1 Hosking Pl, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Sydney
#75 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £88 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Classic Martin Place Hotel Sydney
Medina Classic Martin Place Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing